I accidentally deleted my actual dock.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by imarawkid, Nov 27, 2008.

1. imarawkid macrumors newbie

please help, i deleted my dock in terminal because i wanted to customize it, i missed a step and deleted my dock. please help me bring it back. I feel so stupid.i have no dock. and when i restarted my computer my background changed for some odd reason. since i am new to macrumors, please contact me on AIM my screen name is wittlepat

PLEASE HELP!!!:mad:

2. chipchen macrumors 6502

have someone send you the file you deleted... I'm assuming dock.app or something?

3. imarawkid thread starter macrumors newbie

yes it was the actual dock. i cant minimize, open dash, use spaces, anything. i dont know what to do. what do you mean by someone sending me the file.

4. imarawkid thread starter macrumors newbie

what do you mean by archive and install. sorry i dont understand im only 14 :O

5. Sky Blue Guest

Sky Blue

6. imarawkid thread starter macrumors newbie

im not even sure i went to system/library/coreservices/dock and i deleted everything out of it because i wanted to customize my dock. aparently i missed a step.

7. Solemony macrumors 6502

Solemony

I'm not sure this may work or not..use the disk that comes along with your mac purchase and reinstall your computer?...

8. imarawkid thread starter macrumors newbie

there anything that could go wrong if i were to do that?

i dont want to f*** my computer up anymore then i already have.

9. Sky Blue Guest

Sky Blue

Boot of the Leopard Install DVD (or the disk that came with your Mac). Choose 'Archive and Install'. This will keep your stuff but replace your system files.

10. Schtumple macrumors 601

Schtumple

Give me 2 seconds ill post a download link of a zip file of the dock.app on my mac, chances are, if you just expand it all into your folder, itll all work again upon restarting.

http://dl.getdropbox.com/u/158723/Dock.zip