iMac as primarily Win7 machine

Discussion in 'iMac' started by astrocramp, Jan 21, 2012.

1. astrocramp macrumors member

Anybody here using an iMac primarily as a Windows 7 machine? If so any issues that are annoyances/quirks that I should consider if looking at an iMac over another similar all-in-one from Dell/HP/Lenovo?

I have a MBA and had a MBP, but honestly Windows 7 for my purposes is a superior OS (I just can't get over the file menu anchored to the top especially on a multi-monitor rig, and I hate the cluttered look and functionality of the dock). However, I do love the hardware of the iMac - the IPS panel, Core i7, and ability to jam 2x SSD's in the hard drive slot with a bit of sweat (I'm not sure that Dell or the others have SATA ports available for that). The downside is lack of USB3 and blue-ray.

tips welcome!

2. wassal43 macrumors member

Actually we are paying for our expensive Mac (compared with windows price) to enjoy their fascinating system i suggest to buy Dell or Sony All in one if you want windows and i hope you good luck with hangs and death screen

3. dh2005 macrumors 6502a

Oh, do shut up...

... in answer to your question, OP: it's rather an expensive way of going about it, but if you have the money and the iMac meets your power/aesthetic requirements, go for it. I bought my previous iMac for the dual purpose of playing games through Steam in Windows 7 and running productivity software in OS X, and found it to be very capable.

4. astrocramp thread starter macrumors member

Well, I was hoping for a more intelligent response than that, but OK. I did buy a MBA and a MBP, used OSX for a long time. I know it's a good OS, so don't get your panties in a bunch.

5. parapup macrumors 65816

parapup

iMac is a great Windows 7 machine if you don't insist on playing latest games at highest FPS. Just learn to ignore the below little annoyances -