I discovered a intresting tool

EJBasile

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Apr 20, 2004
1,304
2
I'm not sure if this has already been discovered or if it is common knowledge. If you press the apple button + tab you can easily switch between programs by a pop up screen type window.

Try it out it's prett cool.
 

Lacero

macrumors 604
Jan 20, 2005
6,639
2
Yeah. :rolleyes: While holding down the apple button, press H to hide the app, press Q to quit the app, or press Apple+~ to go in reverse.
 

mkrishnan

Moderator emeritus
Jan 9, 2004
29,641
12
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Lacero said:
Yeah. :rolleyes: While holding down the apple button, press H to hide the app, press Q to quit the app, or press Apple+~ to go in reverse.
Apple-SHIFT-Tab to go backwards. Apple+~ (in most apps) to cycle between windows within an app. :rolleyes: :D
 

trailblazer

macrumors member
Aug 27, 2004
60
0
if you use the mouse while you're cmd-tab'ing, you can select an application..i do it a lot cause i normally have many apps open..
 

Phat_Pat

macrumors 68000
May 8, 2004
1,955
0
I Live Where I Live
trailblazer said:
if you use the mouse while you're cmd-tab'ing, you can select an application..i do it a lot cause i normally have many apps open..
You can keep tapping the apple+tab and highlight the app and let go... it'll then switch.
 

keysersoze

macrumors 68000
Jan 6, 2004
1,596
8
NH
EJBasile said:
I'm not sure if this has already been discovered or if it is common knowledge. If you press the apple button + tab you can easily switch between programs by a pop up screen type window.

Try it out it's prett cool.
Yay.
 

PhantomOSX

macrumors member
Oct 22, 2004
95
0
USA
You guys are joking right? Who didn't know about this? It was shown as a feature when Panther first came out.
 

Mitthrawnuruodo

Moderator emeritus
Mar 10, 2004
13,595
142
Bergen, Norway
Cmd-tab was a feature back in the OS9 days (I cannot remember it in OS8, but it might have been there, too).

Whats really qool (when you have lots of windows) is to press F9 or F10, and then using cmd-tab. Thats an awsome feature... :D

Edit: Or, If you cmd-tab to an open app, don't let go of the cmd, hit Q and that app quits, then you can cycle through the rest by hitting tab again (remember, don't let go of cmd).
 

emotion

macrumors 68040
Mar 29, 2004
3,186
3
Manchester, UK
this kind of thing works in pretty much any OS/window manager

(alt-tab in windows and on a lot of linux window managers and cmd-tab in macos)
 

andrewfee

macrumors 6502
Aug 29, 2004
467
2
Mitthrawnuruodo said:
Cmd-tab was a feature back in the OS9 days (I cannot remember it in OS8, but it might have been there, too).
It's in OS8.5/6 at least, although you don't get anything showing what you're changing to.
 

Littleodie914

macrumors 68000
Jun 9, 2004
1,813
7
Rochester, NY
Mitthrawnuruodo said:
Whats really qool (when you have lots of windows) is to press F9 or F10, and then using cmd-tab. Thats an awsome feature... :D
Ya, actually you can just hit tab instead of Cmd+Tab to get the same result, and it's a bit faster :)
 

JohnStrass

macrumors regular
Jul 17, 2002
158
91
Miami, USA
my cat walked across my keyboard...

PhantomOSX said:
You guys are joking right? Who didn't know about this? It was shown as a feature when Panther first came out.
I discovered another annoying feature: when my cat walked across my keyboard (hitting many function keys, if I recall), all of the leter keys stopped producing the lettters, and instead only a few numbers came out.....very irritating...I played with various function key combos and now my keyboard is normal. What is with that?
 

mkrishnan

Moderator emeritus
Jan 9, 2004
29,641
12
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
JohnStrass said:
I discovered another annoying feature: when my cat walked across my keyboard (hitting many function keys, if I recall), all of the leter keys stopped producing the lettters, and instead only a few numbers came out.....very irritating...I played with various function key combos and now my keyboard is normal. What is with that?
Do you have a laptop? Probably the numeric keypad entry mode. There's a key to activate it....up top, I think (not at my computer) near the middle of the function key row, with a light in it. :)
 

jsw

Moderator emeritus
Mar 16, 2004
22,819
41
Andover, MA
mkrishnan said:
Apple-SHIFT-Tab to go backwards.
Once you've hit ⌘-tab, you can then just (while holding ⌘ ) hit ` to go back - no need for shift-tab. Again, this only works once you've started with ⌘-tab (otherwise, obviously, it cycles through windows of an app).
 

