If you Buy a 3G Ipad

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Scarpad, Feb 26, 2010.

  1. Scarpad macrumors 68000

    Scarpad

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Location:
    Ma
    #1
    Can you use it without getting a Monthly Sub, on wifi,and hookit to 3g sometime in the future (Likewhen my Cell contract is up in a year or so.)
     
  2. GeekGirl* macrumors 65816

    GeekGirl*

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    #2
    Yes you can.
     
  3. SchneiderMan macrumors G3

    SchneiderMan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Location:
    Apple state
    #3
    Yes basically you have a 3G feature that you can get an optional no contract cancel anytime 3G data plan - from At&T only.
     
  4. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #4
    Yes, if you want to use the 3G functionality you will simply purchase a SIM, activate it on the iPad itself and away you go.

    Until that time comes you can use it on WiFi just fine and also if you decide to no longer use the 3G in the future.

    It's far more flexible than the US model of iPhone sales though in the US you are still limited to the one carrier.
     
  5. Jaro65 macrumors 68040

    Jaro65

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #5
    That's exactly how I'll be using it. I'll just put it on 3G when traveling.
     
  6. superstrikertwo macrumors 65816

    superstrikertwo

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #6
    Same here I'll be getting the 3G but only enabling it when I know I won't have computer access for a while.
     
  7. PCClone macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    #7
    Can you not pay for the months you don't need it?
     
  8. WytRaven macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Location:
    Orbiting Mercury
    #8
    The two points everyone needs to understand:

    1. Unlocked
    2. Pre-paid
     
  9. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #9
    It's a non contracted service, which means you can turn it on/off the months you need it or choose the package you need for x-month.
     
  10. cjthebest macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    #10
    I wonder if there is a cancelation fee or a reconnection fee? I could picture AT&T doing that.
     
  11. GeekGirl* macrumors 65816

    GeekGirl*

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    #11
    SHHHHH dont give them any ideas , no it pay as you go pay for 3 months you get three months, it easy.
     
  12. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #12
    Probably not since it's not really a cancelation but a temporary termination of service. It would likely run to the end of your "month" (30 days from start) and not be refundable or no rollover days useable on the next activation. There would almost certainly be no activation fee since AT&T wants you to restart service ASAP.
     
  13. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #13
    My guess is that there will be a regular monthly fee, but if you purchase a longer timeframe, such as a year, there cost per month would be less. And if you sign up for 2 years, the discount would be more.

    This would encourage folks to sign up for a year or two at a time instead of using the monthly rate.
     
  14. melman101 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #14
    I hope not.

    I hope it's

    $14.99 + taxes for 250mb

    and

    $29.99 + taxes for unlimited

    I hope there is not like a $10 dollar activation. That would be bogus. I guess we will see.
     
  15. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #15
    Hopefully there will be no reoccurring activation fee. There might be an initial one to start with.

    Based on your prices above, then maybe annual fees of:

    - $120 per year for 250MB

    - $300 per year for unlimited.
     
  16. melman101 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #16
    Yeah, I'm thinking maybe an initial activation fee.

    But then the regular $14.99 for 250 and $29.99 for unlimited + taxes.

    What i hope is that if you run out of the $14.99 for the month, you can upgrade to the unlimited for just $15 bucks more. I hope they don't charge you the full prices again.
     
  17. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #17
    If I understand what you are saying, I don't believe that they will go that route.

    Rather they will want the funds up front to provide a discount.

    Three month, 6 month, annual and bi-annual plans come to mind.

    But you never know.
     
  18. Alectric macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    #18
    Activation fees are bogus! Charging an activation fee for a prepay service, when we should be able to tether are already existing 3g service from our iPhone (Verizon customers can do it) is bogus.:(
     
  19. melman101 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #19
    No, I'm saying, we know the base prices are

    $14.99 for 250mb
    $29.99 for unlimited

    per month. That's no discount, that's what they said in the keynote. And it's pre-paid. So I get my 3G iPad. I fire it up, and I pay $14.99 on April 1st (let's just say). Now, I'm good for 30 days (or May 1st however they do it).

    Now, what' I'm saying is let's say I run out of 250mb on April 10th. I hope I just have to pay $15 bucks to upgrade to unlimited. Cause if I have to pay $14.99 again for 250mb and $29.99 for unlimited on April 10th, that would suck.

    But I guess we will see.
     
  20. Jaro65 macrumors 68040

    Jaro65

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #20
    I would find it surprising if there was any activation fee. Maybe a first time we activate our iPads they could charge us a few bucks (though I hope not), but definitely not on a recurring basis. I'm hoping that the keynote pricing covers the entire cost of connectivity.
     
  21. Gregintosh macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago
    #21
    If only you could buy bandwidth and keep it until you use it all, I'd consider the 3G version over the Wi-Fi. For example, pay $14.95 for 250MB that you can use without time limits until you run out of bandwidth (ideal) or the very least up to 3-6 months.

    That way it would be great for taking on the go and having internet access (a couple days per week), even if you do use it 95% of the time in the house over WiFi.

    I just don't want to have to pay for a full month's access if all I will be using 3G access for during the entire month is a weekend-long trip to surf the net for an hour or two, or a few hours for the GPS capability in the car.

    Maybe another company will come out with such plans though, even if AT&T doesn't.
     
  22. kresh macrumors 6502a

    kresh

    #22
    If any company would do it I would imagine AT&T in the US would be the one, I'm not sure about other countries. They already do rollover minutes, so I guess it is possible but I really don't think they will.

    I commend you on the thought, as it would be extremely nice for the consumer.
     
  23. EssentialParado macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    #23
    That is an incredible price for a year's worth of unlimited 3G access. Even if it's $360, that's still a really great price. Wow.
     
  24. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #24
    Odds are it will just like the existing prepaid data activation; means you need to have a AT&T GoPhone account that you have to charge up in advance. When you need the service you add it for 30 days (which means no refunds and prorated charges if you only need for a day). Of course there is no activation charges, but you still need to pay taxes and all in advance. Should also mean you don't need credit or anything.
     
  25. bozzykid macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #25
    I highly doubt you will need to purchase a sim. I would imagine it will come with the correct sim for the country you bought it in.
     

Share This Page