Intel Gen2 SSD firmware released and upgraded

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by dubaimac, Dec 2, 2009.

  1. dubaimac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    #1
  2. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #2
    How did you configure your system for the upgrade? The instructions say that you should not use a RAID configuration and that some AHCI modes may not be supported.
     
  3. dubaimac thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    #3
    I read that too, but I discovered it was just for Windows systems (imho), so I just burned the iso to a disk, powered down, restarted holding the option key, ran throught the process automatically twice pressing y where necessary and both drives are showing success and the new firmware in profiler, same for both except location, no problems at all

    INTEL SSDSA2M080G2GC:

    Capacity: 80.03 GB (80,026,361,856 bytes)
    Model: INTEL SSDSA2M080G2GC
    Revision: 2CV102HD
    Serial Number: CVPOXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
    Native Command Queuing: Yes
    Queue Depth: 32
    Removable Media: No
    Detachable Drive: No
    BSD Name: disk2
    Bay Name: Bay 1
    Partition Map Type: GPT (GUID Partition Table)
    S.M.A.R.T. status: Verified
    Volumes:
    Boot OSX:
    Capacity: 134.2 MB (134,217,728 bytes)
    Writable: Yes
    BSD Name: disk2s3
     
  4. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #4
    So I understand you have the SSDs on a SW RAID0 connected to the SATA ports of the Mac Pro?

    I actually have them on an ARC-1210 Raid card.
     
  5. dubaimac thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    #5
    yes I have them on the software raid 0 bay 1 and bay 2, using icy dock adaptors.

    Could you swap around to do the FW update?
     
  6. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
  7. 3587 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    #7
    So the latest Firmware won't work on the '09 Mac Pro? If so, how? I have thee G2 160... For whatever reason, today I'm noticing it is slow to write... How can that be?
     
  8. ildondeigiocchi macrumors 6502a

    ildondeigiocchi

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal
    #8
    When installing the firmware update is it advisable to remove all other HDDs in the system. Also as far as the installation goes, one must.

    1. Download Firmware Update
    2. Burn an iso image file of the updated firmware onto a disk
    3. Restart the Mac Pro holding down the option key and select the ISO disk
    4. Follow onscreen instructions.
     
  9. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
  10. 3587 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    #10
    So you were able to do it on you '09 Mac Pro without any issues? Does it erase the drive at all? Could you "feel" an improvement? What is the latest firmware version? Which versions will this update? Can you confirm the link to the update?

    I would greatly appreciate it... Thank you.
     
  11. Cynicalone macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #11
    Shouldn't you be able to boot from the updater by holding down the "C" key?

    This link should have all the info you would need...

    http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?agr=Y&DwnldID=18363
     
  12. ildondeigiocchi macrumors 6502a

    ildondeigiocchi

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal
    #12
  13. Maxian macrumors newbie

    Maxian

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Italy
    #13
    I have a 80GB G2 in a 2008 2x2.8 Mac Pro. Done the update a few days ago without taking out any of the other 3 drives and all worked like a charm.

    Cant say i have noticed any performance improvement but must say that my SSD is only a few weeks old ;)
     
  14. 3587 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    #14
    Updated it. Worked pretty slick. The whole removing the CD, powering down, waiting 10 secs, restart didn't work so hot... No way of removing the CD before powering down... Unless there is some kind of trick command? I just held the power button down and restarted with the CD in it... Worked like a charm. Says I'm updated. So far so good.
     
  15. Shazaam! macrumors member

    Shazaam!

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    #15
    After booting from the CD, I updated each of my two 80GB RAID0 drives with no problems.
     
  16. yuser macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    #16
    Updated too

    Hello,

    I also updated my X25 M Postville 80 GB in my Mac Pro 1,1.
    No problems - everything works.
     
  17. 3587 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    #17
    Do we know exactly what this update brings all of us? I still can't believe it actually worked...
     
  18. ildondeigiocchi macrumors 6502a

    ildondeigiocchi

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal
    #18
    Why wouldn't it work? Macs can boot iso images just as pc's can. :confused:
     
  19. 3587 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    #19
    Well the last one wouldn't work on the Mac Pro's... That's why. ISO wasn't the problem...
     
