I am still able to tether on 3.1.2... anyone else?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by yoTelefonoTresG, Oct 15, 2009.

  1. yoTelefonoTresG macrumors newbie

    yoTelefonoTresG

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    NOLA
    #1
    Hey everyone,

    idk if this is something I missed or has to do with something I did...

    but is there anyone else that can still tether using a 3GS 3.1.2 through General>Network>Internet Tethering ?

    cause mine is working fine, and I thought I was supposed to lose that when upgrading to 3.1.2?

    and I saw a post b4 about whether or not you are able to and everyone was saying no...
     
  2. medicscott macrumors 6502a

    medicscott

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    san diego
    #2
    what are you trying to get outta this post?

    i dont think anyone is going to believe you. 3.1 kills any tethering buddy.
     
  3. yoTelefonoTresG thread starter macrumors newbie

    yoTelefonoTresG

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    NOLA
    #3
    Not trying to get anything out of anything. and im not lying. but thanks chief.

    ill get pictures up in a bit.
     
  4. yoTelefonoTresG thread starter macrumors newbie

    yoTelefonoTresG

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    NOLA
    #4
    ill show every step:

    [​IMG]
    proof of 3GS, 3.1.2 and AT&T 5.6

    [​IMG]
    Internet Tethering

    [​IMG]
    Switching on

    [​IMG]
    ON

    [​IMG]
    Tethering (status bar)

    [​IMG]
    Thethering (lock screen)
     
  5. daflake macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    #5
    Interesting that you are missing the AT&T logo. Something is off there and why is the battery meter blue?
     
  6. yoTelefonoTresG thread starter macrumors newbie

    yoTelefonoTresG

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    NOLA
    #6

    The AT&T logo is a known problem of upgrading to a custom 3.1.x, it has been accepted as an AT&T problem. The battery meter is blue because of a theme i have :) *BlackDarkness*

    The only different thing i did.. that i want anyone else to try...
    is going to http://help.benm.at/help.php from your iPhone.
    Download your mobilconfigs for AT&T and see if it works...
     
  7. daflake macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    #7
    He was working on a fix, I wonder if he got it working? Could have something to do with your custom firmware. I doubt it will work on a regular install.
     
  8. yoTelefonoTresG thread starter macrumors newbie

    yoTelefonoTresG

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    NOLA
    #8
    yeah i had read that he was... but he never posted saying it was up which is what confused me..

    but please try and get back.
     
  9. savior1974 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    #9
    I'm willing to try it out. I just need to know, is there a way to remove the BenM file and go back to normal if things don't work out?
     
  10. ericksgotmac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    #10
    you can still tethering even with 3.1(.2) just use PDAnet or MyWi and connect via WiFi... and I read somewhere if you left the Internet Tethering option on while upgrading (not restoring) then it would keep it on 3.1(.2) when everything was said and done. If you don't believe me then go kiss a rock -.-
     
  11. andrewwg94 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    #11
    you are so lucky. i'm trying to downgrade to 3.0 so i can tether. and for everyone that doesn't believe him, it's definetly legit since only 3.1+ tells you the amount of data tethered as in his picture
     
  12. erasat macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    #12
    Well, there is always some alternatives, like right now, I'm using PDANet tethering as always on 3.1.2 and blackra1n.
     
  13. andrewwg94 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    #13
    the problem with pdanet is that 1. it's not free 2. you can't bridge it in windows, so you can't tether it to your xbox 360, ps3, anything that takes ethernet
     
  14. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #14
    MyWi 3.1.9 was just updated today and works with 3.1.x

    Could the OP be using this to tether ?

    I don't have any experience with MyWi or tethering.
     
  15. MacBOS macrumors 6502

    MacBOS

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    New York, New York
    #15
    This is realy interesting :eek: I haven't upgraded to 3.1 cause I don't want to lose tethering. I hope this is fixed some how. I don't want t stay in 3.0.1 forever :(
     
  16. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #16
    Carry on, you have my attention.... I am very interested in this ever since I upgraded to 3.1
     
  17. yoTelefonoTresG thread starter macrumors newbie

    yoTelefonoTresG

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    NOLA
    #17
    lol yeah but who wants pdanet when you can get FREE.
    and I do have MyWi just for the perks of broadcasting.

    I did not update. I always restored... story of my 3GS
    pwn'd at 3.0..
    pwn'd at 3.0.1 (got mms to work using hacked carrier bundle)
    pwn'd at 3.1
    had problems,
    used saurik's work to downgrade to 3.0
    pwn'd at 3.1.2

    the only thing abnormal is the benm.at tool I posted before.
    and that's it.

    and btw yes it is removable. you go to your settings and literally click "remove".
     
  18. madmak macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    #18
    i just upgraded to 3.1.2 and still had the tethering option but i connected it to the USB cable it went away - sigh. at least mywi works great.
     
  19. Oceanus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    #19
    no joy...

    I was 3.1 out of the box
    went to BEN's site ran the tool install the profile and rebooted... nothing... removed profile
     
  20. terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #20
    I'm able to tether if mywi is installed, but I'm not sure what will happen after the trial expires.
     
  21. yoTelefonoTresG thread starter macrumors newbie

    yoTelefonoTresG

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    NOLA
    #21
    well thats w/ mywi.
    im talking about through the iphone itself, no software
     
  22. junebug1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    #22
    Just tried the exact same thing the OP did:
    "(pwn'd at 3.0..
    pwn'd at 3.0.1 (got mms to work using hacked carrier bundle)
    pwn'd at 3.1
    had problems,
    used saurik's work to downgrade to 3.0
    pwn'd at 3.1.2)"

    and didn't get anywhere...even left tethering on like someone else suggested. I asked this question a week ago with no response but can someone please point me in the direction of the person/people working on a fix so I can follow that. I checked out BenM's site and found nothing on there about him saying he was working on a fix. I'm really interested to know exactly what they changed that is causing such a holdup on a tethering workaround. Thanks!
     
  23. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #23
    I believe I read the OP also installed MyWi, perhaps this is what occurred.

    It seems if you buy MyWi (brand new version just out last night and even newer one out today) and install it, it enables native tethering as well as tethering with MyWi.

    Have no idea why, but there are lots of posts about it all over. Seems to work for everyone.
     
  24. uanuglyfool macrumors regular

    uanuglyfool

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Location:
    The Moon, CA
    #24
    I updated to 3.1.2 from 3.0.1 yesterday. Tethering worked 3.0.1 through the hacked 5.1 carrier file and the setting was still there in 3.1.2. I even plugged it into my mac through usb and my macbook recognized it as a new network connection. I thought cool, it still works but as soon as I hit apply setting on my mac, the iphone backed out of the tethering settings and it dissappeard. Its not like i need tethering but i was just surprised that it got rid of the setting lol uh well I'm sure there will be a hacked 6.x carrier file soon
     
  25. terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #25
    I meant I can use native tethering as long as mywi is installed. They somehow figured out how to patch out the sig checks I suppose.
     

Share This Page