I want to get Diablo 3 but...

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by mesogreat, May 12, 2012.

  1. mesogreat macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    #1
    When the beta weekend came I downloaded the pc client by mistake. I didn't want to redo it for Mac. I was ready to play!!! So I booted up bootcamp to play it. I looked at the requirements and my i5 Mac air fit in thier fine. I looked up other user experiences and they all seemed great. So I booted up the game and to my horror :eek: it looked terrible and played jus as bad. So I turned down anything that may be causing the graphic hiccups. It did play better but still was really bad. So my question is has anyone else payed on the i5 air with 4gigs of ram. What was your experience like. I assume my issue had to do I wasn't playing it the way blizzard intended it.
     
  2. Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #2
    I'd assume the Bootcamp version would have better performance than the Mac version. If necessary turn down settings. Usually shadows and anti-aliasing are two of the culprits.

    How does it compare with this? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=thhh7AsnmaA
     
  3. mesogreat thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    #3
    Yeah it seemed pretty close to that thought I think he had a bit higher of settings. If that's the best to expect I'm a bit disappointed. Also a bit surprised at what you get. I play skyrim, mass effect 3, WOW, among many other games. All look and play great. But the simple graphic look of Diablo. Well simple in comparison to others that play better. Doesn't give you a little more is kind of a bummer. :(
     
  4. Ohrstrom macrumors 6502

    Ohrstrom

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #4
    Im under the impression that Blizzard has declared that performance will be improved on the final version. :) How much I do not know.
     
  5. mesogreat thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    #5
    Good point, It comes out in a few days maybe more will be know soon. As most people who play blizzard games know they're not shy about giving updates to make things better.
     
  6. mesogreat thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    #6
    Any updates? Or if someone has a guest pass I would be happy to give a full update myself:p
     
  7. thatisme macrumors 6502

    thatisme

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Location:
    United States
    #7
    On a i5 Macbook Air, it plays "OK" on low settings (full resolution). The defaults ran like garbage, so moving things down graphically helped.
     
  8. mesogreat thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    #8
    What do you think frame rate wise are you getting on low?
     
  9. Miharu macrumors 6502

    Miharu

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    Finland
    #9
    http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/topic/5051695263?page=1

    Take a look at this thread. It is exactly as beta. Diablo 3 on Macs runs really slow compared to SC2 and WoW. I get 12-20 FPS on my 2010 iMac. The game will probably run on MBA but with I'd say max 15 FPS. You can see the FPS by pressing cmd/ctrl + R.
     
  10. mesogreat thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    #10
    So I gave in to the inevitable addiction and purchased Diablo 3. To my surprise it actually plays allot better. Everything is maxed except shadows. I haven't gotten into any crazy combat yet. But Its clearly night and day compared to the beta. For anyone on the fence like me with the I5 air with 4gigs. I would say go for it. Now i'm going to go wave good by to my life and jump back into game. Damn you Blizzard:p
     
  11. SlickShoes macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    #11
    In the beta are you sure you installed the up to date graphics drivers in Windows? or was it all just drivers from apple?

    If you didnt then that was likely the main problem.
     
  12. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #12
    One thing to note is that you keep mentioning the CPU and main RAM. I take you're aware the most important aspect will be your graphics card. I believe the Air's have integrated graphics cards as opposed to dedicated ones and that will be the main bottleneck. Apparently if you check the low FX box this should improve things.
     
  13. Blue Sun macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #13
    I'm playing D3 on my 24" iMac with an 8800GS, 1920x1200, pretty much everything on high. It runs amazingly well. I'm surprised some of you guys are having bad experiences, I'm fairly certain bad drivers are the cause though.
     

Share This Page