Installing wireless card driver on a 1400, help!

BII

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 1, 2006
82
0
Hi everyone, I've looked around here and the web, and I can't seem to get the wavelan/orinoco/etc drivers to install. More specifically, I download them (on my PC and on my sister's G4 Powerbook) and burn it to a CD, pop it into the powerbook 1400cs, and when it's a CD I burn off the PC, I can see the *.hqx file on the CD, but when I try to extract it I get the following:

Using a disc burned from PC:

using binhex: ("no checksum error")
using stuffit (installed on the machine, not sure of the version): goes through the menus, but doesn't extract the the file to the destination folder. No error messages, nothing.

Using a disc burned from G4 Powerbook:

Can't even read the disc!

I bought the Dell trumobile 1150 card that all the sites referring to wifi + powerbook 1400.

I'd like to get it up and running, it's really for my mom to use for web, word processing, etc. At least until I buy a MBP and hand her down my PC.

the only other wierd thing this book does is it won't turn on (plugged in obviously, battery no good as far as I can tell) anywhere else but at work or at home. Tried it at a coffeeshop, nothing. Took it to the apple store (I was getting my ipod looked at, figured the ppl working there would get a kick out of this thing), nothing, although the power light stayed on when we unplugged it! Wierd.
 

840quadra

Moderator
Staff member
Feb 1, 2005
8,150
3,406
Twin Cities Minnesota
It sounds like the version of Stuffit you are using is not compatable with the Bin Hex file. I have run into this problem on my 840av. My usual solution is to decompress them from my G4 or G5 using a newer version of Stuffit, and copy it over.

I am not sure how you can do this without an other Mac in your house though. it sounds like your system has issues reading Disks from your mac, and PC. Perhaps your CD Drive is bad ?

On the power issue, I have absolutely no clue what could cause that!
 

BII

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 1, 2006
82
0
840quadra said:
It sounds like the version of Stuffit you are using is not compatable with the Bin Hex file. I have run into this problem on my 840av. My usual solution is to decompress them from my G4 or G5 using a newer version of Stuffit, and copy it over.

I am not sure how you can do this without an other Mac in your house though. it sounds like your system has issues reading Disks from your mac, and PC. Perhaps your CD Drive is bad ?

On the power issue, I have absolutely no clue what could cause that!

hmm, I guess I'm going to have to borrow my sister's G4 powerbook. I did try that once though, I don't think she has stuffit on her computer though.
 

dpaanlka

macrumors 601
Nov 16, 2004
4,867
6
Illinois
CD Burned from PC:

You have too old a version of Stuffit.

CD Burned from PowerBook:

Your PowerBook is probably burning the CD as a Macintosh Extended volume which cannot be read by Mac OS 7 or Mac OS 8.0, and since you cannot read it, I'm assuming you're using Mac OS 7 or Mac OS 8.0, in which case you'll have to either update to Mac OS 8.1, or tell your PowerBook to burn the CD as a Macintosh Standard volume. You can do this by creating a disk image using Disk Utility in Mac OS X, format it as Macintosh Standard, then drag your files to the mounted disk image, then burn the CD by choosing the disk image you've just created (within Disk Utility) and clicking "Burn Image"

Of course, since you are probably using Mac OS 8.0 or below, you're not going to be able to use the Dell card anyway, because the Dell cards only work with the Orinoco version 7 drivers, which only work with Mac OS 8.6 and above. So basically, forget everythign I just said above about updating Stuffit and burning Macintosh Standard disks, because I predict a bigger problem at hand; you wasting your time to get these drivers installed only to find they dont work...

Final Solution:

You need to either upgrade to at least Mac OS 8.6, or return the Dell card and get an authenticly branded Lucent WaveLAN / Proxim Orinoco card, of either Silver or Gold variety (not Bronze) - which do work with Mac OS 7 and early versions of Mac OS 8.

Feel free to post further questions below, and also please clarify which OS version you are using.
 

BII

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 1, 2006
82
0
dpaanlka said:
CD Burned from PC:

You have too old a version of Stuffit.

