I have just return my rMBP :(

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Xtrreme, Aug 17, 2012.

  1. Xtrreme macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    #1
    Just call the customer service for a return...
    I receive the machine with joy yesterday, but it keep on crashing while watching movie, surfing the net, text-editing...... and the whole screen freeze. :eek:
    I have preform a reset and the same thing happen again and again and again.....

    Did anyone got the same experience?:(
     
  2. Passante macrumors 6502a

    Passante

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Location:
    on the sofa
    #2
    I would guess no. Don't worry it will be replaced soon.
     
  3. Pompiliu macrumors 6502a

    Pompiliu

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
  4. golf1410 macrumors 6502a

    golf1410

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
  5. Blackberryroid macrumors 6502a

    Blackberryroid

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Location:
    /private/var/vm/
    #5
    Seriously? You're returning hardware for a software problem? You should be reinstalling OS X, from the scratch, not an upgrade but erase and install. Be rough. Kill all of the files. Don't leave a byte. Then install the new OS X. You're problem's solved.
     
  6. stuaz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #6
    Which technically is the same as returning the hardware really. If the user isn't confident or experienced enough to do something like this then I imagine get it returned for a new one is a far easier process.
     
  7. gokart mozart macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    #7
    Yep. The OPer joined this month. It may be his first Mac product, so he might not even be familiar with OSX. If he isn't comfortable, he shouldn't feel pressured in to messing too much with something he doesn't feel he understands. Especially if it cost him a couple thousand dollars. The exchange process would be much less daunting, and give better peace of mind.
     
  8. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #8
    OP, if you have time, try to install your OS again as others have said. See if this fixes your issue.
     
  9. Blackberryroid macrumors 6502a

    Blackberryroid

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Location:
    /private/var/vm/
    #9
    Of course not. That's the last thing I'd do. If I'm not comfortable with reinstalling it, the geniuses will do it. They'll know their way around. I'll always take a computer to the genius before I take it to eBay. There could be hope.
     
  10. Xtrreme thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    #10
    thanks for the reply:)

    Actually the problem occur when it is freshly open (no software installed), and I use migration assistant to transfer all my file from my MPA to rMBP.

    Such problem didn't happened on my MPA...I am really curious about what caused the problem:confused:
     
  11. inlinevolvo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    #11
    This isn't the owners responsibility, fixing the machine upon receipt. Isn't this exactly why Apple touts its products as superior, "it just works"?
     
  12. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #12
    That could be the issue though. I would install the OS again, do not migrate anything and try watching a movie or working in text edit. Something could be wonky between an app or a setting you migrated and the new OS build.
     
  13. Blackberryroid macrumors 6502a

    Blackberryroid

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Location:
    /private/var/vm/
    #13
    Probably a software bug. I'm curious too. But if you really want to use that sooner, you're going to have to reinstall the OS. If that doesn't work, it's the hardware. Take it to the genius bar (that's covered in the warranty). They might replace it for free.

    And here's a suggestion: Always put selling or returning as the last phase (unless you're in an emergency). There could be a solution.
     
  14. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #14
    Bummers man, that's always my fear when buying something new. So far for me, my rMBP has been solid.

    Good luck on a replacement.
     
  15. Michaelgtrusa macrumors 604

    Michaelgtrusa

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Everywhere And Nowhere
  16. PacMookBro macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    #16
    It is brand new... Don't take it to the Genius Bar for warranty replacement. Simply ask for a refund or replacement. No appointment is needed at Apple Store for such an issue. 14-day full refund still applies. OP made the right decision. Hope you the best of luck with the replacement. ;)
     
  17. Krazy Bill macrumors 68030

    Krazy Bill

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    #17
    Well, there you go then. You modified the contents of the new mac.

    Should it work? Yes. But there might be compatibility issues with certain files you migrated from your old machine.

    Tough situation for new MBP owners who have no choice but to use a dot zero OS release on their new machines.
     
  18. Xtrreme thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    #18
    Did anyone tried migration before? I thought it is suitable for all mac..
     
  19. sweetbrat macrumors 65816

    sweetbrat

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Redford, MI
    #19
    Generally migrating your old info to your new computer works fine. But there's a chance that there's some preference or setting in your old stuff that is causing a problem on the new computer. When you get your new machine, try it out before you migrate your info. As someone else suggested, watch a movie, do the things you were doing on this one that caused the problem to surface. If it works ok, then you can try migrating your old info over. Then if you run into a problem, you'll know it's a software issue and not the computer itself.
     
  20. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
  21. Xtrreme thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    #21
    I just tried reinstall the OS, and downloaded VLC for playing a movie.
    After half an hour movie playing, the machine freeze again...:(

    Hope my new rMBP will do better.
     
  22. AZREOSpecialist, Aug 17, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2012

    AZREOSpecialist macrumors 68000

    AZREOSpecialist

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #22
    Why would you take a brand-new, non-functioning RMBP and put it on eBay? You would be well within your 14-day return/exchange window or, if not, well within Apple's 1 year warranty.

    ----------

    Migration Assistant most likely moved over an application and some settings that are not compatible with the new RMBP. Restore your RMBP to its factory settings (no migration of software, just what comes with your machine from the factory). If you still experience issues, then you have a problem, otherwise it's one of your software programs.
     
  23. sweetbrat macrumors 65816

    sweetbrat

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Redford, MI
    #23
    Is this a movie that you've downloaded, or are you streaming it from somewhere? When it freezes, is it the entire computer, or just the app you're currently using? Just trying to narrow things down. Sorry you're having such a tough time with all of this.
     
  24. Xtrreme thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    #24
    I have tried playing a avi and bluray movie with VLC player, and it always freeze after 15 min playing.
    When it freeze, the whole computer unable to response, even the trackpad and keyboard. Yesterday when I tried restart after freezing, it even freeze at restart page (white screen with an apple at the middle):(

    [edit]
    Oops, it just freeze when I am using Google chrome ...
     
  25. Passante macrumors 6502a

    Passante

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Location:
    on the sofa
    #25
    Bad ram or SSD can cause crashes. I agree that a disk wipe and system install is a good start but since the notebook is brand new I would let the geniuses at the apple store do the work and troubleshoot the hardware. Why waste you time fixing a new laptop.
     

Share This Page