I have had my x-25 SSD for a month now...and..

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Jason Beck, Apr 24, 2010.

1. Jason Beck macrumors 68000

Jason Beck

...And I absolutely love it! I have a 2008 Aluminum 2ghz Macbook (Aluminum), and the added SSD that I replaced the 160gb HDD with really sped things up a bit. Well more than a bit. I boot to a usable desktop in less than 14 seconds flat. For what this computer is, that is pretty rad.

Just goes to show you how capable your hardware is. As a graphic design student I am in Adobe Creative Suite throughout my day. I also spend quite a bit of time in Word doing papers for school. I love the fact that the programs are so responsive now. The Intel x-25 80gb was perfect for me. I have 40 gigs of Apps with a 3 gig iPhoto library. I used the internal drive I replaced as an iTunes and dowloads drive and it works perfect for my 30 or so gigs of music.

I did buy an external Sata to USB drve to use a 320GB 7200 Hitachi I bought off eBay. When I plug that in and turn it on at home, I back my system up. It is also storage. So I got the little notebook drive I carry everywhere and the home solution. Things are grand now.

I never realized how much of a bottleneck a hard drive can be to a cpu. When you put an SSD in a computer, even a 2.0ghz c2d chip can speed through most of todays applications. I am finding that working with large images (over 100megs) is a breeze and loading brushes and filters, etc.