Installing SWTOR on a partition

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by irkedone, Nov 18, 2011.

  1. irkedone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    #1
    I'm using bootcamp to install windows and it's asking me what size I want the partition to be. Is a 5 GB partition enough space to install Windows and Star Wars: The Old Republic?
     
  2. MasterTick macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #2
    Oh dear god no, Windows needs at least 20GB, and you need around 30GB for SWTOR, I'd dedicate around 50GB to Star Wars.
     
  3. Huntn Suspended

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #3
    You'll need an absolute minimum of 60 GB for Windows/SWTOR, 80GB gives some breathing room, 100GB more room for expansions.

    You might get away with 50GB, but it's a tight squeeze for Windows. You may not like the results when it comes to maintenance functions.
     
  4. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #4
    No disrespected intended but why would you even think that 5GB would be enough to install Windows and an MMO like Star Wars: The Old Republic ?
     
  5. MasterTick macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #5
    I meant 50GB just for SWTOR, :)
     
  6. PoseidonMac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    #6
    Not sure if this matters but you seem like the people who might know this. So I have a 75GB partition with Win 7 and plan to put SWTOR on when I get it. I have Skyrim installed, not sure how much HD space I will have left over but is there any reason to make sure I have X HD space left over... should I leave any particular amount of space free on my partition?

    Also, is there any chance SWTOR will someday be released natively on the mac?
     
  7. malman89 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Location:
    Michigan
    #7
    You just want to leave extra HD space mainly for the fact that it's not convenient to re-size the partition. There are options out there like Winclone, but at first you had to totally wipe the partition and re-install Windows.
     
  8. PoseidonMac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    #8
    Have you found a good replacement for Winclone? Cause it is not supported in Lion. But I do really like that program, wish there was something free and easy that works on Lion.
     

Share This Page