HSPA+ Indicator

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by allmanbrother, Oct 23, 2011.

  1. allmanbrother macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    United States
    #1
    I'm sure it's already been suggested, but I'd like to throw my hat into the ring as well. With faster AT&T data speeds being a talking point of the last keynote and with AT&T stating "See why your new iPhone 4S and AT&T's 4G network are a winning combination", I'd like to see some sort of status bar indication of when I'm on "4G". I'm not going to argue whether or not this is 3.5G or 4G. I don't care. Just a simple "plus" next to the 3G icon in 5.0.1/5.1 would suffice.
     
  2. carbonfly macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #2
    I thought that there was a rumor that AT&T was trying to get Apple to do this.
     
  3. allmanbrother thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    United States
    #3
    AT&T is trying to have "4G" put in the menu bar. I think with Apple staying out of the "4G" branding battle, this is pretty unlikely.
     
  4. Captain America macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Location:
    Philly
    #4
    I hope so, because IMO the only types of network deserving of the "4G" label are LTE and WiMax. HSPA+ can be a bit faster, but as it isn't always true, I don't like the idea of it.
     
  5. carbonfly macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #5
    I know it doesn't make much of a difference but it would be nice to know when you are in an area with HSPA+. Maybe a "3G+" icon or something instead of a "4G".
     
  6. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
  7. impulse462 Suspended

    impulse462

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #7
    They could really just put a H+ indicator so you see that in HSPA+ areas, and then it switches to 3G in areas where is no HSPA+,
     
  8. allmanbrother thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    United States
    #8
    I used to have a Samsung Impression (worst phone I have ever owned) and when I was in an HSPA+ area, it added a "+" to the corner of the 3G icon. Something similar to that would be nice and wouldn't cause a major "4G" battle.
     
  9. impulse462 Suspended

    impulse462

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #9
    Only thing is that some people might find 3G and 3G+ to be confusing. Just my opinion though.
     
  10. Advil macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
  11. wordoflife macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #11
    ATT Android phones only show H+. They never differentiate 3G or H+, regardless of what kind of network you really are on.

    AT&T rigged those phones. Hope they don't do the same on the iPhone.


    Or 7/2G ;)
     
  12. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #12
    What's confusing is AT&T advertising the iPhone 4S as a 4G phone and Apple putting 3G at the top.
     
  13. SirStrumalot macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #13
    I think T-Mobile has devices that display an "H+" in HSPA+ areas.
     
  14. Dangerous Theory macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    They may as well call it 4G. You may get geeks complaining about the intricacies of mobile network technology, but at the end of the day it's only a name. It makes sense to just go with the general consensus and make things easier on the average consumer.
     
  15. allmanbrother thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    United States
    #15
    I think it would be easier though for the average consumer to see a plus and think "well, I guess I'm getting faster data speeds right now since there's a plus next to the 3G". I just think that saying "4G" would cause a lot of consumer confusion.
     
  16. jrodsep macrumors 6502

    jrodsep

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
  17. zap2 macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #17
    That's very much a good idea, and I think some Nokia device do that on AT&T's network currently. (Although I'm not sure if it stands for HSPA or HSPA+, I'm thinking it HSPA as it was a few years back that I had a Nokia)
     
  18. Dangerous Theory macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #18
    Either is reasonable. We all know 4>3, so there really would be no more confusion than adding a plus.
     
  19. DarbCU macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
  20. Megalobyte macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #20
    What's even more confusing is the little "E" symbol I see more and more while at home. What's that, 1/4 G?
     
  21. MattZani macrumors 68030

    MattZani

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #21
    If you call GPRS 2G, then Edge is 2.5G, then 3G is 3G obviously. Then no data network at all would be 1G, which is purely voice and text.
     
  22. antman2295 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    #22
    ^ This, but I never knew what the + was for, I guess I know now!
     
  23. macinnv macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #23
    My T-Mobile phone has an H when you are in an HSPA+ area, if Apple doesnt want to use 4G, then they should at least do this.
     
  24. Kyotoma macrumors 68000

    Kyotoma

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Carnegie and Ontario
  25. zephxiii macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #25
    Actually it doesn't matter since the air interface on all HSPA sites has been upgraded to HSPA+.
     

Share This Page