i7 Quad CPU - Excessive heat / voltage thread

Discussion in 'iMac' started by handheldgames, Nov 19, 2009.

  1. handheldgames macrumors 6502a

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #1
    Over in the 2009 MacPro world, we have been seeing excessive CPU heat and voltage use with the all i7 CPU's. Playing music through Quicktime or iTunes, most browser based flash content or displaying video from a webcam, like in Photo Booth or iChat, results in a 30c rise in CPU temps.

    To observe the results, we've installed istat menus.

    Are there any i7 Quad owners out there that can install istat menu, check the idle temp and see if it climbs 20(c)-30(c) when playing music? It takes about 5-9 minutes for a mac pro to jump 30(c).

    This issue is not effecting any non i7 mac. In addition to the heat, we are experiencing increased fan noise to compensate for the heat.
     
  2. jonwd7 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    #2
    This has been covered in many threads... Search in the thread started by "Carressa"

    Edit: Here it is... I'm sure I've seen it discussed in others.

    And just so you know, the i7 architecture in the i7 iMac is not the i7 architecture in the Mac Pro, so the i5 results are sufficient since they are identical chips. (The i7 is just .133GHz faster in Turbo and non-Turbo)
     
  3. Jiten macrumors 6502a

    Jiten

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    #3
    I believe that the Mac Pro has quite a different processor then the quad core iMacs. :)

    The current i5/i7 owners seem to be pleased with the heat management of the iMacs.
     
  4. 53x12 macrumors 68000

    53x12

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    #4
    +1 what he said. This has been covered many times and this issue does not seem to affect the i7 iMac. Come on over, the grass is greener on this side of the fence. :D
     
  5. jonwd7 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    #5
    Of course, I forgot to mention i7 having HT and the i5 not having HT. There's a very slim chance that HT is causing the power management bug, I guess, but I really doubt that's the case.

    In any case, Gainestown != Lynnfield
     
  6. handheldgames thread starter macrumors 6502a

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #6
    i5 and i7 are different architecture. Don't think it's a motherboard issue. Thats why I was askin for owners with the i7.

    iMac could be fun, I just enjoy the benefits of the pro.
     
  7. jonwd7 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    #7
    No, they're not, as I've explained in my posts. iMac i7 = Lynnfield. iMac i5 = Lynnfield, therefore iMac i7 = iMac i5. Also, Mac Pro Xeon = Mac Pro Gainestown. The "original" i7 = Bloomfield, and therefore there actually is no Mac Pro with an i7, since Bloomfield != Gainestown.

    Thus the iMac is actually the first Mac to have the i7/i5 line, so I think it's pretty safe to say they don't have some random bug the Gainestown/Xeon chips do on the Mac Pro, despite the fact that there are already several reports of no issue which you can search for without creating a new thread.
     

Share This Page