I blew up my jailbroken iPhone, help!

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by joseph1313, Feb 21, 2008.

  1. joseph1313 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    #1
    Well today i wanted to see if my iphone would act as an ipod in my car. So i plugged in my iPhone to my car fm thing to play the music. A messge came up sayin device not accesable or wat not would u like to turn airplane mode on. I said yes, and it was workin fine. When i took my phone off and go into my house my phone was literarly dead, i did everything to get it back. Then it finally turned on....and it was bad damage. When i dialed i heard static out of speakers.....ipod was extremely staticy. I even had no service. Then abut an hour later everything was fine. Until i wanted to charge it. When my phone is docked......no service i get static with dialing and with ipod. When I undock it its perfectly fine. I really neeed some help so i appreciate anytthing.

    thanks

    also guys...when its plugged in to any source, computer wall charger or whatever..A message comes up sayin Repair needed cannot recieve or make calls.

    and i just watched it charge into any thing computer, wall and its wiggin out it keeps restarting. so it cant charge.
    this is terrible
     
  2. FunkyJunk macrumors regular

    FunkyJunk

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Leesburg, VA, USA
  3. joseph1313 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    #3


    its jailbroken ant its t-mobile
    wouldnt they recognize that?
     
  4. davidwarren macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    #4
    uh, probably.
     
  5. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #5
    AT&T can offer a repair ... along with a two-year marriage.
     
  6. joseph1313 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    #6
    my phone is 1.1.1 jailbroken with t-mobile
    y would i want at&t to fix it?
     
  7. question fear macrumors 68020

    question fear

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    The "Garden" state
    #7
    Try restoring it, otherwise find a way to wipe out the unlock and take it to apple.
     
  8. joseph1313 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    #8
    if i restore it dosent it brick it and wipe out literarly everything.....contacts pictures mesages music apps.
    nah cause even if i did that wudnt it brick it and nno sims would work

    also as its restarting ever 5 secs and its still pluggeed in...i believe even if its wiggin out...its still chargin am i correct?
     
  9. bosxe macrumors member

    bosxe

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago
    #9
    So you aren't willing to sign up for ATT to get it fixed/replaced legitimately and you also aren't willing to restore the phone yourself... I don't know what else you want people to suggest?
     
  10. question fear macrumors 68020

    question fear

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    The "Garden" state
    #10
    A restore will not "brick" the phone but it should wipe out the unlock and re-create it to an out of the box state. If you want Apple to repair it, the phone needs to be locked back to AT&T. Either you restore and wipe it back to the original state, or your phone won't get repaired. There are no doubt directions floating around on how to re-lock it if necessary, check some of the hack websites.
     
  11. ert3 macrumors 6502a

    ert3

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    #11
    Sounds like your having issues caused by improper care.

    Few to many days in the rain? drops in the drain? dropped from your horses reigns?

    If you have been allowing itunes to back up your phone the only things you will lose are the hacks. itunes will allow you to restore your phone to its previous state (not including hacks) through an automatic GUI.

    Though unless you can get your hands around the old firmware you are using you may want to get ZIPHONE as well. (easiest way to Jailbreak and Unlock)
     
  12. joseph1313 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    #12
    so basicly what do i have to do in order to get my phone back to out of box state...im goin to need installer app. after my contacts im gunna need pics back music videos im goin to want all of that back tho if i restore the phone. and ur sure this should fix the problem. if i do restore tho what version will i have....1.1.1 which i have now or 1.1.2 or 1.1.3?
     
  13. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #13
    Buy a new one.

    You jailbroke it so essentially you BROKE it intentionally from Day 1. Anything after that is just adding more damage. Once jailbroken you voided any repair you 'could' get if I understand the terms correctly. You accepted the responsibility and knew you were doing something that would void any warranty (ignorance is no excuse here). So you can either buy a new one if it's truely broke, or try to "Un-jailbrake" it by reverting to a previous version somehow. Google or whatnot.
     
  14. joseph1313 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    #14
    well someone b4 just said i can restore it idiot
     
  15. Cudadown macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
  16. joseph1313 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
  17. diamond.g macrumors 603

    diamond.g

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #17
    Assuming the restore works, it still sounds like there was some hardware damage. What FM Transmitter did you plug it into? The only reason why I say that is the iPhone is doing some funky things when you plug it in. While that could be a software problem that may be fixable by a restore, it could just as well be a hardware problem. You may be able to find the 1.1.1 software on the internet to do your restore.
     
  18. joseph1313 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    #18
    ok guys im been facing alot of problems ever since i plugged my iphone into my fm transmitter thing to play songs. Well i guess it was onnly for ipods. Not iphones. so now my phone is been damaged i have no service, when it charges it jus restarts every 10 secs, its slow, staticy ect. So i guesss i should restore the phone right? i have 1.1.1 and never updated cause my phone is jailbroken. when i do restore it says are you sure you want restore and be given the latest version of the phone which would be 1.1.3? idk wat to do. Should i do this and restore and have 1.1.3. Would this brick my phone, Will the problem still exist?

    helppppppppp

    if i did restore and had 1.1.3 and got it jailbroken again....and the problem still exists, since i bought the phone used and dont have at&t would apple fix it even if i pretend im the kid who i got it froms name and all that?
     
  19. mchank macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    #19
    From what I've heard, the geniuses ask you for your AT&T phone number as the warranty requires you to have an AT&T account. What probably happened was that the wattage messed up your iphone as there have been reports of the same happening to people who plugged in their phones into stereo docks not approved for iphone usage.
     
  20. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #20
    Wirelessly posted (BB-8830: BlackBerry8830/4.2.2 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/105)

    Do not bump. Please reread the forum rules.
     
  21. runplaysleeprun macrumors 6502a

    runplaysleeprun

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #21
    Some people don't like the idea of people jailbreaking their phones for whatever reason. When you do so, you technically void your warranty, and are not entitled, technically, to free service. By restoring your phone and bringing it to apple, they will probably fix it, because they shouldn't be able to tell it was jailbroken.

    its this deception that some people don't like.
     
  22. joseph1313 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    #22
    my boy has a at&t number and an iphone....so if i went to apple with my restored virgin unlocked iphone with his sim in mine what would happen. even thought our serial numbers are dif. What can i do to solve this problem
     
  23. mchank macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    #23
    Try restoring your iphone to 1.1.1 if you want to retain your unlock as 1.1.3 will relock your phone.
     
  24. cazlar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #24
    But it's pretty easy to re-unlock 1.1.3 with anysim. I'd definitely restore (to 1.1.1 or 1.1.3, I'd do the latter) before worrying about taking it into a store.
     
  25. joseph1313 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008

Share This Page