Huge AMD GPU "Catalyst Omega" Driver Update

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Ironjer, Dec 8, 2014.

  1. Ironjer, Dec 8, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2014

    Ironjer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    #1
    Hi, guys as you know the new Catalyst Omega was released

    For the correct and clean installation in our nMP we need do the next:

    Download Lastest DUU Program (Unistaller)

    http://www.wagnardmobile.com/DDU/

    Download Catalyst 14.11.2 Beta (We will need 2 files only) and Catalyst Omega 14.12 you can find here:

    http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/desktop?os=Windows+8.1+-+64

    First Unistall the currently drivers what you have installed with DDU.

    Then decompress both Catalyst Installer 14.11.2 and 14.12

    In the Bin64 Folder from the old Package (14.11.2) you have to copy 2 Files in the new Bin64 (14.12) Folder and replace them:
    - InstallManagerApp
    - InstallManager.dll

    Finally back to root directory and run the setup.exe enjoy the new drivers.

    Release Notes and new features here:

    http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-articles/Pages/AMDCatalystOmegaWINReleaseNotes.aspx
     

    Attached Files:

  2. N19h7m4r3 macrumors 65816

    N19h7m4r3

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    #2
    Sadly they added this to their driver page.
    There's most likely huge issues with the drivers and Bootcamp and the GPU's used on our systems.

    I sure won't be even trying these, as it could be heat, power, and severe stability issues if they had to add such a statement.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Ironjer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    #3
    Not working with nMP we need wait a mod drivers or Apple!
     
  4. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #4
    Not too difficult copying and pasting the device ID strings from the genuine bootcamp drivers into these new ones in it's .inf file though it will break the digital signing for them.

    Apple I imagine are testing these driver sets right now for the iMac 5k and the 6,1 and I suspect they will be released soon.
     
  5. Ironjer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    #5
    then We need a modder i doubt Apple release an official driver soon.
     
  6. Gav Mack, Dec 9, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2014

    Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #6
    Modding is very easy. I have the original nMP driver set here:

    In the file C81641298.inf these section's entries needs to be copied with these nMP driver strings added to the new driver install .inf file so it picks up the 6,1's GPUs, the directory listings compared and the Localizable Strings added so they can uninstall properly!

    [DestinationDirs]
    DefaultDestDir = 11
    R300.OGL = 10 ; Windows
    R300.Miniport = 12 ; drivers
    R300.Display = 11 ; system32
    R300.DXX = 11 ; system32
    R300.OD = 11 ; system32
    R300.Mppxy = 12 ; drivers
    R300.DispWow = 10, SysWOW64
    Coinstaller_CopyFiles = 11
    R300.ProxyM = 12 ; drivers
    R300.ProxyU = 11 ; system32
    R300.Samu = 11 ; system32
    R300.SamuWow64 = 10, SysWOW64
    R300.ProxyUWoW = 10, SysWOW64
    r300.CFNext = 11
    r300.CFNextWow = 10, SysWOW64
    R300.VCE = 11 ;system32
    R300.VCEWOW = 10, SysWOW64
    R300.MFTDLLs = 16427,ATI Technologies\Multimedia
    R300.OpenCL = 11 ; system32
    R300.OpenCLWow64 = 10, SysWOW64


    [ATI.Mfg.NTamd64.6.2]
    "%AMD6810.1%" = ati2mtag_R575, PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_6810&SUBSYS_012B106B
    "%AMD6810.2%" = ati2mtag_R575, PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_6810&SUBSYS_012A106B
    "%AMD679E.1%" = ati2mtag_R575, PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_679E&SUBSYS_0126106B
    "%AMD679E.2%" = ati2mtag_R575, PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_679E&SUBSYS_0125106B
    "%AMD6798.1%" = ati2mtag_R575, PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_6798&SUBSYS_0128106B
    "%AMD6798.2%" = ati2mtag_R575, PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_6798&SUBSYS_0127106B


    ; Localizable Strings
    ;
    DiskId = "Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Installation DISK (VIDEO)"
    GraphAdap = "Graphics Adapter"
    ATI = "Advanced Micro Devices, Inc."
    InstallDir = "AMD\CCC2\Install"
    DisplayUninstall = "AMD Display Component Uninstall"
    ATIR300="WDDM (R300)"
    AMD6810.1 = "AMD FirePro D300 (FireGL V)"
    AMD6810.2 = "AMD FirePro D300 (FireGL V)"
    AMD679E.1 = "AMD FirePro D500 (FireGL V)"
    AMD679E.2 = "AMD FirePro D500 (FireGL V)"
    AMD6798.1 = "AMD FirePro D700 (FireGL V)"
    AMD6798.2 = "AMD FirePro D700 (FireGL V)"



    All at your own risk - do not blame me for BSOD madness, I give you the dangerous path it's up to you to walk it. I don't have the time to properly sort these drivers out and luckily for me nor own a 6,1 with a 5k screen to be tempted to do it. :D
     
  7. Ironjer, Dec 9, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2014

    Ironjer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    #7
    Not working, amd hardware not found.

    remember the previous catalyst didn't use that string. the cards always are recognized as 7800 or 7900 (in D700 case) series in the official drivers.
     
