iMac - Will the next revision affect value for money?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Jimmy Mac, Apr 25, 2010.

1. Jimmy Mac macrumors newbie

Hi there,

I'm a forum newbie and currently looking to purchase an iMac. While they're not exactly peanuts, what I have read suggests they represent decent value for money in Mac terms.

I'm settled on the i7 version, with 8gb RAM and ready to buy, but obviously the buying guide suggests to wait for the next release. I'd probably be happy to do this (provided it's not too long to wait!), but my concern is that Apple might hike up the price.

- Is it best to bag one now while the going's good, or hold fire?
    - Will the pricing change?
    - What is the next revision likely to bring that might offer an improvement?
    - Are the likely changes enough to warrant waiting for?

Given that the i7 and 8gb RAM is a custom option, it removes the benefit of waiting anyway and getting a slightly cheaper model as a sell off I guess...

Thanks in advance for any help,

Jim :apple:

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

As you're getting the i7, just buy now. I doubt Apple changes the pricing, 1999$ for high-end sounds fair. Only thing they can do IMO is to make i7 the high-end 27" and i5 the low-end 27" meaning that you could save a hundred or two.

Next gen ain't gonna bring anything major to high-end anyway

3. gnasher729 macrumors P6

gnasher729

Don't listen to them. According to the buying guide, you shouldn't buy in the first six months because it is a new model and you don't know what faults there will be in new models, and you shouldn't buy after the first six months because the next model is coming soon. :rolleyes: