Huge X OS problem

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by Donnimac, Jul 25, 2011.

  1. Donnimac macrumors newbie

    Donnimac

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    #1
    I got a Macbook 2007 era Intel 2 Duo. I got it with SL and its been nothing but trouble when I try to update. Don't want to talk about the 1st time bc that was hell for one week trying to fix it. I just had it since off to this shop and they fixed it and reload the OS. Well I guess they did not fix the problem completely. I try to download Lion and it would not install correctly. I did it a few time more and finally it worked. The problem came when the computer reset it self and keep getting errors during the installing process, so I installed once more. Nothing. Same error kept popping up. So then i try to re-install SL with the CD...a bust...nothing. Try to do it from a USB...NOTHING!:confused: It kept saying my HDD was locked I completely reformatted the HDD and try to reload SL once again...everything worked up until the last part the screen goes brown...-____- So i formatted the HDD again and nothing no SL no Lion *rawr* I looked everywhere on what to do and i done everything I saw and nothing has worked. I really don't want to pay $70. Ne suggestions? and please be gentle :p

    thanks guys. Hope to hear from yall soon.
     
  2. rmbrown09 macrumors 6502a

    rmbrown09

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #2
    my install was flawless but I think I read that somewhere that repairing your disk permissions will fix things up.
     
  3. Donnimac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Donnimac

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    #3
    I did that too..trust me and nothing. :(
     
  4. gofightlose macrumors member

    gofightlose

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    #4
    this sounds interesting. is there an apple store nearby? Im sure they would be willing to help, even if you're not on applecare.
     
  5. Supershuttle macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    #5
    Macbook 2007 era Intel 2 Duo eh? I think that's the problem... Have you tried burning a disc of Lion 10.7? Formatting your disk and then installing Lion 10.7 and not Snow Leopard 10.6.
     
  6. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #6
    Did you start with 10.6.8 or the original from the SL install DVD? I believe, if you're starting from SL, 10.6.8 is required.

    When you reformatted the drive, did you start with a new, single GUID partition, or just erase? If the latter, I'd suggest a repartioning, then clean install of SL (Lion if you have the bootable DMG ).

    2007 Core 2 duo should be fine. I helped install on the first 17" C2D 2.33 and had no issues. They came out in Oct, 2006.
     
  7. Donnimac, Jul 26, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 26, 2011

    Donnimac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Donnimac

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    #7
    I tried to install Lion and I keep getting errors during the installation like when i 1st started installing it b4 it went all crazy on me. :(
    You know i 4got to mention the CD drive went all crazy post-lion! In SL it was fine and now during start up makes a weird noise. So everything I am doing is through an external HDD.

    My CD drive is not working, I don't know why and that is another problem another day, so I think it's original install disc just in .dmg. As for the reformatting I think it was just an erase because I took the HDD out and put it in a HDD reader and went from there. I did try a repartioning already and those lovely errors come up.

    Yes there are tons around me but I think my MB is such a lost cause they probably charge me a price of a new MBP. lol. :p
     
  8. btbrossard macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #8
    If you purchase Lion through the App Store, you get 90 days of complimentary support.

    I would give Applecare a call or make an appointment at the store.

    Hopefully they can get it sorted out for you.
     
  9. Donnimac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Donnimac

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    #9
    hmm i didn't know that. ill see if I can stop by.

    One of my buddy who deals with apples' computers, he said it could be a HDD issue:eek:. Might have to replace depending on what Apple tells me.
     
  10. Donnimac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Donnimac

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    #10
    OK well i fixed the problem!!!!! =)

    It was a bad Ram. Im back to snow leopard with 1GB of ram. I had 3GB, too it out and installed SL flawless. I will buy 2GB soon to get Lion.


    Thanks for all yalls helps guys!!!
     

Share This Page