  8. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #8
    Can't have been added to the correct inf file. With those PCI_VEN strings added to the correct inf file it will attempt to install a driver as those strings will pass the hardware check part of the install. Stopping after is a different story :D
     
  9. Ironjer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    #9
    i added that string in this .inf and nothing.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #10
    Must be another inf file somewhere that is doing the hardware checking first, probably buried in a cab file if its not immediately visible. I have been hacking Windows drivers for 20 years and the installer hardware check will look up those vendor strings trust me :D
     
  11. TerrorOFdeath macrumors member

    TerrorOFdeath

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    #11
    You have to download the Omega Driver and unpack the whole Thing. In there is an Folder named Bin64. Now you have to have the old DriverPackage that came with Bootcamp Drivers.


    In the Bin64 Folder from the old Package, you have to copy 2 Files in the new Bin64 Folder and replace them:
    - InstallManagerApp
    - InstallManager.dll


    Now the Installation starts.


    However, after searching for an GPU it crashes. At least for me. The Driver with the m295X ist located in the Omega Folder: OMEGA\Packages\Drivers\Display\WB6A_INF\CU178000.inf


    When I try it to install only the Driver, it says wrong Windows Version. Now that may be because I use Win10TP.


    Would love to hear what happens for others, does it also Crash? Ah yeah - You have to have allready installed the Bootcamp Driver. Otherwise it wont recognize the AMD GPU.


    Im posting in my Thread:
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=20462858#post20462858


    Tod
     
  12. Ironjer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    #12
    Good, bypass but won't detect the display drivers. It says is updated and already. (i have installed 14.11.2 beta)
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #13
    The PCI VEN strings would have been identical with the later catalyst drivers with the 7800 or 7900 references instead you will have to copy and paste those fields into the inf for the newer drivers.

    And for Win 10 you will have to mod that to support the later OS too, that's usually in the first part of the inf.
     
  14. Ironjer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    #14
    Ok guys i installed the drivers with the method TerrorOfDeath

    i used the InstallManagerApp and InstallManager.dll file of 14.11.2 (beta)
    did not need mod the .inf just replace those 2 file and run.

    PD: i had the wrong package sorry amd-catalyst-omega-14.12-with-dotnet45-win7-64bit

    please you need sure what you have downloaded the correct package for Windows 8.1 is this amd-catalyst-omega-14.12-with-dotnet45-win8.1-64bit

    i am testing the drivers right now cant see any changes in FirePro Control Center.
     
  15. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #15
    The strings would have been hardcoded in that installer, though with update drivers in Device manager you could use the modded inf method. Omega I do not like the name in their branding, it used to be the brand of the modded drivers back in the day for ATI. Sadly only laptopvideo2go only do nvidia nowadays.

    I would imagine you would only really notice a true difference if you had a Dell 5K with 2 DP cables to plug in!

    Though I wouldn't install those on a 5k iMac with that specific warning, I smell blue screen hell :D
     
  16. Zwhaler macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #16
    Looks like its for Windows (obviously), and doesn't apply to the 280X for some reason. (R9 270 series, 290 series, HD 7800 series)
     
  17. Ironjer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    #17
    Yes, it is and apply for that card including R9 280X
     
  18. Danxter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    #18
    However, I think it's a shame that AMD does not provide drivers for D700 and other D-Series...
    The problem is that official drivers distributed by Apple has not been updated since the release of the machine. I don't think that Apple refuses to release what AMD sends so my thought is that AMD does not care about D-Series anymore.

    The actual problem is that we NEED new drivers on Windows (or Bootcamp). An exemple is Dragon Age Inquisitions : impossible to run it without installing the 14.11.2 driver (beta ones). Not releasing new drivers for this hardware means future issues regarding new softs...

    I hope that we will have new official drivers for those cards.
     
  19. Shpenza macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Location:
    Barcelona
    #19
    Has anyone tried contacting Apple asking about this issue and is they have an ETA for the official drivers release for OS X and bootcamp?

    Thanks.
     
  20. N19h7m4r3 macrumors 65816

    N19h7m4r3

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    #20
    Just AMD being lazy and suddenly shifting blame. NVIDIA has always supported cards in OS X and Windows, and AMD did so in Windows until these Omega drivers.

    Their last Windows driver the 14.9 even enabled ECC, and 10-bit colour on windows for the Dxx series.
     
  21. Ironjer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    #21

    No but I doubt they're ready soon.
     
  22. Ironjer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    #22
    Thread Updated with Installation instruction.
     
  23. Ironjer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    #24
  24. Danxter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    #25
    Until 14.11.2 beta, I used the AMD classic drivers but the card is recognized as a HD7000 series. That's not what I call "official" or "well-fitted". And so, why the bootcamp drivers are not updated since the release of the machine?

    In addition to that, I don't know for your hardware, but when I use my computer for gaming (in Battlefield 4 especially), I have regular framerate drops from 60 to 28-34 even when I stay without any move. I find it really weird...
     

Share This Page