Installed SSD, boot time only slightly faster

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by MaxPower49, Aug 18, 2012.

  1. MaxPower49 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    #1
    I have a 13" mid 2012 macbook pro. I just installed a Samsung 830 128gb SSD in the optical bay and used CCC to clone the OS drive over. Ran into a couple of issues, but finally got it working. Changed the boot disk to the SSD. Everything seems to be working fine, but boot up time didn't improve much over the HDD (from 53 secs down to 43 or so). Does that sound right? What should the boot time be? Programs do seem to launch faster though. The original HDD is still in there... could that be interfering with anything? I have a 1TB drive I'm going to replace it with once I make sure the SSD is ok.

    Is there anything else I need to do? I thought about updating the SSD firmware, but now I see that you can't update the Samsung drives on OSX. Thoughts?

    Thanks.
     
  2. gentlefury macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
  3. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #3
    Choose disk and make sure it is highlighted in Startup Disk System Preference. My 2012 cMBP 2.6GHz with 6G OWC boots in under 15 secs. Maybe even less. I blame the logic board for the stall:)
     
  4. MaxPower49 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    #4
    Yes, the SSD is highlighted in startup disk. Any other ideas on other potential problems?
     
  5. Orlandoech macrumors 68040

    Orlandoech

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #5
    Install SSD in original bay
    Install HDD in optibay

    Install a clean copy of os x
     
  6. MaxPower49 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    #6
    Why do I need the SSD in the original HDD bay? I thought they were both the same on the new macbooks?
     
  7. calpolygraduate macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #7
    mine is late 2011 model with crucial m4 256gb, it boots in 9 second flat
     
  8. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #8
    Im pretty sure the Optibay is still SATA II
     
  9. MaxPower49 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    #9
    I don't have an optibay... just one of those generic $15 optical drive mounts. From what I've read, that doesnt matter and won't impact speed.
     
  10. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #10
    There was a post on this forum concerning the same thing.
    They said in optibay, they did not get the speed of main bay but rathe SATA II speed.

    Are you saying you're connecting to your SSD through USB?
    Or do you mean its similar to optibay but a cheaper one?
     
  11. MaxPower49 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    #11
    No, the SSD is in the optical bay now. Sata II vs Sata III wouldn't make that big of a difference, would it. My boot time is around 45 seconds and people are saying it should be under 15.
     
  12. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #12
    Yeah... thats a huge problem.
    My M4 128GB boots in 11 seconds...
    And my old 500GB HDD@7200rpm boots under 20 sec.

    SATA II is 3gbps.
    SATA III is 6. I think there is a huge difference.
     
  13. rockyroad55 macrumors 601

    rockyroad55

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Location:
    Phila, PA
    #13
    Actually III (600 MB/s) provides much faster speeds than II (300 MB/s).
     
  14. MaxPower49 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    #14

    Yes, I understand that... even a sata II drive should boot faster than 45 seconds though, right? I think there must be some other problem.
     
  15. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #15
    Just try putting it in the main bay and see for yourself.
    It might be cable problems in the optical bay.
     
  16. Orlandoech macrumors 68040

    Orlandoech

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #16
    Try the switch or figure it out. We are giving your advice and you're just being combative.
     
  17. MaxPower49 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    #17
    Not trying to be combative. I just dont think this is a sata II vs sata III problem. I don't even think I'm getting sata II speeds right now.
     
  18. andyriot macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    #18
    So then why don't you look at System Profiler and see what it's reporting for Negotiated Speed, and/or run a disk speed test to see what your read and write are at.
     
  19. GadgetGeek407 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Location:
    florida
    #19
    I just bought two of these for the two macbook pro 13 models at home, I think the install is pretty easy right? did you clone your original drive or do a fresh install? Does that make a difference or not so much?
     
  20. AppleWarMachine macrumors 6502a

    AppleWarMachine

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Location:
    Michigan, US
  21. Orlandoech macrumors 68040

    Orlandoech

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #21
    Think and knowing ate two different things. I highly recommend putting the SSD in the main bay and doing a fresh install. Then run a disk speed test.

    Also do a disk speed test prior to compare results.
     
  22. Rajpdx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #22
    I agree with you. Most of what is happening at boot up happens at less than Sata II speed but even at SATA II I'd expect in the region of 15 seconds.

    That said, there may be other reasons - so in order I would try...

    1) Put the SSD in the main bay (you paid for SATA III performance the HDD can't utilise it).

    2) Install the OS again and see how a clean install boots up - it could be something that's migrated that's slowing down the startup.
     
  23. newjacksm macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    #23
    Listen to this man..... What else are you going to be doing anyways? Just posting on here, complaining? Everyone has given you the likely answer to your question.. If it doesnt work install the original HDD and bring it back to apple.
     
  24. retinarob macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Location:
    VA
    #24
    I mean c'mon, it's just logical to put the SSD in the main bay and the HDD in the optibay. If that doesn't work then come back and say it, but don't brush off answers. It's kinda rude.
     
  25. rockyroad55 macrumors 601

    rockyroad55

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Location:
    Phila, PA
    #25
    Just let him be. His computer, his issues. We gave excellent advice so he can take it if he wants to.
     

Share This Page