CD Burned from PowerBook:

Your PowerBook is probably burning the CD as a Macintosh Extended volume which cannot be read by Mac OS 7 or Mac OS 8.0, and since you cannot read it, I'm assuming you're using Mac OS 7 or Mac OS 8.0, in which case you'll have to either update to Mac OS 8.1, or tell your PowerBook to burn the CD as a Macintosh Standard volume. You can do this by creating a disk image using Disk Utility in Mac OS X, format it as Macintosh Standard, then drag your files to the mounted disk image, then burn the CD by choosing the disk image you've just created (within Disk Utility) and clicking "Burn Image"

Of course, since you are probably using Mac OS 8.0 or below, you're not going to be able to use the Dell card anyway, because the Dell cards only work with the Orinoco version 7 drivers, which only work with Mac OS 8.6 and above. So basically, forget everythign I just said above about updating Stuffit and burning Macintosh Standard disks, because I predict a bigger problem at hand; you wasting your time to get these drivers installed only to find they dont work...

Final Solution:

You need to either upgrade to at least Mac OS 8.6, or return the Dell card and get an authenticly branded Lucent WaveLAN / Proxim Orinoco card, of either Silver or Gold variety (not Bronze) - which do work with Mac OS 7 and early versions of Mac OS 8.

Feel free to post further questions below, and also please clarify which OS version you are using.
The OS currently on the PB 1400 is 8.0, I do have OS9, but I have been reluctant to upgrade, for fear of breaking something.

So I guess I need to upgrade to 9 then, would that alone allow me to read the CD burned from PC?
 

dpaanlka

macrumors 601
Nov 16, 2004
4,867
6
Illinois
BII said:
So I guess I need to upgrade to 9 then, would that alone allow me to read the CD burned from PC?
You mean from the Mac? Yes.

Also, just as as a little FYI, you should always be running the latest sub-version of an OS class your machine supports... for example:

Mac OS 7.6 was a major release.
Mac OS 7.6.1 was the free bug-fix release that you can download from Apple.

Mac OS 8.0 was a major release.
Mac OS 8.1 was the free bug-fix release (which also adds HFS+ support) that you can download from Apple.

Mac OS 8.5 was a major release.
Mac OS 8.6 was the free bug-fix release that you can download from Apple.

Mac OS 9.0 was a major release.
Mac OS 9.1 was the free bug-fix release that you can download from Apple.

(Mac OS 9.2.2 actually extends that further, but is only supported on G3 machines, not including machines upgraded to a G3)
 

BII

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 1, 2006
82
0
dpaanlka said:
You mean from the Mac? Yes.

Also, just as as a little FYI, you should always be running the latest sub-version of an OS class your machine supports... for example:

Mac OS 7.6 was a major release.
Mac OS 7.6.1 was the free bug-fix release that you can download from Apple.

Mac OS 8.0 was a major release.
Mac OS 8.1 was the free bug-fix release (which also adds HFS+ support) that you can download from Apple.

Mac OS 8.5 was a major release.
Mac OS 8.6 was the free bug-fix release that you can download from Apple.

Mac OS 9.0 was a major release.
Mac OS 9.1 was the free bug-fix release that you can download from Apple.

(Mac OS 9.2.2 actually extends that further, but is only supported on G3 machines, not including machines upgraded to a G3)
Thanks. I will try to upgrade tonight and see if that works.
 

BII

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 1, 2006
82
0
Finally! I got 9.0 installed, then the wifi drivers, and was browsing wirelessly. Of course it's painfully slow.


Any browser recommendations, or settings recommendations?

I'll have to get 9.1 downloaded and installed when I get the chance.
 

dpaanlka

macrumors 601
Nov 16, 2004
4,867
6
Illinois
BII said:
Any browser recommendations, or settings recommendations?
Netscape 4.8 with CSS turned off is my browser of choice for slower PowerPC machines such as yours.

You can download it at my site, as well as find instructions for turning off CSS in Netscape 4.8, IE 5, Opera 5, and iCab:

http://main.system7today.com/browsercentral.html

CSS is the big browser slow down on older Macs, and since none of those older browsers support it very well, you might as well just shut it off.
 

thepreacher

macrumors newbie
Oct 17, 2006
1
0
Texas
another problem

I have been hooking up my 1400 as well. I followed the instructions by Derek Miller on http://www.penmachine.com/techie/airport1400.html and did pretty well until I went to launch my web browser. I got the card installed, recognised, and running, but when I open IE, it doesn't load a page, like its not hooked to the internet. What am I doing wrong? Here is a screen shot of the two key control panels...

 

Attachments

Sly

macrumors 6502
Nov 30, 2003
454
0
Airstrip One
I had the same problem, it turned out that I had 128bit WEP encription turned on. It worked fine for me after turning off all the security on the base station.
 

BII

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 1, 2006
82
0
dpaanlka said:
Netscape 4.8 with CSS turned off is my browser of choice for slower PowerPC machines such as yours.

