iMac as opposed to MacBook

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by NewEyesOpen, Apr 24, 2009.

1. NewEyesOpen macrumors regular

I'm a college student who wants to get into music recording and switch over as a Mac user completely. Right now I'm running a 2005 Dell inspiron e1505 laptop, which does just fine, but Windows Vista is becoming too much to deal with.

I don't take my laptop to classes and go home fairly often (home is only 2 hours away from school). I'm not a huge fan of desktops, but for what I want do, I think it could be more bang for my buck.

So, therefore, I'm stuck between the portability of the macbook and the advantages, those i can't name because I'm not sure, of the iMac.

Can you guys give me some insight on the pros and cons of both? Prices, the components of both machines size, longevity, portability of iMac from one place to another, etc.

2. Illicit macrumors 6502

I often see music students take their laptops into the recording studio. Do you?
    You've pretty much covered the most important imac vs mb argument.
    a larger, more powerful system vs. portability.

The high-end macbook and the 20" or 24" iMac are similarly priced.

3. NewEyesOpen thread starter macrumors regular

No, I plan doing my own recording at home and in my dorm room.

4. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

Scarlet Fever

The iMac;
    • is cheaper
    • has a bigger display
    • is more powerful
    • has a larger internal HDD
    • has more USB ports (if you need them)

but you lose portability. The iMac is somewhat portable, in that it doesn't take you too long to turn it off, unplug all your stuff, put it in the car, and do the opposite when you get to your destination, but it is a pain, and it is much quicker to do the same for a macbook.

The iMac will possibly last you longer, as it is more powerful, you won't move it as much as the macbook, and it has less moving parts, but I've seen desktops die quicker than notebooks in the past.