Inquiry about 2TB drives and testing for bad sectors etc

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by ThirteenXIII, Oct 24, 2009.

  1. ThirteenXIII macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    #1
    Im looking at picking up a 2TB westerndigital green drive and wanted to know if there was a utility at testing the drives sectors prior to using it to put alot of my files on.
    I dont have access to Windows currently as i know there are a few apps for that.
    Just curious since i read quite few that had received them with bad sectors or eventually failed rather quickly

    any tips or ideas?


    thanks
     
  2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #2
    I've heard that Drive Genius is a handy app for the purpose. I used it to scan my Seagate 1.5 TB drive with no issues reported. I'm not sure if that's the result of a good drive or a bad app, but it does give me some peace of mind anyway.
     
  3. ThirteenXIII thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
  4. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #4
    If you have AppleCare, you have TechTools, which can do a sector scan. It's available for download or (if I remember correctly) comes on the disc included with the AppleCare box.

    (Of course, you can buy the full Pro version separately, too.)
     
  5. ThirteenXIII thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    #5
    the last applecare i got was back in 2007...will that have any difference on version/abilities?
     
  6. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #6
    You can download the latest (v3.1.3) from Apple.
     
  7. ThirteenXIII thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    #7
    Alright I got the latest Tech Tool Deluxe....but since i only have a MacBookPro to run tests on and i followed the steps outlined by Apple to boot from the DVD.

    However it wouldnt read my external drive with the 2TB drive in it either via usb or firewire800.


    Maybe I overlooked something and am suppose to run it under the OS and install it there?


    thanks!
     

Share This Page