atszyman

macrumors 68020
Sep 16, 2003
2,442
1
The Dallas 'burbs
mkrishnan said:
Do you have a laptop? Probably the numeric keypad entry mode. There's a key to activate it....up top, I think (not at my computer) near the middle of the function key row, with a light in it. :)
F6

Hit fn+F6 or just plain F6 depending on how you set up the fucntion keys to work.
 

dsharits

macrumors 68000
Jun 19, 2004
1,639
0
Plant City, FL
EJBasile said:
I'm not sure if this has already been discovered or if it is common knowledge. If you press the apple button + tab you can easily switch between programs by a pop up screen type window.

Try it out it's prett cool.
This also works of you have a mouse with a scroll wheel button. Click and hold the scroll wheel, and roll it up and down to select the app that you want.
 

daveL

macrumors 68020
Jun 18, 2003
2,425
0
Montana
dsharits said:
This also works of you have a mouse with a scroll wheel button. Click and hold the scroll wheel, and roll it up and down to select the app that you want.
Hmmm ... I didn't have click or hold the scroll wheel, i just scrolled through the list.
 

dsharits

macrumors 68000
Jun 19, 2004
1,639
0
Plant City, FL
daveL said:
Hmmm ... I didn't have click or hold the scroll wheel, i just scrolled through the list.
No, I mean you can bring it up without using Command+Tab. If you click and hold the scroll wheel, the menu will come up and you can scroll through it without having to use a key combination.
 

mkrishnan

Moderator emeritus
Jan 9, 2004
29,641
12
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
jsw said:
Once you've hit ⌘-tab, you can then just (while holding ⌘ ) hit ` to go back - no need for shift-tab. Again, this only works once you've started with ⌘-tab (otherwise, obviously, it cycles through windows of an app).
Ahhh! I see now. Sorry 'bout that. ;)
 

mpw

Guest
Jun 18, 2004
6,364
1
trailblazer said:
if you use the mouse while you're cmd-tab'ing, you can select an application..i do it a lot cause i normally have many apps open..
Mapping Exposé to the two thumb buttons on a five button mouse is the quickest way to switch between apps I've found. So much so that at my MS Windows machine I find myself pushing the blank side of my cheap PS2 mouse.
 

mkrishnan

Moderator emeritus
Jan 9, 2004
29,641
12
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
mpw said:
Mapping Exposé to the two thumb buttons on a five button mouse is the quickest way to switch between apps I've found. So much so that at my MS Windows machine I find myself pushing the blank side of my cheap PS2 mouse.
Yeah, I tried to drag a powerpoint file to My Computer today, and I waited patiently for it to spring open, and nothing happened! :eek: OMG, I think my Win2k has a virus! :p

I tried mapping the main two Exposé buttons to two corners of my trackpad with Sidetrack, but I've found so far, for some reason, only the upper right corner is really reliable for corner tapping (and it's the right mouse button). I tried to map the two corners to Alt-Tab and Alt-Shift-Tab, but the problem with this is that they don't hold down, and if you Alt-Tab to an app, and then Alt-Tab again, you end up back at the app you started at. So no cycling for poor me.... :( Although Alt-Shift-Tab does continue to cycle through apps with single presses. But it didn't work out as smoothly as I'd hoped....
 

Caramel

macrumors newbie
Mar 19, 2005
22
0
Oh.....My.....God!

First off, this isn't my account, it's my girlfriends so don't get mad at her for this.

Now, those of you who didn't know about Apple-Tab, Num-Lock, or any little things that are standard on almost any computer WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN!? For one...why is this in Mac-Rumors...this should be in the OSX How To fourm. As far as an "discovering an interesting tool".........omg! It's in the users guide! Anyway, have fun "discovering" new things...like you sohuld try hitting F9, F10, or F11....OMG EXPOSE! Holy crap...look what I discovered!