Informal poll re Steam; system specs.

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by rbarris, Mar 9, 2010.

  1. rbarris macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    Irvine CA
    #1
    I'm curious what Mac hardware specs people are expecting to play Valve / Steam games on as they start to arrive.

    If you have a minute, post the specs of the machine you would like to play on?

    Good specs include machine model, CPU speed, RAM size, and GPU type. A weakly written spec is something like "I have an iMac." A well written spec is more like "I have a 21" iMac Core 2 Duo 3GHz, 4GB RAM, OSX 10.6.2, with ATI 4670 GPU".

    Also, if you are running Leopard (10.5.8), maybe take a moment to indicate how strongly you want to stay on 10.5.8 and avoid the upgrade to improved drivers in 10.6.x.
     
  2. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
  3. rbarris thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    Irvine CA
  4. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    Why, what are you going to do with them? Anyway, specs in sig. Has an Ati Radeon 2400 HD.
     
  5. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #5
    I don't know that I'd install Steam on my macbook pro, as i'm planning on buying a Dell for gaming...

    However, I will NEVER upgrade 10.5.8 to 10.6.x unless Apple brings back the old exposé. I run a C2D MBP, 2.16ghz CPU, and a 128mb x1600, which I would expect could run the steam games just fine. and by just fine, I mean it would be some really horrid optimization if Portal 2 doesn't work on it.
     
  6. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #6
    At that rate:

    13" MacBook Pro 2009
    2.53ghz Core 2 Duo
    4gb DDR3
    Nvidia GeForce 9400m

    Plays Doom 3 and Quake 4 at low resolution but high settings just great. As well it plays Call of Duty: Modern Warfare at the highest settings, all in OS X.

    I'd like to get Portal and try UT.
     
  7. NoNameBrand macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    #7
    2006 Mac Pro - 4x2.66 GHz, 6GB RAM, ATI 3870 512MB, 10.6.2
     
  8. CylonGlitch macrumors 68030

    CylonGlitch

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #8
    I'm all queued up and ready to roll on the next gen MacBookPro's as soon as they come out.
     
  9. lionheartednyhc macrumors 65816

    lionheartednyhc

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
  10. klaxamazoo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    #10
    See this Thread. It Old Expose is back in Snow Leopard!


    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=869611&highlight=old+expose
     
  11. Sipheren macrumors regular

    Sipheren

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Aus/Gold Coast
    #11
    If I were going to play games on a Mac it would be the G5 in my sig, but I doubt they will work with it.

    (Even though the PS3 is PPC and OpenGL based)
     
  12. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #12
    2006 Mac Pro, 2.66 GHz, 4 GB RAM, 10.6.2, HD 4890 1 GB GPU (yeah I know, Apple doesn't make those). Currently using an 8800 GT but I should get the Radeon back before April rolls around.
     
  13. gødspeed macrumors regular

    gødspeed

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #13
    MacBook Pro 17", Summer 2009 edition:

    3.06GHz Core 2 Duo, 6MB L2 Cache
    4GB 1066MHz DDR3
    500Gb 7200RPM internal drive
    NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT, 512MB

    I expect all Source games to run fine maxed out. Crysis, GTA IV, and DAO might need to be on medium settings, though, assuming they are all released for Mac Steam as well.
     
  14. StopSign24 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    #14
    I'm running a 13" Macbook Pro
    2.26ghz
    4gb RAM
    320gb 7200rpm drive
    9400m 256mb vram

    I don't like to play games in full screen mode, since I usually do stuff in between levels/matches/deaths and would like to be able to respond to messages on Adium in an easy and timely fashion. I'll probably play my games at 1024x640 resolution (in windowed mode) and I can already max every Source game except for the LFD games using Crossover. Without Crossover I expect even better performance.
     
  15. Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #15
    Specs in my sig. I'm currently playing the Windows version of Steam on this hardware via bootcamp. Take a game like Vampire:The Masquerade Bloodlines. What would it take to get this game running on a Mac? I believe the developer is out of business.
    Thanks!
     
  16. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #16
    iMac 2.66, ATI Radeon HD 2600 Pro 256 MB, 4 GB RAM. 10.6.2.

    Ha, it's funny, when this announcement was made, the first thing I thought was, "Valve is the new Blizzard." And Rob, you've moved from Blizzard to Valve, spreading the Mac love!
     
  17. theLimit macrumors 6502a

    theLimit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Location:
    up tha holler, acrost tha crick
    #17
    Hackintosh
    Core i5 2.93 GHz
    4GB DDR3-1600
    GTX 260 896MB
    OS X 10.6.2

    I'm pretty excited about Steam for Mac. The less reboots, the better.
     
  18. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #18
    With Steam being so well known in the gaming industry, maybe their actions will enlighten the rest of the gaming world and make it understood that porting is NOT a major venture. As well, it may show them that the Mac market wants games to run natively, and we could then see older games being ported, as was Portal.

    Buy, my friends, and it could just happen.

    I'm playing my own copies of Quake 4 and Doom 3 as we speak, and I tell you, it would have been easier if I could have just downloaded a completely non-physical media-printed copy. (Legally*)
     
  19. gregorsamsa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Location:
    (Metamorphosing near) Staffs, 51st State.
    #19
    20" iMac, 2.4GHz
    2GB DDR2 SDRAM
    HD 2600 Pro graphics, 256mb VRAM
    Upgrading to SL 10.6 later this week.
     
  20. Rodus macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #20
    27" iMac i5
    Radeon 4850
    4GB RAM (going up to 8 soon)
     
  21. Bakerman macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Sweden
    #21
    I currently use a MacBook Pro, 2x2.53 GHz, 4GB ram, 9600m graphics card. I expect it to be able to handle most new games at low settings.

    With Starcraft 2 + Portal 2 (and Civilization V, but I'd have to bootcamp for that) coming out this year I will buy a quad core 27" iMac when the next revision of it arrives.
     
  22. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #22
    Hey I remember you rbarris ;).
    My iMac (main gaming machine) is an ATi x1600, 2ghz C2D, 3gb ram. Fresh from late 2006.
    My Macbook is a 9400M, 2ghz C2D, 2gb ram. Fresh from late 2008.
     
  23. zzzainus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    #23
    please post the result when you do. I want to know that HD 2600 pro works with snow or not.
     
  24. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #24
    It will work.
     
  25. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #25
    Mac Pro (2006 Model)
    5GB RAM
    ATI Radeon HD 4870 (512MB)
    20" Apple Cinema Display

    Left 4 Dead 2 runs amazingly in Windows, so I expect it will run just as good in Mac OS X.
     

Share This Page