I Need a SuperMac!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Rattlers1887, Oct 28, 2015.

  1. Rattlers1887 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    #1
    I have a MacPro from about 2010 and am now in the market to upgrade to the new MacPro 6,1. As I am an artist and not so strong with configuring I would love some feedback on how to build the best mac that I can for what I need to do. Our entire ecosystem at my office is mac, so that is why I want to stay with apple and I have used solely a mac for almost two decades now.

    I need a super mac to help me with artwork, vfx work, 3d modeling and rendering, web development and all things Adobe Creative Suite. Currently I use:

    Most of the the Adobe Creative Cloud Suite, but mostly Photoshop CC, After Effects CC, Premiere CC, Illustrator CC, InDesign CC, and Dreamweaver CC.
    Maxon Cinema 4D
    Maya
    Real Flow
    Red Giant Plugins for Photoshop, Premiere and After Effects
    Tons of other plugins

    I've been trying to read up on the Titan cards and it seems they are ideal for 3D work (not just gaming). My question is, if there wasn't budget limitations, what can I do (and how can I) build the best mac for workflow and 3D modeling and rendering. I will be maxing out the specs on the MacPro tube in terms of processors, ram, storage ad video cards, but what kind of pci expander works best with the new MacPro tube and how can I get maximum power output for the workstation? What other additions do I need.

    Lastly, is there any services or businesses that build these type of systems? If so, who are they?

    Any suggestions would be great. So sick of waiting for renders.

    My current Cinebench stats are: OpenCl - 53.83fps and CPU - 1336 cb
     
  2. rawweb macrumors 6502a

    rawweb

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    #2
    Why toss out that magical 2010? It might just be in need of some well deserved upgrades (CPU, Video Card, Memory, SSD).

    Honestly, I run a upgraded 12 core 3.33GHz 5,1 at home with a MVC flashed 770 and this thing does circles around my 12 core 6,1 2.7GHZ dual D700 darth vader can at work. At least, for my needs.

    Based on your wish list...a 5k iMac would not be an ideal solution due to it's thermal throttling and 4 core count (maya, cinema 4d).

    What about an HP Z series?
     
  3. El_Kritiko macrumors newbie

    El_Kritiko

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Location:
    Munich
    #3
    You need at least the D700 GPU, it has the power for your graphic tools. The 6-core CPU is enough, most of the rendering is done with the GPU.
     
  4. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #4
  5. rawweb macrumors 6502a

    rawweb

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    #5
    I'm starting to agree with that assessment, I've got some faith building into the HP Z series, especially for folks like the OP who don't want to tinker like some of us.

    Regardless, the OP could spend the least amount of money simply throwing some upgrades at his existing system vs the enormous cost of a 6 or 8 core nMP (or equivalent HP) to get about the same result. PM, if your interested in an upgrade path, I have some options.
     
  6. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #6
    You can have a MacPro 6,1 with dual D700s.

    eGPU solutions for PCIe cards like the Titan aren't really where they need to be yet. Currently there are practical issues that limit that to hobbyists willing to put up with a lot of problems.
     
  7. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #7
    I just wouldn't recommend a system that has been on the market for two years and still the same overpriced cost it was on day one. Certainly not when you can build more powerful Skylake system for halfish the price.
     
  8. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #8
    Yes it's certainly a bad time to buy a MP 6,1.
     
  9. rawweb macrumors 6502a

    rawweb

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    #9
    I didn't advise purchasing a nMP, did I?
     
  10. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #10
    That was for the OP
     
  11. shaunp macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    #11
    I've got a nMP (6-core D700's) and I wouldn't buy another one. It's quiet little machine, but it has it's limitations. I'd agree with others as the OP already has a 2010 MP, I'd upgrade that and keep it as long as I could, then I'd look at HP Z or Dell Precision.
     
  12. linuxcooldude macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #12
    Since you are using it for work: I would not recommend a hackintosh, lots of configuring and system breaking on OS updates/upgrades. I would be very careful using Nvidia PC cards that only work using Nvidia drivers. ( Titan ect. ) It might boot up to blank screen on system update/upgrade.

    Buying now has a few advantages rather then playing the waiting game for a couple of reasons. 1.) Buying in the middle of a release gives plenty of time for software/hardware issues to get resolved. 2.) When you finally get a new one released, more waiting till supply catches up with demand. If your planning on staying in the Mac ecosystem anyway, it should have more to do with "Is the current Mac Pro faster then what I have?" 3.) You could do 30% more work now on current Mac Pro or less work waiting on a new release a year or two from now.

