I'm updating Spotify for PPC, heres where I'm at

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by WalnutSpice, Sep 28, 2016.

  1. amagichnich macrumors regular

    amagichnich

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Location:
    Cottbus, Germany
    #26
    Picture 3.png
    Am I the only one? Does someone know of a way to disable those messages?
     
  2. AmazingHenry macrumors 65816

    AmazingHenry

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Central Michigan
    #27
    Yeah, I get that too. Honestly, I'm just happy Spotify is still working and a little error message doesn't bother me.

    However, I assume you've checked the preferences to see if there's a way to disable Spotify social?
     
  3. amagichnich macrumors regular

    amagichnich

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Location:
    Cottbus, Germany
    #28
    These messages don't kill me, but they do disturb. But, you are right, I'm damn happy Spotify still works, else my eMac had no more use for me right now :D (i still need a vga-adaptor to make it my DVD machine)

    I checked the settings and there is none. I think it is because I'm logged in with my facebook credentials and they finally shut down the legacy support for social features. Maybe an email-only account would solve the problem
     
  4. AmazingHenry macrumors 65816

    AmazingHenry

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Central Michigan
    #29
    No, I have an email only account and I still get this message.

    Hey, at least we ca stream music still! ;)
     
  5. G5-PowerLifter macrumors member

    G5-PowerLifter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2017
    #30
    And now a reversed Rosetta to run Intel Apps on PowerPC..:rolleyes:
     
  6. amagichnich macrumors regular

    amagichnich

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Location:
    Cottbus, Germany
    #31
    Windows 10 on ARM... They show it's possible :D
     
  7. zappaesque macrumors member

    zappaesque

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2017
    #32
    I find that the PPC version of Spotify works almost as well as the 1st generation iPad app (yes, I still carry one of these around :D). I haven't found a way to bring up any artists that I'm following, but my playlists and starred songs sync just fine between all three of my machines (iPad 1, 12 inch Powerbook G4, and Mac Pro 2nd generation). The PPC version gives me an occasional playlist error, but eventually they all sync.
     
  8. gavinstubbs09 macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
    #33
    My playlists still work fine and that's all I use Spotify for. I got this email yesterday. Only had 8 kudos or whatever we need 50 (go figure).

    [​IMG]
     
  9. doggoli macrumors newbie

    doggoli

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Location:
    Serbia
    #34
    Im guessing this project is dead now?
     
  10. AmazingHenry macrumors 65816

    AmazingHenry

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Central Michigan
    #35
    He said he couldn't get any further with it. You can PM him for the current version though. Despite how bad he makes it sound with all the bugs, it's really really nice! :)
     
  11. amagichnich macrumors regular

    amagichnich

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Location:
    Cottbus, Germany
    #36
    Why not publish it here? Then we all could try our luck with it
     
  12. AmazingHenry macrumors 65816

    AmazingHenry

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Central Michigan
    #37
    I agree. @WalnutSpice could you do this?
     
  13. WalnutSpice thread starter Suspended

    WalnutSpice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Location:
    Canton, Oh
    #38
    Yeah I just didn't think it was allowed because it's kinda distributing software. There is nothing else I could do with this, I figured someone smarter than me could take it over. I'll fire up the G5 tomorrow and grab it and find the version I pulled the resources from. There was only one or two specific versions were the UI resources could be swapped into the old PPC version.
    -Edit
    I will however, try faking the version numbers with the latest Mac version numbers to see if it makes the "this won't be supported soon" message to go away, but the new Social error probably won't.
     
  14. AmazingHenry macrumors 65816

    AmazingHenry

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Central Michigan
    #39
    No need, I can send you the copy you sent me. Then you can edit the link into post #1.
     
  15. WalnutSpice thread starter Suspended

    WalnutSpice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Location:
    Canton, Oh
  16. WalnutSpice thread starter Suspended

    WalnutSpice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Location:
    Canton, Oh
    #41
    Tip for opening, click "Okay" on the first error and then just hold enter until it hits the sign in window
     

Share This Page