iMac Freezing Fix ETA?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by wakerider017, Oct 27, 2007.

  1. wakerider017 macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #1
    Hey guys,

    Just installed Leopard on my new 24" SiO2 iMac. Seems like it is crashing even more now...

    What's the story with the Update?

    Apple working on a fix?

    When can we expect to see it?
     
  2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #2
    When Apple finally acknowledged that it was a problem and promised a fix (Oct 4th) they said "by the end of the month". So Oct 31st I guess. Some are saying Monday. I shall not be holding my breath.
     
  3. Richard.John macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Location:
    Yurigaoka, Japan
    #3
    My machine is even worse now after installing Leopard. I had a few lock ups in Tiger after I downloaded the iMac 1.1 patch but Leopard freezes up randomly now and the screen goes black at times though the machine is still on so I have to power down. The mouse won't work upon wake up either. Hmmm
     
  4. wakerider017 thread starter macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #4
    Cool!

    At least they have a timeframe and they are acknowledging the problem!

    I am glad this is a software issue and not hardware!

    Same exact symptoms as you!

    Time Machine and PhotoBooth Kill my Mac!

    Leopard has froze on my about 6-7 times today! OUCH!
     
  5. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #5
    I hate to burst your bubble but until anything is proven otherwise I am keeping a very skeptical attitude towards this. It took Apple nearly two months to acknowledge that it was an issue and I am not sure that the origin of the problem has yet to be determined fully. With enough pressure, however, I am sure Apple will fix it.
     
  6. wakerider017 thread starter macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #6
    Well, once Apple admits that there is an issue, they will find a way to fix it...


    Took them a while to acknowledge the negative screen iPod Touches. But they made right by it.
     
  7. snickelfritz macrumors 65816

    snickelfritz

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Tucson AZ
    #7
    This problem is not inherent to the new iMac design, otherwise demos at the Apple Stores would also have this problem.
    Return defective products for a replacement.
     
  8. wakerider017 thread starter macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #8
    If there is no update by the 31st of this month... It is going back.
     
  9. Spankey macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #9
    It is a problem with the ATI drivers and it does happen at Apple stores. I have walked into the store more than once to see an iMac frozen.
     
  10. rotlex macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    PA
    #10
    I just came from my local Apple store, with the intent of buying a new one today. I didn't. Why? I literally walked up to a new 24" with Aperture installed, fired it up, Aperture that is, and it froze within 2 minutes of use. The "genius" promptly shut it down and explained that people play around with these a lot, and that's usually the issue.

    It restarted. And lo and behold, within maybe 5 minutes of browsing around, and once again, it froze solid. This time when launching iMovie. The "genius" explained that they have been having problems with this one, and that the other 10-15 in store are fine. Also proceeded to tell me they have never heard of a "Freezing" issue with the iMacs at all. :rolleyes:

    This really disturbed me. I came home empty handed, and frankly, it's pissing me off as I NEED a new machine, and I WANT a new iMac. However, there is NO WAY I'm dropping over 2K for something with this many issues.
     
  11. wakerider017 thread starter macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #11

    Keep an eye out for a fix this week. I am hoping!
     
  12. snickelfritz macrumors 65816

    snickelfritz

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Tucson AZ
    #12
    Why doesn't this happen with ALL iMacs?
    The drivers are the same, the OS is the same, and the hardware is the same.

    I can accept that the software and drivers are probably the same on all iMacs, but the hardware is a big question mark, considering that apparently, some iMacs have WD HDD, while others have Seagate HDD.
    What else is different?
    Is the memory on the videocards from the the same supplier?
    Is the ROM from the same supplier?
    Are the ATi chipsets and Firmware all the same revision?
    Here's the specs from mine, which works perfectly AFAIK:

    WDC WD3200AAJS-40RYA0:

    Capacity: 298.09 GB
    Model: WDC WD3200AAJS-40RYA0
    Revision: 12.01B03
    Serial Number: WD-WCAPZ2321207
    Native Command Queuing: Yes
    Queue Depth: 32
    Removable Media: No
    Detachable Drive: No
    BSD Name: disk0
    OS9 Drivers: No
    S.M.A.R.T. status: Verified

    ATI Radeon HD 2600 Pro:

    Chipset Model: ATI,RadeonHD2600
    Type: Display
    Bus: PCIe
    PCIe Lane Width: x16
    VRAM (Total): 256 MB
    Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
    Device ID: 0x9583
    Revision ID: 0x0000
    ROM Revision: 113-B2250F-212
    EFI Driver Version: 01.00.212
     
  13. Spankey macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #13
    It does with all Aluminum iMacs, to varying degrees. Depending on how much people stress the video card. Things have improved greatly with Leopard. I'm inclined to believe the last set of drivers were tuned towards Leopard as the majority of my problems have disappeared.

