I bought iWork for my new MacBook--was it stoopid :-)?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by roisin and mac, Feb 9, 2008.

1. roisin and mac macrumors 6502

Hey everyone, first let me state my hope that this thread is in the right place--I am a newbie in both your lovely forums and to all things mac :), but I am sorry if I put it in the wrong place!

Here's my issue: I recently bought a MacBook (my first mac ever, never even used one before!). I have found it to be just as lovely as I was told, and while I have not yet had a chance to do particularly exciting things on it (not much more than using safari, the address book and iCal really), I have immediately loved the compactness of the whole thing, which allows me to do it all wth just my sweet lil' laptop, straight out of the box as promised--including listening to audio with the internal speakers, without cringing at the awful sound like I used to with my previous machine--even music is listenable even if it wouldn't be my first choice!

However, when I was shopping for it, I immediately assumed I would have to get some sort of Word Processor software extra. This is probably due to previous experience with Windows machines, which usually only come with something called WordPad, or Notepad (not sure of the name anymore as I hardly ever used it--it was too poor even for my rather limited needs!). Also, at the local Apple Store I was given a sheet of paper when I was asking about prices and such, which presented the various models of laptops, and their specifications, along with the software that came bundled with it. Well, it mentioned iLife and iCal and some other things, but no word processor, so I just assumed, rather stupidly I guess, that I'd have to get one separately, and iWork was the natural choice as I wanted to immerse myself in the whole mac experience :). Not to mention it wasn't as though I was dead keen on Office for Mac, and it was about 600 dollars more :eek: No contest :D