iMac Graphics Problem

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Love, Dec 30, 2007.

  1. Love macrumors 68000

    Love

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Location:
    Just southeast of Northwestshire
    #1
    I have a graphics problem with my first generation iMac Core Duo 17 inch. It seems that in numerous areas throughout the OS, particularly in graphics intensive areas. It's irritating when I go to work on a Final Cut Pro, or when I want to fold, i see nothing but garbled parts of my screen!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. SrWebDeveloper macrumors 68000

    SrWebDeveloper

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA, USA
    #2
    How much RAM do you have total? 2GB suggested for graphics intensive apps.
    What is the graphics card? Is it a NVIDEA 7600,GForce,ATI/RADEON?

    Be sure to disable desktop image swapping if enabled, see if it helps.

    Some of the early iMacs had the RADEON's which should be upgraded, and of course the RAM is helpful as well, you can research that at http://eshop.macsales.com/MyOWC/ (OWC is cheap, ships fast, tested memory and reliable)

    You can adjust frame rates and certain anti-alias settings of certain cards, if we know what you have.

    -jim
     
  3. Love thread starter macrumors 68000

    Love

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Location:
    Just southeast of Northwestshire
    #3
    It's an ATi Radeon X1600. You can't upgrade them in iMacs. I have 1 GB of RAM, so I guess I should have more. I can resolve the issue with Final Cut Pro by opening it, sleeping the computer for a minute or so, and turning on the computer again. More RAM couldn't hurt.
     
  4. SrWebDeveloper macrumors 68000

    SrWebDeveloper

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA, USA
    #4
    I was referring to [SIZE=-1]a 128mb to 256mb upgrade on the 3d card itself which "might" be an option for that early iMac (an informal suggestion sans warranty concerns, I am not sure). And of course 2GB of RAM should make a world of difference for you beyond any other suggestions or costs. If an intel duo core be sure to pair the memory in the DIMMS for interleaving (you get a 7-8% performance boost in applications that support it). Good luck with it.

    -jim
    [/SIZE]
     
  5. AlexisV macrumors 68000

    AlexisV

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #5
    It looks like a physical fault with the GPU to me.
     
  6. JohanCruyff macrumors member

    JohanCruyff

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Italy
    #6
    Folding at home viewer runs that bad on my iMac Aluminium 24" (november 2007). I have no idea if it's working or not (i only see four processes going on).
     
  7. Love thread starter macrumors 68000

    Love

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Location:
    Just southeast of Northwestshire
    #7
    Tis what I thought.
     
  8. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #8
    I had a 20" Core Duo iMac (same X1600) that started getting artifacting almost exactly like that. It got worse and then the system started locking up and eventually I couldn't even boot into OS X.

    It was 6 weeks out of warranty (I passed on AppleCare... never again!) and it turned out to need a logic board replacement. :(
     
  9. psonice macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    #9
    It could be a hardware fault, or it could be software. A complete erase and install would be the best way to see if it's software (or a fresh install on an external disk if you want to keep your current setup).

    Adding more ram won't fix it anyway.
     
  10. SrWebDeveloper macrumors 68000

    SrWebDeveloper

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA, USA
    #10
    Please look closely at the screen snapshots they provided. The interlacing issue only occurs within the program window, not any surrounding elements displayed by OS X directly, i.e. the dock, title area, surrounding graphics and so on.

    The graphics intensive work is attributed to the software itself, which taxes the operating system. If it was a bad chip, I'd expect it happening to all windows, all areas, intermittently at first and worse over time. That's not what the evidence shows, so far. Unless the user can supply snapshots of garbled chrome area, dock, etc. then I will confirm its obviously a chip issue.

    Usually when only a few graphics intensive apps themselves behave badly it means a little more memory is the proper FIRST response. I am not discounting the other causes or remedies here, just... not yet.

    -jim
     
  11. MrT8064 macrumors 6502a

    MrT8064

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    after reading this post i thought i would try folding at home my self, and as surprised to see the exact same problem as you are experiencing...


    this leads me to think its a folding at home software problem,

    my mac is an Alu iMac - 2.4ghz w. 1gb ram
     
  12. JohanCruyff macrumors member

    JohanCruyff

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Italy
    #12
    I uninstalled folding@home from my iMac (exactly same configuration of MrT8064).

