Imac with Os 8.6 upgrade to 10.5 how do i do it?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Wannabemacman, Jun 14, 2009.

  1. Wannabemacman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    #1
    I really want to upgrade to leopard but i don't know if i can without an intel processor, what can i do?
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    You don't need Intel, but you can't run Leopard on a G3 iMac, anyway.
     
  3. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #3
    Leopard supports PPC, but it requires an 867MHz or faster (edit) G4 CPU. Which model iMac do you have?

    If it's slower, Tiger (10.4) will run fine on it.
     
  4. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    Assuming he has the ONE model that can run 8.6 and has FireWire. :rolleyes:
     
  5. Wannabemacman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    #5
    it dosen't have fire wire but if i wipe the hard drive would it work?
     
  6. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #6
    Nup, 10.4 won't run on it either if there's no FireWire. How much ram does it have? You might be able to put 10.3 on there.
     
  7. iParis macrumors 68040

    iParis

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #7
    No. The highest you can run is 10.3. I have an iMac G3 333MHz with 160MB ram that runs 10.3 just fine.
     

Share This Page