I can't restore!

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by SnowLeopard2008, Dec 25, 2008.

  1. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #1
    I needed to restore my iPod touch 1st gen. So I plugged it in and clicked restore. It popped up a message warning me that all my data will be erased. I then clicked agree to the SLA and etc. It popped up this message after a few seconds. I recently put a fresh install of Leopard on my MacBook. Instead of exporting my iTunes library to disc to back it up, I just copied the iTunes folder on the hard drive onto my external hard drive and back into the new install of Leopard, could this be why?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. aethelbert macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL, USA
    #2
    Moving the folder shouldn't have caused any problems... That's how I've always transfered my libraries. You might try force quitting both iTunes and iTunes helper out of activity monitor before trying to screw around with anything else. I've had a lot of instances where I get errors upon restoring my phone where the force quit of the two solves the issue.

    If that doesn't work, you might try downloading the firmware from another source on the internet. Shouldn't be a problem as long as you've already paid for it. I wouldn't be surprised if their servers are being overworked today with a large influx of new users.
     
  3. SnowLeopard2008 thread starter macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #3
    Thanks, and just for the record, I did pay for it. :rolleyes: How do you force iTunes to restore the firmware using a file I downloaded from the internet? I forget which key you have to press. :confused: Thanks, and Happy Holidays to you!
     
  4. aethelbert macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL, USA
    #4
    I had no doubt that you'd payed for it, but I threw that out there saying that downloading a copy from elsewhere makes no difference.

    I think that you need to option-click the restore button in iTunes. I believe that it uses shift instead in Windows.
     
  5. dopey220 macrumors 6502

    dopey220

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    #5
  6. SnowLeopard2008 thread starter macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #6
    Thanks! Glad to hear it's not because I 'improperly' backed up my iTunes library and somehow caused a permissions problem.
     

Share This Page