I switched my IUP 7+ from Sprint to Verizon and now I can't upgrade to 8+

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by edlex, Sep 12, 2017.

  1. edlex macrumors 68000

    edlex

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Location:
    Miami
    #1
    just as the title says. I tried to complete the initial preorder and it won't let me. Another reason not to switch your provider if you plan to use IUP every year. Guess I'll call Apple tomorrow but I'm sure they will blame Verizon.
     
  2. QueenTyrone macrumors 6502a

    QueenTyrone

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    #2
    You can't regardless cause preorders don't start till the 15th...
     
  3. edlex thread starter macrumors 68000

    edlex

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Location:
    Miami
    #3
    I'm talking about the initial enrollment that IUP members are being afforded. It allows picking your preferred 8 and getting pre approval.
     
  4. Kahsheh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2016
    #4
    Will it not allow you to select Verizon on the top screen? I played with it today and gives me the option to select any carrier. Did not finish it as I am not sure yet on the color I want.
     
  5. justinf77 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
  6. edlex, Sep 13, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2017

    edlex thread starter macrumors 68000

    edlex

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Location:
    Miami
    #6
    When I choose Verizon with my info it says we've run into an issue completing you order. Please contact Verizon to resolve it.
     
  7. edlex thread starter macrumors 68000

    edlex

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Location:
    Miami
    #7
    When I enter my Verizon information it says We've run into an issue completing your order. Contact Verizon to resolve it.
     
  8. justinf77 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    #8
    When you’re on the screen to verify your carrier info, is it pre-filled in already? Try deleting the info that’s already there and entering your billing zip code and last 4 of your social manually. I always had to do that when I was with Verizon because it would error out otherwise.
     
  9. Shadowbech macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Location:
    Planet iPhone
    #9
    He's talking about getting pre-approval it sounds like. Which if you use the apple app store on your current iphone, you can actually start the process and get pre-approval. I just did it this morning and i'm approved for an upgrade. This way when the pre-order starts, all the information is already there and I can then finish the process by clicking order now.
     
  10. edlex thread starter macrumors 68000

    edlex

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Location:
    Miami
    #10
    Only the phone number is prefilled. I entered the zip code and ss# and it gave me the message. I've had a huge issue with Verizon switching from the Sprint phone and their system not recognizing it due to the different SKU #. I evacuated from hurricane Irma and still haven't gone back home but I'll try to sort this out with Apple. Worst case I'll give this phone to my wife and buy a brand new phone on IUP at launch.
    --- Post Merged, Sep 13, 2017 ---
    This is definitely a cautionary tale for anyone contemplating switching an IUP phone to Verizon. Just because it's unlocked doesn't mean it's worth the hassle to switch.
     
  11. Kahsheh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2016
    #11
    So have you switched to Verizon or switching just now with the IUP?
     
  12. edlex thread starter macrumors 68000

    edlex

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Location:
    Miami
    #12
    I switched my Sprint IUP 7+ to Verizon back in November of last year. I'm on the phone with Apple now to see if they can help
     
  13. komekomes macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    #13
    I called Verizon and they almost killed my phone. They wanted to move my number to a dummy line to bypass that field on the IUP in the apple app. Nothing worked. Let me know if apple is able to assist you.

    Edit
    I'm in the same boat. Did the IUP with Sprint and moved to Verizon in December.
     
  14. justinf77 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    #14
    I would try doing a mock purchase of the iPhone 7 on the apple.com website to see if you get a more useful error message. Just select a Verizon model and get to the point where you have to verify carrier info. Sometimes the error message on the website is more helpful and can give you more information about what's wrong with your account.
     
  15. komekomes macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    #15
    The error from Verizon was because our phone is not a genuine Verizon phone (sprint phone before) they can't pass it through via the IUP.
     
  16. Shadowbech macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Location:
    Planet iPhone
    #16
    I'm wondering. When you signed up for the Sprint iUP, were you on Sprint then? And switched to Verizon after? If that's the case wouldn't you try it on the sprint model and entering your Sprint account? Just wandering.
     
  17. edlex thread starter macrumors 68000

    edlex

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Location:
    Miami
    #17
    Well I spoke to Apple for about an hour and they verified I was clear for an upgrade on their end and said Verizon wasn't allowing it. I spoke to Verizon and they said I had no holds on my account and no contract so I'm free to upgrade anytime through Apple or them. I think the fact that this is technically a Sprint phone is causing an issue with Apple allowing the upgrade. Something they don't tell you in the fine print.
    --- Post Merged, Sep 13, 2017 ---
    Right, originally I was on Sprint then switched to Verizon in November of last year. When I go through the pre approval it auto populates with Verizon as my carrier.
     
  18. komekomes macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    #18
    When you get technical with it. Our phones are unlocked and verizons are tagged to them. Thus they see it not as a Verizon phone but and unlocked phne. I am going to apple this afternoon to see what they can do.

    Edit: I also populate as Verizon as my carrier.
     
  19. rkellogg9 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    #19
    I have this same issue. Bought a 7 plus outright from an apple store last year that was technically a sprint phone. Activated fine with my Verizon sim card but anytime I try to make changes to.my account there is a huge issue
     
  20. komekomes, Sep 13, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2017

    komekomes macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    #20
    If anyone hits an apple store before I do let me know the resolve. It silly but they would have to move all users to a Verizon based phone.
     
  21. edlex thread starter macrumors 68000

    edlex

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Location:
    Miami
    #21
    I'm just going to give my wife this phone because she is still on Sprint and buy a new Verizon IUP 8+. Hopefully there won't be any issues doing that.
    --- Post Merged, Sep 13, 2017 ---
    I called Apple again just for craps and giggles and support put me on with some crazy lady in sales who said they aren't upgrading phones that have financing with citizens one just the ones with Barclays!?!?!?? She was nuts! I feel bad for them because some of them really have no clue.

    Bottom line is if you switched carriers on IUP you cannot upgrade to the new carrier.
     
  22. edlex thread starter macrumors 68000

    edlex

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Location:
    Miami
    #22
    Just as a follow up I wrote to Tim Cook to let him know of a the flaw in the upgrade program if you switch carriers. I'll follow up with the response from the executive team.
     
  23. komekomes macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    #23
    At the Apple Store now, they can't see an issue and blame Verizon it is going to be a blame game unfortunately. Apple has been no help.
     
  24. edlex thread starter macrumors 68000

    edlex

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Location:
    Miami
    #24
    I got a response from Tim Cook's and executive relations team an hour ago to call them tomorrow. I'll fill you in when I call them tomorrow.
     
  25. komekomes macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    #25
    Awesome, I walked the tier 2 apple techs through the process , she is going to see a work around so we can at least reserve
     

Share This Page

50 September 12, 2017