i3= core 2 duo?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by krewelement394, Aug 1, 2010.

  1. krewelement394 macrumors regular

    krewelement394

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #1
    I do not know so much about computers, so this is why i ask if the i3 the same as core 2duo, or is it something different?

    Today i went to the local bestbuy, i was messing with the iMacs before actually ordering one from apple.com, anyhow, i clicked on "about this mac" and i saw that it said core 2 duo 3.06 GHZ. I was not sure those where the new "turbo" iMacs, but if they were why does it still have a core 2 duo? shouldn't it say 3 core duo? or is that something different?

    i also noticed that the iMacs are only "turbo charged" if it they have i5 in them, should i get an i5 instead of an i3? is it worth it?
     
  2. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Core 2 Duo uses ancient LGA 775 technology. Core i3 uses the new LGA 1156 technology and a much smaller production process.

    Best Buy as a natural ability to confuse buyers and hence be able to sell them unneeded services which are *very* expensive or sell them a computer with processing power they don't need (albeit it's much more, yes you guessed it, expensive).

    All iMacs that carry i3 CPUs don't have a feature called "Turbo Boost". Basically what that does is if you have an application that only uses one core, then the CPU will overclock that core and shut down the other core/s and thus give you better performance.

    Turbo Boost is only available on certain i5 CPUs and all i7 CPUs. Core 2 Duos do not have hyperthreading nor do they have Turbo. Also, they are much slower even compared to similarly clocked ix CPUs.
     
  3. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #3
    The model you looked at was old stock from the previous generation. Likely they didn't want to spend the money to put a new one out as a floor model if they look the same and will just be messed around with. But in most situations, the Core 2 Duo and i3 will have roughly the same performance. I doubt though that the i5 would be a big enough bump in performance to warrant getting that, unless you are talking quad core i5. It all really just depends on what you are doing with it.
     
  4. xraydoc macrumors 604

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #4
    Agreed with the above.

    Core 2 Duo ≠ Core i3

    The store you went to had an older machine on display (i.e., a Core 2 Duo).

    While the clock speeds are similar, the i3 machines will be moderately faster than last generation's Core 2 Duos.
     
  5. krewelement394 thread starter macrumors regular

    krewelement394

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #5
    Ahh yes! today when i was looking at their macs, this sales person was telling this older guy that he needed mobile Me....because of it's features and stuff. i am not new to Macs to know that Mobile Me is NOT need, it is a nice feature but, on the trieal they gave me i hardly ever used it, i may get it this time but not sure... anyhow that poor man walked out the door with Mobile Me, iWork and Microsoft word, the new magic pad (because the salesman told him it would make a great pair up)....poor him.

    Ok so will Intel Core i5 make a huge difference?
    i mainly use my macbook for photo editing, video editing and School of course! The performance is great, it is 2 years old and got it in the mid 2008. it's specs are

    2.4 GHZ intel 2 core duo
    RAM 3GB

    i also run Photoshop cs4, itunes, iphoto and surf the net all at once, and sometimes even Illustrator and After effects. i find my macbook still running smoothly, not as fast as when only photoshop and a couple of apps are opened but fair.

    from this, will the 3.06 Ghz, 4GB ram, and i3 core work for me? or should i bump it to a 3.60GHz Intel Core i5, for 250$ more....?

    Oh and i forgot about the HDD 500GB more when i get the i5=1TB.

    PS: Do the newer iMacs have a different design? from what ive seen on the apple site, the back of the iMacs looke more arched, the older models semm a bit more flat....is this just me or did they get a new look?
     
  6. swajames macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    #6
    My local Best Buy hasn't upgraded its floor models yet, the demo units are still C2D, but they are indeed selling the new models and if you buy an iMac you'll get an i3 machine.
     
  7. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #7
    To the first part of the post, yes, it's a sad thing. If I see something of that sort I would barge in because I would feel terrible letting people get shafted that bad. I have done if before and I always get the nasty rep stare and the what do you know sir, which I respond as majoring in EE (computer field) and IEEE member card;). That's when I use their own demo units as portals to show them what they really need and what they are getting. I love undoing the harm a stupid rep/schill does to people.

