I want a Mac Pro NOW

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by steveOooo, Aug 8, 2011.

  1. steveOooo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    I need more omphf

    I currently have a MBP hooked up to a HP 24 monitor ( i nice MATTE screen that doesnt double up like a mirror like recent apple displays, but i degrees).

    I need it to do multicam editing in FCP, render / encode quicker than my MBP using FCP but will be edging towards Premiere / After FXs

    I have the early 2009 MBP 17" model so perhaps go for a MP around this time? im guessing will save 40% off the current price?

    Any suggestions on models, spec? do i need the apple raid card for up to 4 drives working as a raid?
     
  2. blunti macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #2
    depends on your budget.

    The "sweet-spot" config as of now is the 2010 3.3GHz Hex core MP.
    You can also upgrade a 2010 (2009 too but needs EFI hack) 2.8 base to a 3.3 Hex.

    new MP's are just around the corner so if you can just hang on to your current comp for a few months.
    You will not regret this option.
     
  3. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #3
    If you need it now, then don't wait. I'm not sure of your budget, but the current SP Hex core would be a system to seriously consider.

    As per RAID, it will depend on what you actually need. OS X is capable of 0/1/10 and JBOD without the need of a hardware RAID controller, which can offer levels not possible via OS X, or recommended by any software solution (parity based levels such as 5/6/50/60 for example).

    Given you're only interested in only 4x disks, OS X's capabilities might suffice, depending on exact needs (MP has 6x SATA ports; 4x for the HDD bays, and 2x for the optical bays).
     
  4. Icy1007 macrumors 6502a

    Icy1007

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
  5. steveOooo, Aug 13, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2011

    steveOooo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #5

    I just need to multi cam edit upto 4 streams of pro ress 422 lt in final cut (or may move to premiere cs5) - well, would be 2 streams to start off with (more cameras probably used later down the line).

    So dont think will need the raid card - would the 72hour backup thing be worth it in case of power cut? Would it save the hdds from losing data?

    I have found the current standard spec model on ebay, with warranty etc.. so can just get it bit cheaper + buy 2 year warranty extension and go - what would upgrading stuff void the warranty? I take it the processor is the only thing you cant upgrade?

    I would need to get

    4x 2TB hdds - using 2x3 as a RAID and 1 drive for normal stuff.

    Would any old HDD matching the spec of '7200-rpm Serial ATA 3Gb/s' do? (ie - http://www.amazon.co.uk/Seagate-Bar...KCLS/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1313258701&sr=8-1

    Graphics - Could I update the graphics card easily?

    Put another 'ATI Radeon HD 5770 1GB' in OR 'ATI Radeon HD 5870 1GB' (which is better 2x 5770 or 1x5870 - could you use 2x 5870? )

    Not so big a deal, how easy to stick another superdrive in?

    Also, currently have a mac book pro - MDP - DVI adapter to my HP monitor - im guessing just connect this to the MDP on the Mac Pro?

    ALso, suggested places to buy in UK - I perhaps would use crucial for memory, amazon uk for hdds, and where for the graphics card? How easy is it to upgrade the mac pro?

    Im also a bit confused with ram - crucial says I can only upgrade to 12GB whereas apple states 64GB?

    http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/lis...Quad-Core MC250LL/A Mid 2010&pl=Apple&cat=RAM

    Not sure,

    Ah, its 32GB - so why is crucial saying '12 GB'?
     
  6. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #6
  7. steveOooo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Sounds like it will void it - think ill see how things go

    Have config the standard model with the extras I want

    Apple Store = £3,101
    Apple base price + buying it myself and installing myself = £2384

    + im sure will get the machine £2-£500 cheaper - so perhaps a saving of around £1200? Happy days! (well, would get apple care extension so bit less)
     
  8. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #8
    The battery can help prevent data loss during a power outage, so long as the data that was being written all fit into the card's cache.

    If you don't have a decent UPS already (stay away from units with stepped inverters as they can actually damage your MP's PSU), then that is even more important.

    So is a proper backup solution (no matter what the storage system is, nothing is stable enough that will allow you to skip a backup system.

    If the RAID is attached to the SATA ports in the system, any SATA drive will do.

    But if you go to a RAID card, then no. For this type of implementation, you must run enterprise disks in order to make sure the array is stable (consumer disks, such as the Barracuda won't be, and could cost you your data).

    Yes (presuming you're only going to use OS X, make sure it's supported).

    OS X doesn't work with either SLI or Crossfire, so additional cards are only good for running additional monitors.

    As per what unit's to use, the 5870 is probably a better choice for a single card.

    Now if you are after a second card for additional monitors, and decide on a 2nd 5870, then you'd need to run an additional PSU in order to power it (jump the green and black wires in the CPU connector to turn the additional PSU ON). Not pretty, but it will work.

    Easy. Remove the optical drive carrier, add the disk, make sure the connectors are in the right place, re-install the carrier, and you're done.

    With existing GPU's for the MP, Yes.

    Perhaps scan.co.uk...
     
  9. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #9
    Ehhhhhhhhhh. If you're running OpenCL software it can use both cards at once. I haven't heard if FCPX will actually switch on both cards, but the Mac OpenCL drivers totally 100% support it.

    Given that the OP mentioned multi cam I'm going to assume FCP7, but given video editing is an area rapidly adopting OpenCL it may only be useless in the short term.

    OpenGL, no. Apple supports software manually using multiple cards, but no automagic like SLI or Crossfire, meaning most apps don't bother supporting OpenGL on multiple cards.
     
  10. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #10
    I'm under the impression that OpenCL isn't fully supported, so I kept it simple.
     

Share This Page