You can download it at my site, as well as find instructions for turning off CSS in Netscape 4.8, IE 5, Opera 5, and iCab:

http://main.system7today.com/browsercentral.html

CSS is the big browser slow down on older Macs, and since none of those older browsers support it very well, you might as well just shut it off.

I did that, but I also had to turn off pictures :(

oh well, this lappys original purpose (a cheap web comp for my mom) isn't going to work out.

But I'm getting a Wii for the entertainment room anyways (I guess she can use the Opera browser on that), at least until a get a MBP, and I'll give her my current PC.
 

Macalot89

macrumors newbie
Oct 20, 2006
8
0
USA
Installing wireless card driver on a 1400, help!

So glad I stumbled across this thread. Bought a True Mobile 1150 today on eBay and can't wait to try out wireless on my 1400cs with a Sonnet G3 card running 8.6. In preparation for the 1150's arrival, I've downloaded the ORiNOCO 7.2 driver. I'd been using the 1400 mainly to play solitaire at the kitchen table, but if Derek Miller's wireless instructions, as well as information from this thread really work, I'll be a happy camper. The 1400 will then be the only one of my Macs that is wireless. Is a base station absolutely necessary? I read about the MacDonald's wireless offerings and am curious. Current internet connection on G4 is ethernet DSL. Sure hope this thread continues until I can get up and going.

thepreacher said:
I have been hooking up my 1400 as well. I followed the instructions by Derek Miller on http://www.penmachine.com/techie/airport1400.html and did pretty well until I went to launch my web browser. I got the card installed, recognised, and running, but when I open IE, it doesn't load a page, like its not hooked to the internet. What am I doing wrong? Here is a screen shot of the two key control panels...
 

Macalot89

macrumors newbie
Oct 20, 2006
8
0
USA
Installing wireless card driver on a 1400, help!

madmax_2069 said:
more power to him if he wants to try lol
Of course I don't plan to try and install OS X on the 1400...8.6 is just fine! This is simply an effort to get more use out of the thing (something other than Solitaire at the kitchen table) and keep a piece of old equipment going. I love my newer Macs, but I still enjoy the challenge of fiddling with the old stuff. :)
 

BII

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 1, 2006
82
0
dpaanlka said:
This wouldn't be a 1400cs/117 would it?

mine? I think so, but I'll have to 2x check. Definetly cs though.


Although I installed IE 5, and I turned the pics back on, it isn't too bad, although some "heavy" pages will crash it.

In any case I'm buying a 17in MBP next week, w00t!
 

BII

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 1, 2006
82
0
imacintel said:
Whats next, youre goint ot try and install OS X on it?

I don't think it will run, at least that's what I've read here and everywhere else.
 

Macalot89

macrumors newbie
Oct 20, 2006
8
0
USA
Of course I don't plan to try and install OS X on the 1400...8.6 is just fine! This is simply an effort to get more use out of the thing (something other than Solitaire at the kitchen table) and keep a piece of old equipment going. I love my newer Macs, but I still enjoy the challenge of fiddling with the old stuff. :)
Me again with an update. The TruMobile 1150 card is working in the PB 1400 with 8.6. I can communicate with the TrueMobile 1184 Router, but I'm still not on the net. Need to make the 1184 an Access Point to feed into the ZyXEL Prestige 660 gateway, and that's where I'm hung.
The PB has 64 MB of real RAM and VM is turned off. Netscape Communicator keeps hanging.

More later, and if anyone has any helpful hints, please let me know.
 

BII

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 1, 2006
82
0
I don't see any hack to run OS X on a NuBus Macintosh at the location you linked.
I was being (or least trying to be) funny. I was trying to get at the point that the only way to run OSX is to get another machine.

Sorry.
 

Macalot89

macrumors newbie
Oct 20, 2006
8
0
USA
Installing wireless card driver on a 1400, help!

Me again with an update. The TruMobile 1150 card is working in the PB 1400 with 8.6. I can communicate with the TrueMobile 1184 Router, but I'm still not on the net. Need to make the 1184 an Access Point to feed into the ZyXEL Prestige 660 gateway, and that's where I'm hung.
The PB has 64 MB of real RAM and VM is turned off. Netscape Communicator keeps hanging.

More later, and if anyone has any helpful hints, please let me know.
:D Final update: The PB 1400 running 8.6 is surfing wirelessly on the net! Turning off Style Sheets in Communicator 4.7 solved the freeze/Type 2 error problem.Mission accomplished!:D