Integrate Coreplayer with TenFourFox

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Dronecatcher, Apr 29, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #1
    One of my gripes with TTF is Youtube playback using HTML5 - whilst pretty slick on a G5, it's a real CPU hog on a G4 portable - and there are no download options either.
    Using a Youtube video downloader extension is also far too clunky, as the browser automatically starts loading the video and attemps to play it as HTML5 whilst you're trying to sort the downloader out.

    Here's a method to enable Coreplayer (or any player for that matter) for video playback and provide download options too.

    In TFF go to Tools/Add-ons and search for and install Greasemonkey (as I write, version 3.8).
    Once installed and restarted, click on the Greasemonkey menu button now showing in the top right and select Web sites...Get User Scripts.
    From this page go to https://greasyfork.org and search for "Viewtube"
    Click on Viewtube and click "Install this script" button.
    Now when you visit Youtube, a bar will be visible above the video allowing you to play/download the video in various formats. Play will only work with Quicktime enabler but clicking "Get" will allow you to play the file with a player of your choice or download it.
    Testing on my 1.33 iBook this combo plays full screen 360P video whilst TFF is still active at under 50% CPU - compared to 90-100% for HTML5 playback.

    As Viewtube is Javascript that's editable under the extension preferences, I'd guess someone might be able to integrate Coreplayer more tightly?
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #2
  3. Lastic macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Location:
    North of the HellHole
    #3
    I've just tried your method, without Quicktime Enabler installed, and it works perfectly
     
  4. Dronecatcher thread starter macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #4
    QTE allows the video to play in browser but I no longer use QTE as it never worked for me so haven't tried that feature. I guess playing the video through Quicktime will be just as CPU intensive as HTML5?
     
  5. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #5
    Strange.

    Whenever I used the QTE it loaded the stream in to Quicktime. Never played in the browser. I wonder if that may be because of a tweak I made in about:config/
     
  6. Hack5190 macrumors 6502a

    Hack5190

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Location:
    Stuck on Earth in the USA
    #6
    You and your tweaks, I see more coming :D
     
  7. Dronecatcher thread starter macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #7
    What I meant was with QTE installed and Viewtube it should play in browser but I can't confirm as I've just installed QTE and it doesn't work at all, with or without Viewtube.
     
  8. eyoungren, Apr 29, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2016

    eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #8
    Ah, ok! I get you now! Haven't used it in a while (I usually just open Safari for this) so I guess it could be broken.
    --- Post Merged, Apr 29, 2016 ---
    The last few have all been yours! ;) :D
     
  9. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #9
    Yeah…so this happened. Just not for the reasons in this thread. :)
     
  10. firelighter487 macrumors member

    firelighter487

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #10
    how do i install viewtube? if i click install this script it opens a new tab with the code
     
  11. Dronecatcher thread starter macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #11
    Are you in TFF with Greasemonkey installed - ie not going directly to the url? On my systems as soon as the button is clicked a dialogue pops ups asking whether I want to install.
     

Share This Page