I need your opinion on an apple matter

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by treyjustice, Jul 15, 2010.

1. treyjustice macrumors 65816

treyjustice

I bought a new mbp and a printer a few months ago. A week after I bought it apple had the iPod touch back2school promotion. I called and they sent me an iPod Touch for $0.00. 6 weeks later I received 2 rebate checks from apple. One for $99.99 for my printer and one for $199.99 for my iPod Touch. Not thinking I deposited them both into my checking account. Today I received a call from apple saying they wanted to debit my account $199.99 for the check they sent to me by mistake because they gave me the iPod touch for free. They said they would need my permission. I told them I had to look over my receipts when I returned home and if I could return her call. She said they would send me an email with the details and assured me I wouldn't be charged until I gave them permission.

I am a poor college student and have since spent all of that rebate money. I don't have $200.00 to give them and quite frankly I think it is their fault for sending me a check for $199.99. I didn't go and try and get a rebate for the iPod touch it was automatically submitted when I tried to do my rebate for my printer.

What do I do?

2. Mac'nCheese macrumors 68030

Mac'nCheese

Man up, do the right thing, and get them their money back. You shouldn't have taken the money in the first place.

P.S. No posts please telling me to get off my high-horse...he asked for our opinions. Just being honest.

3. 184550 Guest

I would politely explain the situation as you have done here. Perhaps Apple will agree that it was their fault and drop the matter. If not, offer to send back the iPod Touch.

4. treyjustice thread starter macrumors 65816

treyjustice

I want to give them the 200 back I just don't have it right now. I spent all my money on this stupid iPhone 4 that won't even work..... yikes