    Is there another distributed computing project that runs correctly under Leopard?

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_distributed_computing_projects
     
  13. SrWebDeveloper macrumors 68000

    SrWebDeveloper

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA, USA
    #13
    Now you're all tracking properly. Just bear in mind the original author mentioned it was happening to other software as well, though unnamed.

    The only other thing in common, aside from the named software, is your memory configuration, 1GB. Makes me say, hmmm.

    BTW, regardless of causality, 2GB will make your iMac run considerably more efficient as more apps are opened and/or when 3D graphics with alot of effects and/or fonts with anti-aliasing using larger regions of memory than usual. Just sayin'.

    -jim
     
  14. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #14
    There is a Folding@Home client for Intel Macs, you do not want to use the PPC
    version. Unfortunately the only thing you can check on the SMP version are text files.
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=4650079#post4650079


    Anyway, the problem with the OP seems to be software based. More RAM might help. Or do you have the version with integrated graphics?
     
  15. JohanCruyff macrumors member

    JohanCruyff

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Italy
    #15
    Thanks.
    I'm sure I installed the intel one. I'll buy more RAM in the next weeks, and then I'll install F@H again on my iMac 24" Alu.
     
  16. AlexisV macrumors 68000

    AlexisV

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #16
    A lack of RAM shouldn't cause artifacts such as those. It would cause jerkiness and more instances of the spinning wheel.

    I'd take that iMac in to be looked at. A failing GPU or its associated memory is often characterised by odd squares across the screen. Alternatively, a buggy set of graphics drivers would cause the same effect.
     
  17. JohanCruyff macrumors member

    JohanCruyff

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Italy
    #17
    In my case, the problem used to arise only with Folding@home Viewer.
    Furthermore, if I choosed a couple of options different from "spacefilled", the application crashed. Always.
    I think this could be a software issue.


    P.S. I don't use Final Cut, BTW.
     
  18. Rustman macrumors regular

    Rustman

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #18
    I've got a 24" Alu iMac with 4GB of RAM. Guess what?

    Yep! Folding@home is bawked on my setup too.

    This is the first instance where I've seen corrupted graphics like this on my setup and quite frankly, given that I'm running Leopard with beta software like this, does make me think of software problems (OS and app) before hardware.

    Just my 2¢.
     
  19. Love thread starter macrumors 68000

    Love

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Location:
    Just southeast of Northwestshire
    #19
    K, I think thats just a F@h bug, but it's happening on and off in:

    Final Cut Pro
    Lightroom
    Photoshop
    Aperture
    sometimes even iMovie.

    I'm gonna call AppleCare and see what they have to say for themselves.
     
  20. JohanCruyff macrumors member

    JohanCruyff

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Italy
    #20
    I switched to climateprediction.net.
    Graphics are OK.

    jc
     
  21. Love thread starter macrumors 68000

    Love

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Location:
    Just southeast of Northwestshire
    #21
    OK, this is beginning to worry me. Now the dock is doing this. WTF
     
  22. KJmoon117 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    NC
    #22
    My dock does this weird stacking crap with my stacks after I play EV Nova. So I'm in the same boat as you dude.
     
  23. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #23
    Send it back to Apple if it's still under the warranty or you have AppleCare. If it is a bad GPu or logic board it's only going to get worse.
     
  24. brop52 macrumors 68000

    brop52

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #24
    That's pretty common. Are the icons invisible and the name blocks black? It's an odd bug I hope is fixed in the next update.
     
  25. KJmoon117 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    NC
    #25
    Kind of, the icons are stacks behind each other (folder icons) so when you mouse over them it looks like there is a normal sized folder, medium size, and a large sized folder stacked behind each other. It keeps happening after waking, playing a game, and it goes away after I restart.

    Sorry to go off topic here though but it didn't start happening until I started to heavily play Civ 4/EV Nova.
     

Share This Page