iBook G4, 933MHz, 640 MB of RAM. Leopard or Tiger

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by 128keaton, Mar 16, 2014.

  1. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #1
    While I love Tiger, I've always preferred Leopard, just due to fond memories of my childhood, customization options, the "improved" Finder, and the darker colors. Out of all of this, I don't want to trade performance. Does anyone have any suggestions? I shouldn't have to use LA or TDM to install, since it is natively supported. I still want to have it usable. Should I install Leopard or not?
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    The 640MB of ram could hinder performance a tiny bit, but it'd be usable. May not overly good at multitasking.
     
  3. 128keaton thread starter macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #3
    Yeah, but since its $23 for more RAM, I might get a gig in there.
     
  4. gavinstubbs09 macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
    #4
    I'm for Leopard, just disable all the eye-candy and things like Dashboard/Spotlight and you should be good to go!
     
  5. 128keaton thread starter macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #5

    Okay, can I have a tutorial?
     
  6. gavinstubbs09 macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
    #6
  7. 128keaton thread starter macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #7
  8. jrsx macrumors 65816

    jrsx

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Location:
    Tacoma, Washington
    #8
    It totally agree with you. Download eyoungren's Secrets prefpane, and disable tons of stuff like what you mentioned, and it'll fly! Just maybe not as well as Tiger, but Leopard's where it's at if you can do it! I'm not saying Tiger's a bad OS, but if you can run Leopard, do it!

     
  9. tom vilsack macrumors 68000

    tom vilsack

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Location:
    ladner cdn
    #9
    Ive always done this to disable spotlight...any thoughts?

    cd /etc
    sudo nano hostconfig
    SPOTLIGHT=-NO-
    ctrl-x
    y
    enter

    Then to get rid of the existing index, run these two commands
    sudo mdutil -i off /
    sudo mdutil -E /

    reboot computer

    remove spotlight icon

    1. As an administrator, navigate to /System/Library/CoreServices, and delete Search.bundle. If you think might want to re-enable it later, just move it somewhere else or rename it.
    2. Open up the Activity Monitor and force quit SystemUIServer. When it reopens, your menu bar will be Spotlight free.
     
  10. eyoungren, Mar 16, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2014

    eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #10
    Just one thought. I discovered at a certain point that it's not necessary to use Terminal to call nano or pico or whatever. You can do this in Text Edit.

    To get to the file, I usually just open a new window then press CMD+SHIFT+G and enter /etc. That takes you right to the etc folder. Find the file. Grab it and drop it on TextEdit or do a contextual menu Open With…

    Edit, Save. Done. No having to use Terminal for this. If I get any permissions sqawking by the OS then I just save to the desktop, close and then drop the file back in to the /etc folder and authenticate. Again, done.
     
  11. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #11
    This disables it on Tiger. It's a bit different for Leopard.
     
  12. tom vilsack macrumors 68000

    tom vilsack

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Location:
    ladner cdn
    #12
    So Intell for leopard I should do this?

    sudo launchctl unload -w /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.metadata.mds.plist
     
  13. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #13
    Yes, that is part of the procedure to disable it on Leopard. The other is to remove the menu item.
     
  14. 128keaton thread starter macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #14
    Pulled the Leopard trigger, seems to work fine. I remember using Leopard on a DVI PowerBook (512 MB of RAM, 667MHz, totally unsupported :p). It definitely needs some RAM though, so with more money coming in this week, I should get some RAM.
     
  15. 128keaton thread starter macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #15
    And Webkit greatly (GREATLY) improves the browsing experience!
     
  16. jrsx macrumors 65816

    jrsx

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Location:
    Tacoma, Washington
    #16
    Agreed!
     
  17. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #17
    <SIGH!> :(

    TenFourFox guys, TenFourFox!

    Leopard Schmebkit my eye! :D

    ----------

    ^^^See above!
     
  18. 128keaton thread starter macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #18
    TenFourFox is laggy, and I don't like the UI. So yeah. Not hating, just personal.
     
  19. jrsx macrumors 65816

    jrsx

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Location:
    Tacoma, Washington
    #19
    I actually do like the UI, you can add FireFox themes to it and everything, but its gotten pretty slow on my G4, so I've started using Webkit. At first TFF was fast, but Webkit now seems much faster. :)
     
  20. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #20
    Ahhh, but this is where the advantage is to T4Fx. Just like regular Firefox you can go to about:config and edit your settings. Anything that applies to speeding up Firefox applies here. And there are oodles of about:config options out there to tweak Firefox.

    Initialpaintdelay, pipelining, maxserverrequests, etc, etc.

    You can't really do that with Safari or Webkit. It is what it is.

    However, that all said, I get personal preference. We all like our own thing.

    ----------

    Try tweaking settings in about:config
     
  21. jrsx macrumors 65816

    jrsx

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Location:
    Tacoma, Washington
    #21
    ...And you like the wrong thing! Just kidding. :)
    I'll have to try to speed up TFF in about:config.
     
  22. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #22
    LOL! If you have questions, ask. I've got my config tweaked to within a micron of it's life.
     
  23. 128keaton thread starter macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #23
    Well, back to TFF. Would you provide assistance for about:config. At this point, I didn't know you could apply themes and make it faster, so I'd definitely like to give it another go.
     
  24. jrsx macrumors 65816

    jrsx

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Location:
    Tacoma, Washington
    #24
    The thing is, there's really not hundreds of themes like in Chrome, and not all of them are compatible with TFF. But there are several themes that are, and look cool as well. :cool:
     
  25. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #25
    Take a look here. :)

    As to "themes," there are lots. And some while saying not compatible can forcibly installed. For instance, my theme is FTDeepDark. The dev only makes it for Windows or UNIX/Linux. But I force-installed the UNIX/Linux one and it works just fine.

    ----------

    Firefox had themes well before Chrome ever got on the scene. Any FF theme is compatible with T4Fx. See above about my comment on themes.

    You can find all this stuff at addons.mozilla.org. Major resource there.

    ----------

    I'll get a breakdown of what my config file reads when I get home later in order to show some more of the optimizations.

    A few addons work wonders too. AdBlockEdge, NoScript, RequestPolicy, etc. All of those can control the crap coming at your browser that bogs things down.

    I'll get back to you guys. For now, that link I posted is a pretty good start.
     

Share This Page