    I wouldn't walk away from the iMac. It works fine and the freezing doesn't really happen when not playing a game. It did happen once when in screen saver mode, but again, the screen saver was taxing the card. Although the camera did freeze me up after installing Leopard, nothing has crashed. There are some problems with images sticking on the screen. Again, a driver issue.

    I'm sure there will be a fix coming sooner than later. The card worked fine before the last driver update so we know there is no hardware updates. Unfortunately driver issues happen in the computer world.
     
  14. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #14
    Not true for me. It can freeze at any time. I thought it was a video driver overheating issue at first because the first freezes were during games but now it can freeze 10 seconds after a cold boot.
     
  15. wakerider017 thread starter macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #15
    Same here.

    I just made a 5 minute video showing artifacts on the screen and the computer freezing twice.

    I will upload it to youtube later today.

    I do think it is an issue with the drivers though (not the hardware), as the problem is said to be non-existent in Windows.


    Isn't that funny? Windows running better on a Mac than Leopard or Tiger?
     
  16. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #16
    I have had a few problems in windows. The iMac that freezes in OSX freezes in Gary's Mod in Windows with a black screen. The only difference is that it brings the machine down hard! :eek:

    Catalyst 7.10 under XP
     
  17. davidjearly macrumors 68020

    davidjearly

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #17
    Interesting, here is mine.

    Chipset Model: ATI,RadeonHD2600
    Type: Display
    Bus: PCIe
    PCIe Lane Width: x16
    VRAM (Total): 256 MB
    Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
    Device ID: 0x9583
    Revision ID: 0x0000
    ROM Revision: 113-B2250F-207
    EFI Driver Version: 01.00.207


    This is the same machine, 20" Alu iMac, 2.4Ghz, ATI Radeon HD2600 Pro.
     
  18. cheeseadiddle macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    #18
    I play AOE III War Chiefs on my 24" Extreme about twice a day and it's never froze. I just about have all of the graphics options maxxed out in the game. I'll look next time I have it open to see which ones aren't running, but damned near all of them are. I wish I had PS for Mac so I could be doing stuff with that. All I have is my Windows version.

    I wonder if it is an ATI problem, could it be that possibly they used some chips on their card from different suppliers, and maybe that's the issue? Some cards have the problematic chip and some don't?
     
  19. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
    #19
    You dont here of many people with the base machine having issues, I wonder if this is limited to the machines with the 2600 and not the 2400xt?
     
  20. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #20
    That seems to be the case. 20" 2.4 or 24" machines appear to be the only ones affected.
     
  21. snickelfritz macrumors 65816

    snickelfritz

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Tucson AZ
    #21
    It's interesting that your 2600 pro has a different ROM revision than mine.
    Anyone having problems with freezing, please post your ATI specs from System Profiler.
     
  22. Leon Kowalski macrumors 6502a

    Leon Kowalski

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    Gondwanaland Reunification Front HQ
    #22
    Exactly! It can't be purely a software issue; there must be some hardware factors involved. It might be defective hardware (e.g., some bad video cards), or it might be a mismatch between OS-X software and the firmware in some video cards (or some hard drives, or some <whatever>). OR, it could be a combination of both. ...or something completely different (such as temperatures?).

    When Apple figures out the cause(s) of the problem, they might be able to fix it with hardware/firmware updates....

    ...or not,

    LK
     
  23. djc6 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #23
    I always wondered if iMac Software Update 1.0 or 1.1 also updated the firmware on the video card. I got my iMac early (August 15th), version 1.0 wasn't even pre-installed.

    I'm also curious if people who have had their graphics card replaced have a different "Revision ID" or anything else.

    Right now I'm in Leopard and have:

    Chipset Model: ATI,RadeonHD2600
    Type: Display
    Bus: PCIe
    PCIe Lane Width: x16
    VRAM (Total): 256 MB
    Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
    Device ID: 0x9583
    Revision ID: 0x0000
    ROM Revision: 113-B2250F-212
    EFI Driver Version: 01.00.212
     
  24. Bolteh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #24
    My 24" 2.8GHz freezes from time to time.

    Chipsetmodel: ATI,RadeonHD2600
    Type: Beeldscherm
    Bus: PCIe
    Breedte PCIe-baan: x16
    VRAM (totaal): 256 MB
    Fabrikant: ATI (0x1002)
    Apparaatcode: 0x9583
    Revisiecode: 0x0000
    ROM-revisie: 113-B2250F-212
    Versie EFI-besturingsbestand: 01.00.212


    So, I guess this is a 212.
     
  25. vansouza macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #25
    same here

    Same video data for me and my ALiMac 2.8. No freezing since Leopard, none. I do use SMS to keep my fan speeds up.
     

Share This Page