Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Coop-48

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 19, 2011
Good afternoon. I'm new to the "Mac World" and I wanted some feedback about my iMac purchase to-be.

I'm planning on getting an iMac next month. I plan on doing a lot of photo editing via photoshop and some iOs programming. The former is my main concern as it will require a lot of power/memory/space to run efficiently. I'm planning on picking up the high-end model w/ the following specs:

27-inch: 3.1GHz
3.1GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i5 - (I'm going w/ the 3.4GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7 upgrade)
2560 x 1440 resolution
4GB (two 2GB) memory - (I'm going w/ the 8GB RAM upgrade. I want 16 GB but I hear it's cheaper to upgrade the memory myself. I'll decide later if I need it.
1TB hard drive - (I have a 1TB External HD as well. I figure HD space won't be an issue)
AMD Radeon HD 6970M with 1GB

I really want the 1TB Serial ATA Drive + 256GB Solid State Drive but that $500+ price increase is killing me.

There's also a slim chance that I'll be doing some video and/or music editing later down the road, so I'm trying to take that into consideration as well.

Any thoughts/suggestions on the above configuration? Thanks.

philipma1957

macrumors 603
Apr 13, 2010
Howell, New Jersey
Good afternoon. I'm new to the "Mac World" and I wanted some feedback about my iMac purchase to-be.

I'm planning on getting an iMac next month. I plan on doing a lot of photo editing via photoshop and some iOs programming. The former is my main concern as it will require a lot of power/memory/space to run efficiently. I'm planning on picking up the high-end model w/ the following specs:

27-inch: 3.1GHz
3.1GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i5 - (I'm going w/ the 3.4GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7 upgrade)
2560 x 1440 resolution