Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

PandaOnslaught

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 22, 2010
i really love the OSX OS its the cleanest and i really really enjoy the programs for music recording, video editing, and others, plus the computer games i like to play are made by Blizzard, who supports mac, so the Graphics card isn't so demanding, but every-time i go to upgrade my laptop, i can never justify the cost of the macbook pro, and always end up buying a PC laptop.
just a quick price comparison(i know the new update will change the specs but):
Macbook Pro 13" -1499$(i am a college student so 1399$)
2.53 Core 2 Duo
4GB Ram
250GB HDD
Geforce 9400M

ASUS G51JX-A1 15.6" 1449$
2.8 Core i7
6GB Ram
500GB HDD 7200rpm
Nvidia GTS 360M 1GB VRAM
1920X1080 LED screen

Please don't call me a troll and other things, i really want a mac, i just need more help, every time i go to the shopping cart to checkout i'm always hesitant.

Hellhammer

Moderator emeritus
Dec 10, 2008
Finland
Do you really need the power? i7 isn't going to make web browsing or emails any faster and you said the graphics don't matter so much so... It's your choice, power vs. OS. Btw, there is no 2.8GHz Core i7 for laptops, it's 2.66GHz dual core ;)

wordoflife

macrumors 604
Jul 6, 2009
I say get a Mac.
I'm not saying it because these forums are mainly Mac users (I use a PC, so what?) but man, if I had $1000 right now, I would go for the Macbook. I realized that Macs have high resale value and are plenty fast.

Take a look through eBay and see how much a Macbook that's a couple years old sell for. Like $600 to $800.

Jamo12

macrumors 6502
Mar 23, 2009
Ohio