iMac 27" Late 2015 Ram Upgrade

Discussion in 'iMac' started by dime4dice, Feb 24, 2016.

  1. dime4dice macrumors newbie

    dime4dice

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    #1
    just got my iMac 2 days ago. This computer is very fast. However, I would like to increase that lol. My model only came with 8gb Ram, I would like to increase it. Which site provides the best purchase of ram. Should I go with corsair or crucial. Sorry I'm a newb to this.
     
  2. Ransz macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    #4
    Can't remember, does the imac 5k support ddr4 or still 3?
     
  3. theNatest macrumors member

    theNatest

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Location:
    Twin Cities
    #5
  4. briloronmacrumo macrumors 6502

    briloronmacrumo

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    The MacRumors discussion on 2133 MHz Ram might help too: http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/2133mhz-ram-test-results.1929801/
    --- Post Merged, Feb 27, 2016 ---
    Does anyone know if Kingston offers the Hyper X 2133 MHz in a 16GB size ( thus allowing 4 x 16GB = 64GB in the latest iMac )?
    --- Post Merged, Feb 27, 2016 ---
    DDR3
     
  5. mmomega macrumors demi-god

    mmomega

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #7
    From what I saw on Kingstons website, atm they only offer up to 8GB modules for 32GB is the max for HyperX Impact in our iMacs.
    Screen Shot 2016-02-28 at 1.53.30 PM.png
     
  6. dubmick macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    #8
    do you still need to pair the memory?

    I have 2 x 4gb, was thinking of getting 1 x 8gb to use in one of the other slots.
     
  7. boomvader macrumors newbie

    boomvader

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #9
    Just ordered a 64GB kit from OWC. About 30 minutes or so after my purchase, a rep from OWC personally called me to make sure I had ordered the kit for the correct iMac. Great service! Looking forward to receiving the new IMac and the memory upgrade!
     
  8. aidanpendragon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #10
    Yeah, do you need to pair the memory?
     
  9. Ludatyk macrumors 65816

    Ludatyk

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Location:
    Texas
    #11
  10. imacken macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #12
  11. Ludatyk macrumors 65816

    Ludatyk

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Location:
    Texas
    #13
    Well.. Comparing ddr3l and ddr3 its about the voltage.. Whereas ddr3l is more flexible than ddr3, but I already ordered the ddr3 to mix with Apple's and if it don't work.. I'll return it.
     
  12. imacken macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #14
    We'll see. It might work, but I'm sure it's DDR3L SODIMM you need.
    If you go to the Crucial site and put in your iMac details, you'll see it comes up with the DDR3L type spec I mentioned.
    Fingers crossed!
     
  13. Ludatyk macrumors 65816

    Ludatyk

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Location:
    Texas
    #15
    Thanks! I canceled the order.. gonna go with DDR3L instead..

    Scratch that... Unable to cancel. Looks like I'll get a chance to see if it works :)
     
  14. Ludatyk macrumors 65816

    Ludatyk

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Location:
    Texas
    #16
    [​IMG]

    So far so good.. We shall see how it goes going forward.
     
  15. imacken macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #17
    I think it should be ok. AFAICS, the main difference is the lower voltage of the L ram, which therefore gives off less heat than the 'normal' DDR3.
     
  16. AppleHater macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    #18
    I was set to get Crucial memory which has been out of stock since iMac 27 launch back in late 2015. Checking out the Crucial website, I'm no longer sure for it. Kingston sounds good, but since it's different speed, I need to replace 8GB that came with my iMac. Never used OWC before...
     

Share This Page