iOS 4.0.1 and 4.1 Bars

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by english06, Jul 14, 2010.

?

Like the new bars?

  1. Oh yeah!

    35.9%
  2. No way!

    64.1%
  1. english06 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    #1
    Let me get a quick show of hands on who likes the new bars.

    Personal Vote : No
     
  2. draz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #2
    So what if before you had 5 bars and now you have 4? It is just Apple playing a Jedi mind trick on you.

    *waves hand*


    I like the bars they are easier to see than the ones since 1.0
     
  3. english06 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    #3
    They just look so similar for 1-3 bars. I miss the good old properly portions bars. Why not push the software fix, but keep the bars the same size?
     
  4. hipvamore macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Location:
    CT
  5. s8film40 macrumors 6502

    s8film40

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #5
    I really hate when things are changed to make things easier for stupid people.
     
  6. english06 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    #6
    For all I care throw some nice numbers for my signal instead of bars.
     
  7. southerndoc macrumors 65816

    southerndoc

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    We need a "I don't give a crap" option.

    Seriously, I could care less how tall the bars are.
     
  8. english06 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    #8
    Sadly enough the I don't care option is the one that doesn't get a vote. Since you don't care I know you won't be too offended though. Thanks for the insightful reply.
     
  9. macfanboy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #9
    they look strange....

    To the poll, i voted no.
     
  10. na1577 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #10
    No. They should've left them the original size while fixing their values.
     
  11. cambookpro macrumors 603

    cambookpro

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
  12. ziggyonice macrumors 68020

    ziggyonice

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Rural America
    #12
    There's a pic on the front page:

    [​IMG]
     
  13. ziggyonice macrumors 68020

    ziggyonice

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Rural America
  14. F123D macrumors 68040

    F123D

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Location:
    Del Mar, CA
    #14
    Not really liking it. I'll just wait to jailbreak and I'll change the bars to something I'll actually like.
     
  15. Figbash Acrobat macrumors 6502a

    Figbash Acrobat

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Location:
    Alphaville
    #15
    Haha... People always want another option! That option is [SKIP POLL]

    I agree that the bars change is really just an effort to make it appear you have a better signal.
     
  16. coasterider macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #16
    I don't understand the point of larger bars on the low signal end. If you can't see the huge fricken bars on the right side then obviously you have something less..
     
  17. daihard macrumors 6502a

    daihard

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #17
    +1.

    Apple wants to make the low reception *look* better. Pathetic...
     
  18. macduke macrumors 604

    macduke

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Location:
    Central U.S.
    #18
    arn linked to my comparison graphic on Twitter. Nice.

    http://twitter.com/arnoldkim/status/18573400044

    I haven't seen a screenshot that shows the 5th bar, so I simply used the old 5th bar since the 4th one matched up perfectly. It could be slightly shorter, though, to keep a better flow.

    But I highly doubt we'll even see the 5th bar anymore...

    [​IMG]
     
  19. Billy Mays macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    #19
    I bet there will be a fix once the jailbreak comes out. I like the linear look with 4.0 a lot better.
     
  20. BrEEdAA macrumors member

    BrEEdAA

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
  21. macduke macrumors 604

    macduke

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Location:
    Central U.S.
    #21
    Did you see my above graphic? The green areas are the extensions they added onto the previous existing red area. For instance, the first bar is now twice as tall! I'd say that's a difference. And it also seems they only modified the low end, which is what we will all be seeing now that we are being shown how crappy AT&T's network is.
     
  22. Sir Ruben macrumors 65816

    Sir Ruben

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    #22
    I like to think of them as being HD. Or 'retina bars'. Um.
     
  23. Sherifftruman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #23
    I would not quite say "Oh Yeah" but putting aside any irritation that they might try to pass the real hadware issue off as being fixed by this, I like the fact that it will give a more accurate (hopefully) representation of signal strength. Ever since they re-did the bar display after teh 3G came out, it has been comical if you went into test mode and turned the number signal strength on to see you could be so far down and still have 3 or 4 bars.

    Also, I can see the point that when you are down to one bar, it is a little difficult to tell at first glance if you have no bars or one, so the boosting of the height might serve a somewhat useful purpose as well.

    Now, if they come out tomorrow and say, see, we fixed it, I will be pretty pissed.

    Are you color blind. I guess you would not see much in the picture above in post 18 if so.
     
  24. koobcamuk macrumors 68040

    koobcamuk

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #24
    Couldn't care less.

    Americans are so bad at English.
     
  25. TLewis macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    left coast, US
    #25
    Word. :D
     

Share This Page