    As per your actual issue. I don't think you would even notice the difference in CPUs. Photoshop isn't CPU intensive, it's RAM intensive. iPhoto is the same deal. As per movie editing, then yes that would make a difference when encoding, but that's it. Now, what would really bump up performance would be an SSD or more RAM. Although SSDs from Apple susually suck. So I'd advice you to get a newer MacBook Pro with which ever CPU you want (all of them are good) and purchase a third party SSD and put it in and upgrade the RAM if possible to 8GB. You will get a much faster performing machine this way.
     
  8. krewelement394 thread starter macrumors regular

    krewelement394

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #8

    Ok, im getting the 3.06 Ghz i3 :). well does the imac have a new design? the one i use at work is a 27 inch, previous generation and it is black from the back. the new ones seem to be all aluminum... and to me they seem more arched :) not sure if it just me though.

    hmm, should i get a full keyboard or the wireless? it bugs me that the wireless one does not have a USB hub, the wired one does and i love that :/
     
  9. maril1111 macrumors 68000

    maril1111

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Location:
    Denmark
    #9
    Hi, I did feel like starting a new thread but what would be the optimal iMac to use with aperture 3? I5 vs i3? Or should the money be spend on upgrading the ram to 8Gb? also is there a huge difference between the 1Gb graphics card vs 512Mb?

    Cheers

    Maril
     
  10. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #10
    Hopefully some online site will post real-world benchmarks of vram intensive apps and how much of a difference 512mb vram pits against 1gig of vram.
     
  11. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #11
    that would be nice, i cant see it making that much of a difference. 5%-10% maybe.
     
  12. Sammy Cat macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Location:
    North America
    #12
    Inquiring minds would like to know!

    On the fence between:

    i3 base model
    i3 512mb video card
    i5 quad core refurb
     
  13. cherry su macrumors 65816

    cherry su

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #13
    The i3s that Apple ships with iMacs have an integrated memory controller and hyperthreading. In other words, it's supposed to be faster, theoretically speaking.
     
  14. maril1111 macrumors 68000

    maril1111

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Location:
    Denmark
    #14



    Lol thanks for the sum up
     
  15. selfdisplaced macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #15
    I am pretty sure only the i5 and above support "turboboost". Reading online seems like that's one of the features of the i5 vs i3

    From Apple's site:

    Turbo Boost.

    Many iMac models now benefit from Turbo Boost technology built into the Intel Core series processors. If you’re using a processor-intensive application such as Aperture 3 or Final Cut Pro that benefits from extra performance, Turbo Boost dynamically increases the speed of available cores.
     
  16. Sammy Cat macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Location:
    North America
    #16
    When you figure it out, let me know. :)
     
  17. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #17
    i3's dont have turbo boost, i3's have less cache (pretty important), less transistor count. etc
     
  18. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #18
    If you're going to be doing video editing and photo editing, then, if you can afford it, you want one of the quad-core models.

    Those two extra physical cores (and four extra total virtual cores if you get the i7,) really help out when doing video compression.

    The better video card that comes standard with the quad-core models also helps out a bit in appropriate apps.
     
  19. Sammy Cat macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Location:
    North America
    #19
    How would the refurbished i5's 512mb video card compare with the 512mb in the upgraded i3, and the 1gb in the new i5?
     
  20. Alonzo84 macrumors 6502a

    Alonzo84

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #20
    Can anyone confirm whether or not the previous gen quad core i5's support turbo boost and hyper threading? All of my search results fail to specify this.
     
  21. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #21
    they use the same CPU. i5s DO NOT support HT and DO support TB.
     
  22. Alonzo84 macrumors 6502a

    Alonzo84

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #22
    Thanks.
     
  23. dagomike macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    #23
    The i3 iMacs have HT, the quad i5 have TB. Only the dual i5 and quad i7 has both HP and TP.
     
  24. Will : Hi ! macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    #24
    The iMac was redesigned a bit in October 2009 (all aluminum instead of black plastic back, glass now reaches the edges of the computer - no thin alu band on thew top/left/right sides, improved speakers, 16:9 displays instead of 16:10). The 27" model was introduced in Oct. '09 too; yours must be a 24".

    Fullsize keyboard has a number pad, too.
     

Share This Page