I'm A Pro User, should I still buy a MacPro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by tekboi, Jun 8, 2010.

1. tekboi macrumors 6502a

tekboi

Now, since it's clear that Apple doesn't care about the Pro Market, would it be a wise decision to switch to PC. I mean, I don't want to drop over $3,000 on a machine that is 1 1/2 out of date. And I don't to put money into a product line that apple might end up being canceled by apple pretty soon.

Would it be wise to just buy a used MP from ebay or something or just forget my mac plans and get a PC workstation?

2. strausd macrumors 68030

Intel isn't supposed to start their mass distribution of the hexa cores til later this month, if I were you and you could wait til the end of the month, I'd do so. But if you need it, then go for it. You could always check Apple's refurb site if you're looking for a cheaper one.

3. Orange™ macrumors 6502

You know what, go to PC, you'll like it there more.

Bye

4. Ravich macrumors 6502a

If Apple were really planning on dropping the Mac Pro line, we would see the iMac become a bit more accommodating to pro oriented users.

That being said, if you dont feel like you need a mac, then dont waste money on one.

5. hexagonheat macrumors member

Just get a workstation. That's what I did. I'm fed up with Apple's limited hardware configurations and outrageous pricing/lag-time for hardware. I like OS X better than the alternatives but it's not worth the price when you think of it. Windows 7 is leaps and bounds further than XP and Vista were in terms of usability, stability, and security. I installed Windows 7 and virtualize Ubuntu where I will do all my online stuff and keep my sensitive data for even more security.