I need help!!! considering PC because this problem is annoying, also GPU prob.i think

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by adventhp1, Oct 3, 2011.

  1. adventhp1, Oct 3, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2011

    adventhp1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    #1
    ok my mbp is 13'' and is the mid 2009 version 2.34 gz(or something like that)
    and has 2gb ram, running lion upgraded hard disk a few days ago has 500gb

    my mbp is slow REALLY SLOW i pinwheels constantly so unresponsive and is pissing me off
    i have boot camp with windows 7 for games (50gb) wich runs fine

    i have bought 8gb ram from crucial (not arrived yet) but i was wondering what to do to make it faster if that doesn't work please please help!!!!

    also will high end games work with 8gb and should or can i upgrade my graphics card if so whats better than Ge force 9400m for under £100 (150 dollars)

    opps the title is abit effed up
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Lion and 2GB of RAM definitely doesn't sound too good. A RAM upgrade should help, at least I wouldn't make any conclusions before you have upgraded the RAM.
     
  3. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
    There is your problem... only 2GB is cutting it short with Lion now. The whole minimum needed is 4GB with Lion to be productive. Lion seriously messed up memory management a lot.
     
  4. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #4

    Its the ram 2gb is the min for lion so you should see a difference with the 8gb
     
  5. vitzr macrumors 68030

    vitzr

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Each time there is a major point upgrade to the OS, requiring more memory is to be expected.

    The way it's handled by Lion is exemplary.
     
  6. WillJS macrumors 65816

    WillJS

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    #6
    If installing the ram doesn't help solve your problem, verify disk permissions and if suggested repair them. Also verify and repair the disk. If that fails I would make a Genius appointment.
     
  7. adventhp1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    #7
    kl thanks guys also will i be able to run high-end games on my mac if i get 8gb ram (GTA IV) or is that graphics card related.
     
  8. wpotere, Oct 3, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2011

    wpotere Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    #8
    Not... Many people are still having problems with kernel panics under Lion. I can watch as Lion eats my 4 gigs and then chokes and that was after a clean install. There are still bugs in the OS that need to be resolved and mem management is one of them.
     
  9. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #9
    That is GPU related, not RAM related.

    To edit your thread title, just click on the [​IMG] button on the bottom right of your original post and then click the [​IMG] button below your message.
     
  10. WillJS macrumors 65816

    WillJS

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    #10
    GTA should run fine on your MBP.
     
  11. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #11
    4GB of RAM is more than enough for many (if not all) modern games. If your game stutters or is slow, then it is bounded by something other than the RAM. In this case it is most likely the GPU due to it being a MacBook Pro. I doubt it'd be the CPU at any point.
     
  12. mark28 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #12
    He doesn't have problems with Windows 7, so it applies only to Lion.

    Windows 7 even runs pretty descent on a Pentium 4 with 1 gb of Ram.
     
  13. AdrianK macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #13
    GTA IV on a Core2Duo + GeForce 9400M? No it will not.
     
  14. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #14
    All those fancy features like Resume eat your RAM. You can't get cool new features without sacrificing hardware. I wouldn't expect Lion to get much better in terms of memory management. It has been designed to use more RAM than SL. OTOH, 8GB is quickly becoming the norm and $40 shouldn't be too much anyway.
     
  15. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #15
    You know what's sad? My main machine is using 6GB of RAM under Windows 7. I don't even use 50% of those 6GB even when running a full blown game. For instance, running Crysis uses only 33%, running it together with F@H and it's still under 50% by far (actual figure is 39%).

    It's sad Lion is such a memory hog because Snow Leopard decreased memory hogging with each release (the latest Snow Leo update let me start with 3.12 GB of RAM after everything started up). Lion? I am lucky if I start at 2.6 GB... crazy.
     
  16. adventhp1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    #16
    i have memory freer app it says:

    Free: 16mb
    wired: 300mb
    active: 988mb
    inactive:488-499mb
    used: 1.74 GB
     
  17. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #17
    Yeah, there is your problem. Your free memory is gone. That means your Mac starts using the Hard Disk for swap and that slows down the entire system.

    Can you get a reading how many page outs and the size of them?
     
  18. adventhp1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    #18
    i dont know were to find that...
     
  19. WillJS macrumors 65816

    WillJS

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    #19
    I was under the impression that it wasn't very intensive, thanks for the correction.
     
  20. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #20
    Activity Monitor, than the Memory Tab

    you should see Page ins and Page Outs
     
  21. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #21
    ______________________________________________________
    Have a look at Activity Monitor (Applications / Utilities /) and check the "System Memory" tab to see what your "Page ins:", "Page outs:" and "Swap used:" are.

    image below uses sorting by CPU as an example
    [​IMG]
    Further reading:
    ______________________________________________________​
     
  22. adventhp1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    #22
    page ins: 925.6mb
    page outs: 574.3mb-578.1mb

    swap used: 1.54gb
     
  23. WillJS macrumors 65816

    WillJS

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    #23
    More RAM will definitely help out. Just incase you don't know here's how to replace the RAM on your machine.
     
  24. adventhp1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    #24
    ty :)
     
  25. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #25
    Holy crap. Yes, that's the reason why your computer is slowing down. 1.54 GB of swap memory used is a lot. That will cause slow downs.
     

Share This Page