Installing Windows through Boot Camp

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by got_an_old_mac, Jan 1, 2016.

  1. got_an_old_mac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    #1
    I downloaded a thing (site seemed reputable and no bugs or anything. My history (since I've forgotten the site) indicates it's from Apple itself) (I usually know what I'm doing I swear). The installation mostly went fine but I got the "The Installer Disc Could Not Be Found" popup.

    I'm using a 16gb USB and have a Macbook Pro laptop bought in early 2011. The version of what I got is apparently compatible with my laptop. I've added a screenshot of the folders just in case there's something I missed that someone here can shed some light on.

    Is anything here really un-tech-savvy? I also haven't gotten to the stage where the .iso file is relevant and I might be missing something there if anyone can clear up anything about the process. Am I going to have to buy the damn thing? Or is my computer just too obsolete?

    Thanks!

    Screenshot 2016-01-02 00.36.53.png
     
  2. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #2
    Apple simplifies the process of installing Windows by using the Boot Camp Assistant in the Utilities folder of your Applications folder. I recommend that you use that to create the Windows installer USB, download the software, and partition your drive rather than doing everything manually.
     
  3. got_an_old_mac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    #3
    Thanks for the reply

    That's actually what I was using that got the popup. Downloaded the software but it's sitting on my computer & an external drive while I deal with the USB (already did the formatting (or at least I think that's what I did I'm doubting everything).

    I've tried with "Download the latest..." & "Install Windows 7..." checked as well as just one. Do they actually mean it's expecting a disc with the software?
     
  4. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #4
    I would start over and choose all three options in the Boot Camp Assistant. Then, once Windows is installed using the USB, Boot Camp Assistant should automatically start the installer following Windows Setup.
     
  5. got_an_old_mac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    #5
    There's only those two. I'm running Mountain Lion so I'm pretty sure it's not just an old Bootcamp Assistant.

    What was the missing option?
     
  6. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #6
    Can you screen shot your Boot Camp Assistant?
     
  7. got_an_old_mac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    #7
    Sure. This is the last menu before it all goes wrong, and before that it's just the introduction page with a Continue button. Screenshot 2016-01-02 14.10.38.png
     
  8. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #8
    That is because this is a 2011 model. You are going to need to have a Windows install DVD.
     
  9. got_an_old_mac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    #9
    Was really hoping that wasn't the case, but at least I know.

    Thanks so much :)
     
  10. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #10
    No problem! Once you install Windows using the disk you would insert that USB from the Boot Camp Assistant and hit setup then it will install the needed drivers and software.
     
  11. mprofit macrumors regular

    mprofit

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #11
    I also have a 2011 MBP, and I'm running into an issue with my install process. Once Windows 7 is installed from my CD, my computer boots into Windows setup to finish the process. But before I can actually go through Windows's install process, I'm told to remove the CD and restart my computer (I guess Windows can't/doesn't want to install from the CD?). Problem is, if I remove the CD, the only option I have once I restart is to boot into OS X. So it's a paradox: I can only get to the Windows setup page with the Win 7 CD in my drive, but if I have my CD in the drive, I can't complete the process of actually installing Windows. Could you please advise where I go from here?

    EDIT: Here's a picture (http://bornurban.com/imgupload/image.php?di=6F4V) of what my screen looks like when I try to run Windows, pre-installation, without the CD in the optical drive (from this post: Installing Windows 7 through bootcamp issues?).
     
  12. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #12
    @mprofit With the CD removed, hold option at boot and choose your Windows partition.
     
  13. mprofit, Jan 3, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2016

    mprofit macrumors regular

    mprofit

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #13
    At boot, the only partition that shows up (when the CD isn't in the optical drive) is OS X. This happens post-partition, so I've no idea why my newly created partition doesn't show up as an option.

    EDIT: After doing some digging around, I've found that my bootcamp driver is listed in Disk Utility as not bootable (see image), and doesn't show up in System Preferences > Startup Disk.

    [​IMG]
     
  14. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #14
    Did you install Windows yet? Windows must be installed in order to boot into it.
     
  15. mprofit macrumors regular

    mprofit

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #15
    I'm not able to install Windows. When Windows setup starts, I'm told to remove the CD and restart Windows. But if I remove the CD, I get an error message (seen in the screenshot I included in my post) and can't at all run Windows.
     
  16. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #16
    Can you show the screen where you are told to remove the CD and restart Windows?
     
  17. mprofit macrumors regular

    mprofit

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #17
    So here are a few pictures that I think might be helpful. The first pic is the screen I get when I press "option" during startup; if I click "EFI Boot," my computer locks up. The second is the screen I see right after I click the "Windows" CD icon. And the third is the one you asked me to show you. I really appreciate your help!

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  18. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #18
    I think I see what the issue is! Are you by chance using an "upgrade" disk for Windows rather than the full version?
     
  19. mprofit macrumors regular

    mprofit

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #19
    Yep, that was it! I had to select "custom install" from the Windows menu. Thanks very much for your help (and sorry for the delayed response)!
     
  20. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #20
    Glad you got it working! Report back with any questions...
     

Share This Page