Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mcphee7

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 21, 2011
Hi All

I have been a reader on this forum for a little while and it is a wealth of knowledge for me, a current windows user. I am currently a Microsoft Certified Professional but I want to get involved with Mac's and so I am soon to purchase a 13" MBP i5. I have done lots of research, but still my Windows expertise is useless here and so please treat me as a beginner.

Anywho, I think the HDD that comes with the base model 13" is a bit of a joke to be honest. For the money you put down for one of these machines, I personally would expect better. That said, I realise the machine makes up for this in many other ways, build quality for example.

I plan to immediately change the drive myself. I have earmarked a Seagate 750gb 7200rpm drive. However, the problem comes with Lion. What do you think would be the best method to change since Lion doesn't come with physical media.

1) Install Carbon Copy Cloner onto the stock drive, put it in an enclosure, boot from this then clone it to the new drive I will have installed.

2) Put the stock drive in an enclosure, boot from this, "Command +R" run the recovery partition included with Lion and install Lion to the new target drive. (will it let me do this?)

3) Navigate to the App store, redownload the Lion Installer, show package contents and create a USB drive boot image?

4) Buy refurb and hope it comes with Snow Leopard, install the new drive, install snow leopard to the new drive with the DVD's and use the Lion up to date program offered by Apple to "update" to Lion?

Sorry for the long post but its Apples fault for thinking the world is ready for a physical medialessness ;)

gr8tfly

macrumors 603
Oct 29, 2006
~119W 34N