Installed VMware Fussion and Vista Home Premium x64

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by jav6454, Oct 31, 2008.

  1. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #1
    Ok, so the title says what i did (basically I committed a suicidal move).

    That aside, when I boot up Vista, I see that only Vista Basic visual style comes up. Is there a way to have Vista's Aero interface work with VMware?

    I'm leaving to a family member's house. Will be back later to check. Thanks!
     
  2. Your5335 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    #2
    VMWare Fusion does not support the Windows Vista Aero user interface, they have said that sometime in the future they will add support, but they said no timeline.
     
  3. Bern macrumors 68000

    Bern

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    I thought you couldn't use that version of Vista with VMware?
     
  4. Your5335 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    #4
    No VMWare allows both 32 and 64 bit versions of Windows, as a matter of fact I'm running Windows Vista Ultimate 64 bit on my Aluminum MacBook and runs like a charm, besides not having the Aero interface.
     
  5. jav6454 thread starter macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    Well, thats a bummer. Still, only reason I have and run Vista is because I like MSN Messenger, and all my friends have MSN/Hotmail e-mails. It's easier for me to run Vista than make them switch to make or use Skype.

    Also, run my usual games on Vista.

    PS - I already had a Original copy of Vista laying around from my old HP, so no, I did not buy Vista just because of a program.
     
  6. miamialley macrumors 68030

    miamialley

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #6
    Vista 32 v 64

    What are the pros and cons of running 32 or 64 on the MB or MBpro?
     
  7. jav6454 thread starter macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #7
    x64 Vista versions are way more stable than x32 versions. Also, you take full advantage of the hardware which is x64 compatible.
     
  8. deriko100 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #8
    I was laughing at you before i saw the P.S, have you tried adium
     
  9. cohibadad macrumors 6502a

    cohibadad

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #9
    lol. me too. Vista to use MSN messenger? ditto Adium.
     
  10. ref26 macrumors 6502a

    ref26

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #10
    One problem with that is that you can't video chat on adium.
     
  11. kinkster macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #11
    Yeah it's really annoying that it doesn't have video chat, or that no ones bothered to make an app that supports it. ill donate if anyone does!


    meebo.com supports video though, and while meebo is a great idea/execution, its still no replacement for a seperate client.
     
  12. mikeyr0x macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    #12
    im running parallels and xp on my mb
    i run vista64 on my desktop which is now a file server that I will only touch a few times a week :D
     
  13. jav6454 thread starter macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #13
    Lol, nice to see I made you laugh. Yes, it sounds silly to have Vista just because of an application. That aside, Adium is a great app, it just doesn't do Video Chat.
     

Share This Page