    Not sure why people are still recommending PC workstations when you said you want Mac and no hassles.
     
  13. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #13
  14. pertusis1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    #14
    I agree with what's written above. If you have a 2010 MP, your best bet is to fine someone willing to tinker with it a bit an do some basic upgrades, at least until the MP 7,1 comes out. I have a 5,1 MP, and with a graphics card, processor, and PCIe based hard drive upgrade, it is a kicking' machine, still competing well with the highest-end 6,1 MP out there.

    Please let's not turn this thread into another discussion about when that might happen :eek:
     
  15. flat five macrumors 601

    flat five

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    newyorkcity
    #15
    well, apple builds them.. ;)



    .
    for the majority of that, you'll benefit most from using a fast single core.. the 4core or 6core would be best.. if you get a 12core, your computer might work less overall but you yourself will work the same amount or slightly more.. personally, i'd want the six core but if price isn't an issue, the 8core would be good too.

    i'm not sure of your office setup but it's possible and not very difficult to have larger rendering jobs make use of any the otherwise idle computers on the network with your computer being the master.. just a thought but i do it with a laptop and it works well.

    pretty much, if you're upgrading to 6.1, quit worrying about titan cards.. they don't work in the mac pro anymore.
    ; )

    that's (much) more of a software problem right now rather than a hardware one.
     
  16. lowendlinux Contributor

    lowendlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    North Country (way upstate NY)
    #16
    I never thought I'd say this but I agree with SCSC try you're work in Windows for a couple weeks right now CC and Windows are getting along really well.
     
  17. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #17
    LOLZ
     
  18. austinpike macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Location:
    MN
    #18
    What are the specs on your current machine? The "best" Mac you can currently build would be an upgraded 2010. That will give you the most options for video cards for GPU rendering.
     
  19. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #19
    And I would be very careful taking advice from someone who knows not of what they speak (or type).

    The original GTX Titan has had built in OSX native drivers since 10.8.4 or so. In fact it is the very fact that Apple was shipping working drivers for these cards so very long ago that highlights their complete neglect for anything since.

    Original GK110 Titan works with Apple OSX default drivers for every OS release since then. Same with GTX780.

    Unflashed these cards won't show boot screens, with EFI they become seamless, like you got them from Apple. Powering the Titan requires thought, but a 780 is a no brainer.
     
  20. linuxcooldude macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #20
    True, the original Titan. I know at least two Titans you need to install the web drivers first.
     
  21. Rattlers1887 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    #21
    Wow! It seems like all of you all really know your stuff! I am very hesitant to switch over to the PC format while I'm up to neck in projects. Learning a new environment will tremendously slow my workflow down right now. Like I said, I am in a total Mac environment down to apple tv's and all. I really can't risk fumbling over a new OS while I get adjusted. You all know how deadlines are.

    I have to get a new cpu, because my current one in on its last legs I think. I got no sound anymore and no ports are working on the back end. I wish I could explain it better with official jargon, but an artist I am, a techie I am not, lol.

    It seems that Titan cards aren't needed. Are the new AMD cards that the new mac pro's offer sufficient. i want to try out using Octane Render and Vray. Whichever is overall a good blend between speed and quality.
     
  22. Rattlers1887 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    #22
    2 x 3.06 Ghz 6-Core Intel Xeon
    32 GB Ram
    ATI Radeon HD 5870 1024MB
     
  23. flat five macrumors 601

    flat five

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    newyorkcity
    #23
    octane is currently cuda only so that's not going to work on 6.1
    that said, they're currently re-writing in openCL.. octane 3 was announced last march and will supposedly be released by the end of 2015.
    https://home.otoy.com/otoy-unveils-octanerender-3-worlds-best-gpu-renderer/


    indigo renderer is getting really close to releasing v4.. pure gpu / openCL.. should be happening within the next 6 months.

    thea presto is also porting to openCL instead of cuda only.. no idea when or if there will be an official release
    https://www.thearender.com/cms/index.php/news/tech-news/345-opencl-port-for-thea-presto-.html

    vray already supports openCL and cuda.. i'm not entirely sure of the implementation (if it's pure gpu or gpu accelerated).. i haven't used it for a few years.. someone here may know.
     
  24. Average Pro macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Location:
    Cali
    #24
     
  25. Average Pro macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Location:
    Cali
    #25
    As mentioned above, the D700 GPU and 6-core CPU will be plenty. There's a reason you (and many others) remain with Apple. I've been with the MacPro since 2006. They have NEVER let me down. For me, peace of mind has no price. Good luck with whatever decision you make.
     

Share This Page