installing Windows on the MB without Bootcamp....

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by hekokimushi, Nov 22, 2008.

  1. hekokimushi macrumors regular

    hekokimushi

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #1
  2. sickmacdoc macrumors 68020

    sickmacdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #2
    Well if you read that article again, it is talking about having ONLY Windows installed on the Mac hard drive described, so it is not really a question of what the advantage would be over Boot Camp. You would not wind up with any OSX on the disk- just Windows, so the question would become "Why would anyone want to have only Windows on a Macintosh?"
     
  3. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #3
    The Boot Camp Assistant is just a nice GUI to partition the drive. It does nothing more. It doesn't even burn driver discs anymore.
     
  4. hekokimushi thread starter macrumors regular

    hekokimushi

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #4
    so there is no way of using the disk utilities to partition up the harddisk to have the mac part and a window part, then install windows "direct" onto the window partition and to have OSX on the other?

    thought that could be done, or has been done before.
     
  5. mckyvlle macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    You don't need Boot Camp Assistant to install Windows on a Mac. You can use Disk Utility to partition your hard disk, creating one partition for Windows. Then boot your Mac using a Windows CD, it will let you install Windows to the new partition you just created.
     
  6. sickmacdoc macrumors 68020

    sickmacdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #6
    OK I must be missing something along the way! :confused: What would the advantage being of doing it manually rather than just letting the Boot Camp Assistant do the partitioning for the user?
     
  7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    Disk Utility and Boot Camp Assistant both do effectively the same thing. The Boot Camp Assistant just has a much easier to understand GUI.
     
  8. sickmacdoc macrumors 68020

    sickmacdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #8
    Quite true and I agree that anyone who has used DU would have no problems doing that- so was just wondering if the OP had some particular reason for wanting to that I could not see, whether it be to override BC's insistence on only two partitions per drive or whatever it might be.
     
  9. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #9
    Sounds like newbie is in awe at bypassing the Boot Camp Assistant or that you can just run Windows only on your Mac if you really wanted to.
     
  10. Bengt77 macrumors 68000

    Bengt77

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2002
    Location:
    Europe
    #10
    It's my impression that Boot Camp also installs a boot loader. Without that, there's no choosing between the two OS-es. Also, I thought that Boot Camp installed another partition scheme, one that Windows also recognizes. I thought that out of the box, Macs have a partition scheme that Windows can't understand.

    Don't know if all this is true, though. Am I right?
     
  11. hekokimushi thread starter macrumors regular

    hekokimushi

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #11
    just thought if there would be a more efficient way of doing things.
    a bit of a control freak, rather than just use the magic tools.
     
  12. GfulDedFan macrumors 65816

    GfulDedFan

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Indiana
    #12
    I don't use BootCamp but I'm under the impression that it also contains drivers for windows to recognize the Mac architecture. I'm not sure about this but if I'm correct, if you boot to windows, it won't know how to act with Mac gestures and hardware.
     
  13. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #13
    Not anymore. The Windows drivers are on the Leopard disk itself now. Boot Camp is just a partitioning tool.
     
  14. mckyvlle macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #14
    No. The "boot loader" is already on the Intel Mac's firmware. The Mac's firmware provides an emulated BIOS interface for Windows -- allowing it to boot and a 'MBR' interface to the Mac's GPT disk partitioning -- letting Windows use the same hard disk.

    The OS chooser is accessed by holding down the Option-key during boot, before the Apple logo shows up.

    As stated in previous posts, the Boot Camp Assistant is an easier to use front-end to Disk Utility to help users partition their hard disk.
     
  15. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #15
    Back in 10.4.6 you had to do an EFI firmware update before you could use Boot Camp. That was the actual firmware update that added the BIOS side support for installing Windows. Boot Camp 1.x then was a live partitioner and driver burning.

    Boot Camp 2.0 only partitions the drive and the Leopard DVD has the drivers.
     
  16. richorlin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    #16
    You're all missing the point of Bootcamp

    Sure, you can use Disk Utility to repartition the drive into two partitions, but you would be detroying the Mac partition already on there. Boot Camp resizes the OS X partition and adds a second partition to the drive. You can't do that under Disk Utility without destroying the existing OS X partition.
     
  17. sickmacdoc macrumors 68020

    sickmacdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #17
    Actually that is not really the case (if you are using Leopard anyway)- since non-destructive partitioning works fine in Leopard's Disk Utility. I have included a shot of a repartitioning in progress to show that resizing an existing partition (by dragging the bottom right corner up to shrink it) and then adding a new partition by clicking the "+" at the bottom of the screen will not result in any data loss. In the example I shrunk the only partition on the disk ("S750") then clicked the plus sign to add a 2nd partition ("S750_2") and you can see that the box that appears when you click "Apply" notes that "No partitions will be erased."

    If you want to repartition non-destructively on a boot drive, then you need to run the Disk Utility on an installer disk to do it, but no data need be lost.

    BTW- it works in reverse too- if you highlight the second partition and click "-" it will remove that partition and allow you to enlarge the remaining partition back to the full size of the volume with no data loss on it (and obviously the data on the partition you blow away will be gone). You can add or subtract any number of partitions this way and each can be formatted independently.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. mckyvlle macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #18
    Not really, on Leopard you can resize the boot volume on the fly too. Done it many times.
     
  19. likemyorbs macrumors 68000

    likemyorbs

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #19
    im still missing the point...someone care to tell me what it is??? why not just use bootcamp?
     
  20. mckyvlle macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #20
    Boot Camp Assistant can only support two partitions -- one for Mac, one for Windows. If you want more partitions, you have to use Disk Utility to create the partitions.
     
  21. Bwilky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    #21
    Yes you can achieve this. All you do is insert your xp disk, load the installation like you would with bootcamp, and reformat the drive. Then install.
     
  22. rezenclowd3 macrumors 6502a

    rezenclowd3

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Location:
    Undoing the work of Priuses: burning gas & rubber
    #22
    Will this non-destructive repartitioning work in 10.4 as well?

    Shoot, didn't realize the thread was quite old. If anyone has the answer still, that would be great.
     
  23. shady825 macrumors 68000

    shady825

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Area 51
    #23
    I have a question about Windows on a Mac but didn't feel it was worthy of it's own thread so I'll ask it here...
    Do you need anti virus and stuff like that if your running windows on a Mac?
    I never plan on using windows again in my life but I've just always wondered if you needed a AV program like you would running windows on a PC.
    Thanks.
     
  24. tubbymac macrumors 65816

    tubbymac

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    #24
    The easiest way to think of it is like this: When you run Windows with bootcamp on a Mac, for almost all intents and purposes it behaves just like a Windows machine would behave. So if you install some Windows software with a virus, yes it would infect your Mac.
     
  25. shady825 macrumors 68000

    shady825

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Area 51
    #25
    Thats what I figured but wasnt sure.. Thanks
     

Share This Page