iMac only has 256 SSD, any 1tb external HDD reccomendations?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Swift Sketcher, Dec 14, 2011.

  1. Swift Sketcher macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    #1
    Can anyone recommend some reliable fast 1tb externals? For any of you that only have SSDs installed, what is your preferred choice for external drives?
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
  3. Sandman1969 macrumors 6502a

    Sandman1969

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    #3
  4. Swift Sketcher thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    #4
    Those OWC drives look nice!

    Hmm, I'd never considered the enclosure+HDD route. Is there any benefit in going this route?
     
  5. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
    There is, if you already have a drive, such as you're buying a new internal drive and want to make your current internal drive into an external drive. If you don't have a drive to put in the enclosure, it's usually better to just buy a drive already in an enclosure.
     
  6. LeandrodaFL macrumors 6502a

    LeandrodaFL

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    #6
  7. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #7
    I've had the OWC drives for a few years, and I don't find them noisy at all.
     
  8. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #8
    I would tell you for external read this thread



    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1280118

    the 512gb ssd I built is a great osx drive for an iMac. use the internal as backup.

    it is easy to setup but you kill the warranty on it if you do the mod.



    if your iMac is too old ( 2010 or older) read this thread



    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1180415


    I read your thread over I guess you have the stock ssd inside your machine.


    just get the owc and use it. dead quiet and runs off the fw800 wire
     
  9. ycwee37 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    #9
    i have the exact same one but the FW800 is not working..so i have to use USB in order to get it working..any solutions ?

    thanks in advance
     

Share This Page