I will buy a powermac g4 $100.00

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by ibookos9, Mar 4, 2008.

  1. ibookos9 macrumors member

    ibookos9

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Location:
    in a house
    #1
    It is 867 Mhz 80GB HD 512MB ram

    what do u think?
     
  2. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #2
    Not too bad - I just bought one with 1.5GB RAM, and a couple of hard drives for about $170 (QuickSilver ED).
     
  3. MikeL macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    Bloomington, MN
    #3
    I think it's a waste of money, unless you know specifically why you're buying it. It's a six year old obsolete computer.
     
  4. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #4
    Don't know about the OP's plans, but mine's going to replace a G3 PM (B&W, 350MHz) server, that's been running 10.2 Jag Server for going on 5 years 24/7.

    Currently, it's "burning in" running 10.5 just fine. Just have to get around to migrating to 10.4 server (don't have Leopard server, yet).
     
  5. product26 macrumors 6502a

    product26

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    #5
    uhhhh... we use machines with lower specs at work...

    ****, we use g3 imacs for our sales people to send and receive PDF proofs over email.
     
  6. MikeL macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    Bloomington, MN
    #6
    So your company isn't interested in efficiency. What's that got to do with a slow G4 being a bad buy if a person doesn't have a specific reason to purchase it?

    It's an awful way to get your feet wet with a Mac. Nobody would suggest buying a 1.8ghz P4 as being a good way to get acquainted with Vista.
     
  7. fluidedge macrumors 65816

    fluidedge

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    #7
    be a great file server - plus... it's only $100!! You can barely buy a tank of petrol here in the UK for that.
     
  8. m1stake macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Philly
    #8
    I have a G4 733Mhz with 384MB of ram and it's perfectly good for everything except games. So while there are faster things, it's still as snappy as the day I bought it.
     
  9. shu82 macrumors 6502a

    shu82

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    Rocket City, AL
    #9
    This was the first mac with large HDD support. It is a great deal! No sense in craping on old hardware.

    My main machine is a dual 1ghz with 2 gigs of ram, 1.5tb hd with a sata card, and pushing 3 LCDs. Its perfect for ilife, itunes and even streaming video from the web. And it boots Leopard faster than my mac mini <20 seconds!!!! I do want a new imac. But even when I get one this should at least be my server and secondary computer.

    Many of us need the options of a mac pro, but don't want to pay the insane price for even a used one.
     
  10. jonswan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    #10
    Here in Japan a guy is asking for $600 for the same model - not that far fetched as I paid $450 for a 1.0 ghz, which with its new battery and Leopard runs very well. It also looks spotless. So, I say that's a pretty reasonable way to spend $100, even if it's just for fooling around.
     
  11. fluidedge macrumors 65816

    fluidedge

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    #11
    so does that mean you can ripout the HD and but in something like a 500GB? Is there space for 2 HDD?

    Would make the most awesome file server. Or hook it up to some decent speakers and put it in your living room as an iTunes Jukebox!

    Heck even just buying it for the case is cheap, it's a good case.
     
  12. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #12
    You could fit 4 hard drives in that Quicksilver...maybe even more.
     
  13. fluidedge macrumors 65816

    fluidedge

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    #13
    sweeeeeet - there are loads of them on eBay in the UK for about £100 (~450MHz though). If a 1GHz one comes up for about £150 i'm there!
     
  14. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #14
    Remember G4's older than 2002 can't support hard drives more than 137 gigs..

    You need to get something to get past that limit (i forget the link..)
     
  15. Sdashiki macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #15
    dont know why, but this is the same thing as with a modded original XBOX, you need to partition the drives in a way with 32/64 bit or k clusters, i dont know...otherwise it only see 137GB of anything larger.
     
  16. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #16
    That's on the internal ATA controller, but it'll support whatever you like on Firewire/USB.
     
  17. Crossbone macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
  18. shu82 macrumors 6502a

    shu82

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    Rocket City, AL
    #18
    The 2002 867mhz quicksilver (what the OP is looking at) was the first to support big drives. I have 2 500's and 2 250's in mine at the moment.
     
  19. poe diddley macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Location:
    greensboro nc
    #19
    yeah that's bs. my g4 powermac came out xmas of '99 (350mhz g4 then) , and it's still working great. it's been on 24-7 as my internet/bit torrent machine for at least 5 years. i upgraded the processor to a OWC 1ghz, 1ghz of ram, a superdrive and an ATI 128mb graphics card.
    it runs great and the only issues i've had were with some bad hard drives about 4 years ago.
    i have photoshop, illustrator, after fx, finalcut pro and several other apps on it and it does fine. it's not the fastest machine i've ever used, but it is without a doubt the most reliable and long lasting computer i have ever owned or heard about from anyone i know. granted, the apps are not the current versions, but they all work fine.
    the user who started this thread should know that there are options out there. he could get the powermac and upgrade the processor, ram and video card and be just fine. it's not gonna blow the doors off of any newer powermac or macpro, but it can serve many purposes, and is surely not obsolete.
     
  20. Chrispy macrumors 68020

    Chrispy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Location:
    Avon, IN
    #20
    I use a Dual G4 1.25 at work and it still works great. I use Photoshop and InDesign CS3 on it daily (with 1.75GB Ram) with no real slowdown issues. Sure, a Mac Pro would obviously be much faster but the G4 is more than usable.
     

Share This Page