Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Dezi20

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 19, 2017
Nottingham
Hi I've never owned a iMac before and I'm looking forward to be buying one in the next week or so, I'm a keen amatuer photographer and so will be using iMac for Lightroom and Photoshop but not sure to go with i5 or the i7 model with 2tb fusion drive, 8gb ram (which I'll upgrade myself later). Would I benefit from upgrading to the i7?
Thanks

Wuiffi

macrumors 6502a
Oct 6, 2011
of course you would benefit from the i7.
The question is, is it enough to justify the price difference. For me it's not

Personally I'd go for a fast internal SSD and put the image files on a external drive once you are finished editing

Reactions: Glideslope

Chancha

macrumors 68020
Mar 19, 2014
i7 provides significant hyper threading performance, and in Lightroom terms it means faster RAW processing (preview generation), batch export, and general responsiveness during intense adjustments. For the relatively small price difference the performance gain is worth it IMO.

There is however another concern, some early owners of the i7 models have expressed noise level of the model being particularly more noticeable. If noise is a detrimental factor for your environment then you need to think twice, perhaps see out more reviews (which I am doing now).

Dezi20

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 19, 2017
Nottingham
Thanks chancha
I've heard about the noise issues but as I've never owned an imac before I have nothing to compare it to, however I have read that some people we're considering sending theirs back so it must annoying

i7 provides significant hyper threading performance, and in Lightroom terms it means faster RAW processing (preview generation), batch export, and general responsiveness during intense adjustments. For the relatively small price difference the performance gain is worth it IMO.