  20. azboy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    #20
    I got two 80GB intel drives yesterday and got them in a RAID 0 setup. Firmware shipped was 2cv102ha, updated to 2cv102hd today and lost significant speed. overall score on Xbench 1.3 running only a disk test before was in the 360s, now after the update it doesn't even break 290.

    I'm zero'ing out the drives now to see if that helps...

    Here's a before:
    Code:
    Results	373.57	
    	System Info		
    		Xbench Version		1.3
    		System Version		10.6 (10A432)
    		Physical RAM		4096 MB
    		Model		MacBookPro5,5
    		Drive Type		SSD
    	Disk Test	373.57	
    		Sequential	238.33	
    			Uncached Write	225.63	138.54 MB/sec [4K blocks]
    			Uncached Write	246.69	139.57 MB/sec [256K blocks]
    			Uncached Read	145.70	42.64 MB/sec [4K blocks]
    			Uncached Read	697.20	350.41 MB/sec [256K blocks]
    		Random	863.70	
    			Uncached Write	748.90	79.28 MB/sec [4K blocks]
    			Uncached Write	497.06	159.13 MB/sec [256K blocks]
    			Uncached Read	1695.36	12.01 MB/sec [4K blocks]
    			Uncached Read	1440.41	267.28 MB/sec [256K blocks]
    
    I forgot to save the results after the firmware update but will post it as soon as the erase is done and SL reinstalled.

    Looks like zero'ing out the drives really help. Back up in the 360s again.

    Code:
    Results	362.64	
    	System Info		
    		Xbench Version		1.3
    		System Version		10.6 (10A432)
    		Physical RAM		4096 MB
    		Model		MacBookPro5,5
    		Drive Type		SSD
    	Disk Test	362.64	
    		Sequential	227.40	
    			Uncached Write	246.36	151.26 MB/sec [4K blocks]
    			Uncached Write	254.65	144.08 MB/sec [256K blocks]
    			Uncached Read	125.07	36.60 MB/sec [4K blocks]
    			Uncached Read	621.59	312.41 MB/sec [256K blocks]
    		Random	894.88	
    			Uncached Write	1160.76	122.88 MB/sec [4K blocks]
    			Uncached Write	464.70	148.77 MB/sec [256K blocks]
    			Uncached Read	1343.58	9.52 MB/sec [4K blocks]
    			Uncached Read	1404.12	260.54 MB/sec [256K blocks]
    
     
  21. maestrokev macrumors 6502a

    maestrokev

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #21
    updating with wireless keyboard

    Anyone been able to update with the Apple wireless keyboard? I've got a 2009 Mac Pro and it boots up the ISO image but the keyboard doesn't connect so I can't press "y" to continue with firmware upgrade.
     
  22. ungraphic macrumors 6502a

    ungraphic

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #22
    I heard using software RAID0 for SSDs doesnt give greater speeds than 240mb/s (approx) using two or more drives.

    I was at a shop today and was advised to just buy ONE SSD drive since the performance gain will be marginal, not doubled, using RAID0 (about 20% gain, no more).

    The dude said theres some kind of bottleneck in the SATA port. Apparently to get by this is to use a RAID card which gives greater performance than 240mbs.

    Is this true?
     
  23. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #23
    Uhm, yes. It's the Serial ATA specification that gives a maximum transfer speed of 300MB/seconds. Something a Solid State Drive RAID system easily exceed.

    However, write operations will be doubled. It is only read operations that will be limited to 300MB/seconds.
     
  24. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #24
    For the 2009 model there is a limitation in the ICH10R south bridge controller which restricts the SW RAID0 speeds. This does not apply to fast RAID cards. They have other complications like the need to boot their firmware into the Mac Pro firmware and log out. This takes additional time whenever you start and shut down. It does not matter much for servers which were the first machines RAID cards were developed for. For workstations it is a bit of a PITA when you boot frequently.
     
  25. ildondeigiocchi macrumors 6502a

    ildondeigiocchi

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal
    #25
    Took me three times to boot the ISO cd before it worked properly.
     

Share This Page