Installing RAM Help

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by combat, Dec 14, 2009.

  1. combat macrumors member

    combat

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    #1
    I now how to do it, and where it's located. However people have scared me about the new RAM not reading or just plain killing it.... Because I only have 1GB and running Final Cut along side any Adobe software is literally causing so many slowdowns... Does anyone have any tips on how to install RAM on a Macbook.

    And a side question, whose the best provider? I've checked out Crucial because Apple's overpriced RAM should probably be gold plated for their prices...
     
  2. 99MustangGTman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Location:
    Germantown MD/ Columbus OH
    #2
    Crucial is the only ram I would get, and I did get 4GB crucial ram. Easy install, just install the new ram in the same position as the old ram. Had not a single problem with it since I installed it. Only cost me $77 +$3 for shipping off amazon.
     
  3. milton.sheaf macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    #3
    Crucial is awesome. Plus their customer service is based here in the US, not in India or China or somewhere else. A+++ for Crucial.
     
  4. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #4
    I'd say Crucial or OWC as my two top choices at the moment. I've bought my last couple through OWC, but last week bought a Crucial 8GB kit through Amazon. They beat OWC's price, and I could the store card. Otherwise, I was pretty neutral as to which brand.

    As far as installation, the guide in the user's manual should be sufficient. Just take it slow - use the correct tools, and proper static control methods (ground yourself on case and hold the SODIMMS only by the side edges).
     
  5. adztaylor macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Location:
    Preston, UK
    #5
    Agreed with this, Installed RAM in my Macbook and it's been perfect. Had no problems.
     
  6. combat thread starter macrumors member

    combat

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
  7. Lord Taco macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    #7
    I bought 4 gigs of crucial for my macbook white, which had 1 gb. Works like a dream. I took the RAM out of the box, popped open the memory slots, and closed it up. Good price too. Officially, your macbook can support 2 gigs of ram, but it really can support 3 and a third. I personally need that 1.3 gigs, but if you don't, get 2gb. http://www.crucial.com/store/mpartspecs.aspx?mtbpoid=AE706D07A5CA7304
     
  8. combat thread starter macrumors member

    combat

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    #8
    Thanks for the info, I can't afford the 100$ for 4GB, I really only need 2GB being a student. Out of curiosity, which would theoretically run faster or be better for the macbook, a single 2GB piece or 2x1GB modules?
     
  9. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #9
    2x1GB will be marginally faster (5-10% or so) because it'll enable the DDR RAM to run in dual-channel mode.
     
  10. combat thread starter macrumors member

    combat

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    #10
    That's what I suspected, but thanks for the clarification.
     

Share This Page