iMac os x lion time machine

Discussion in 'iMac' started by igoodso, Jun 12, 2011.

  1. igoodso macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    #1
    Is it best to have the time machine to run from a external hdd

    Or have a iMac with ssd and hdd and use the internal hdd for time machine
     
  2. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #2
    If you don't mind an external hdd.

    If t-bolt boots.


    Then external is better.

    Having two internal drives that can not be accessed make no sense.

    Of course you need to know that T-bolt boots and you need to not mind the way external units look.

    see the attached photos if you don't mind the look of those external or the price they are better if they can boot.


    I found these photos on flicker they are not mine.


    I would have two externals One to boot and one as a tm. the internal hdd would be a clone of the external boot drive. I would not use an internal ssd just stick with the 1tb internal.



    Of course this can not be done today as the external drives are not for sale.


    So I am waiting for this and lion and the back to school sale.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. basher, Jun 12, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2011

    basher macrumors 6502

    basher

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ USA
    #3
    I'm running Time Machine an external Firewire drive. IMO you can never have too many copies of your data in the event of a failure.

    If you have your iMac using the internal HDD for backing up the data on your SD+HDD, what can you recover if the internal HDD drive fails? Answer: nothing

    :apple: Basher
     
  4. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #4
    Tbolt is completely unnecessary for Time Machine and has nothing to do with this post.

    Sure, if you barely have enough data to fill the 256 GB SSD (then you prob dont need a SSD) then you could use the internal HDD as your TM backup.

    Of course, if you have data on both then you can only use an external drive.

    USB 2 is more than sufficient for TM.
     

Share This Page