Intel 990X extreme $475@ Frys - in store only

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by handheldgames, May 3, 2013.

  1. handheldgames macrumors 6502a

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #1
  2. Prince134 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    #2
  3. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #3
    That's a fantastic price.

    Wouldn't you have to replace all your memory with non-ECC memory?
     
  4. Prince134 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    #4
    I purchased these 3x16gb ecc registered:

    KVR13R9D4/16 PC3-10600 1333MHz 240 pin ECC Registered

    And they are perfectly working for me. :)
     
  5. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #5
    If you go to About This Mac > More Info > Memory does it list them as "DDR3 ECC" or just DDR3 under the type column?
     
  6. handheldgames thread starter macrumors 6502a

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #6
    It should work fine. My i7 975 reported ECC when running 4x4gb from owc. I'm running 8x8gb non ECC currently.
     
  7. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #7
    Yeah Core i processors appear to have memory controllers with ECC functionality. Intel just never say it is supported - apart from on a couple of the latest i3 models as there are no dual-core E3 Xeons. Obviously you need a chipset with BIOS/EFI that supports it too.
     
  8. bsbeamer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #8
    awesome price... if they had stores on the east coast I'd probably pickup. resell value alone seems to be more than this price still. where's that best buy deal when you need it?!
     
  9. eghop macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #9
    Intel 990X extreme $475@ Frys - in store only

    Will they work for dual processor 4,1 mac pros?
     
  10. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #10
    No these are for single processor boards.
     
  11. sarthak, May 3, 2013
    Last edited: May 4, 2013

    sarthak macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
  12. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #12
    No you don't get ECC with the 990X. http://ark.intel.com/products/52585

    The Mac will recognize the ram as being ECC capable and list it for you but you won't actually get ECC functionality.

    And no, you're not supposed to be able to run two of these in a DUAL machine; Only one. ;) But it would extremely interesting to me to hook up two of them on a dual board and see what happens! :D
     
  13. LEOMODE macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #13
    Is this processor faster than apple-sold 6 core 3.33ghz w3680?( or w3690 i cant recall the model #)
     
  14. Mac Hammer Fan, May 4, 2013
    Last edited: May 4, 2013

    Mac Hammer Fan macrumors 6502

    Mac Hammer Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Location:
    Belgium
    #14
  15. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #15
    According to that the Intel Core i7-3930K @ 3.20GHz @ $560 looks like the best "deal".
     
  16. Mac Hammer Fan macrumors 6502

    Mac Hammer Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Location:
    Belgium
    #16
    These are Sandy Bridge processors. Are they compatible with the current motherboards from a MacPro? And do they work with the current memory? (1066-1333)
    They need Quad DDR3-1,600 RAM, I think.
     
  17. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #17

    No they don't work in Mac Pro's and no they don't need 1600Mhz ram.
     
  18. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #18
    Be nice if someone could actually confirm this though. Intel saying something isn't supported isn't the same as it not working. Or we wouldn't have someone able to run three 16GB ECC RDIMMs on a Core i7, ECC enabled or not.
     
  19. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #19
    This is interesting. Intel support site states:
    There's also interesting post on arstechnica, which indicates that non-Xeon i7 may use chipkill: http://arstechnica.com/civis/viewtopic.php?p=2773939#p2773939
     
  20. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #20
    I hate that sites rankings. They have all kinds of stupid listings. Like a i7-990 is slower than a W3690 (same) while the X5680 scores the same as the W3690 while the X5679 (slower than all of those) beats them all. I guess that's what you get when you average PC chips overclocked and not.
    I ran that test with my W3680 (3.33GHz) Mac Pro a while back and it scored 10,622. No joke.
    Cinebench would be a better CPU bench. (Not GPU, mind you)
     
  21. DPUser macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #21
    wrong.
     
  22. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
  23. handheldgames thread starter macrumors 6502a

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #23
    Anandtech has decent CPU benchmark viewer. While they don't have the W series benchmarked, you can pick the appropriate i7 chip.

    I'll be picking up one tonight and look forward to the extra cores. This is the fastest single cpu upgrade made for the Mac Pro's lag-1366 architecture. At $475, I couldn't pass it up as over $100 it's cheaper than the w3680 I was considering.


     
  24. Yidahoo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    #24
    I have just upgraded my 2.66 Quad to the i7-990X. Seem to all go well, a 25 minute job. I used Coollaboratory Liquid Pro as the thermal paste which was slightly unnerving as it is so different to regular thermal paste. Temperatures are exactly the same as the old processor although the Liquid Pro takes 48 hours to bed down so I am expecting them to drop a touch.

    Geekbench went from 9500 to 16033 in 64 bit. An impressive increase for the money
     
  25. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #25
    Could you post a screenshot of your About This Mac screen, and preferably the 'More Info' version? :)
     

Share This Page